Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

EINE KURZE GESCHICHTE VON OCCUPY WALL STREET
Ethan Earle - November 2012

Photo credits: May S. Young, Flickr

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

CLIMATE JUSTICE FROM BELOW
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
Dezember 2019

DER KAMPF FÜR EINE ANDERE WELT
John Feffer
Dezember 2019

(English) EXTRACTIVISM AND WOMEN’S RIGHTS
Karolin Seitz
Oktober 2019

In Lower Manhattan, auf einem kleinen Platz namens Zuccotti Park, wurde im September 2011 Occupy Wall Street geboren. Die ersten Besetzer waren ursprünglich gekommen, um gegen die Wall Street zu protestieren, aber als die Besetzung begann, war ihr Schlachtplan nicht ganz klar. Was waren ihre Ziele, und wie würden sie diese verfolgen?

Trotz dieses Mangels an Klarheit – und paradoxerweise auch gerade deswegen – begann Occupy sich rasch auszubreiten, in den Vereinigten Staaten und auch im Ausland. Von den Metropolen bis in die Kleinstädte des ländlichen Amerikas schienen die Menschen von der Explosion der Empörung angezogen, die sich gegen alles richtete, was in der amerikanischen Gesellschaft schiefläuft. Innerhalb von zwei Wochen gab es Dutzende von Besetzungen nach dem Vorbild des Zuccotti Parks; nach einem Monat bereits mehrere hundert. Jeder Tag sah einen Wirbelwind neuer Besetzungen, Proteste, Diskussionen, Kritikansätze und Lösungsvorschläge.

Obwohl die Bewegung keine eindeutigen Forderungen formulierte, wurde eine Sache rasch deutlich: dass dies eine Bewegung der „99%“ war, der breiten Massen, die ihres Anteils am gesellschaftlichen Reichtum und an den Chancen in der Gesellschaft von Millionären und Milliardären, also von den „1%“, beraubt worden waren. Die Bewegung zielte darauf ab, den Trend der vorangegangenen Jahrzehnte, in dem die neoliberale Agenda der Vereinigten Staaten und des globalen Kapitalismus die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Ungleichheiten enorm vertieft hatte, umzukehren. Und indem sie die soziale Frage in der amerikanischen Öffentlichkeit wieder auf die Tagesordnung setzte, markiert die Occupy-Bewegung die Wiedergeburt der US-Linken.

Dieser radikale Ansatz, verbunden mit der unglaublich rasanten Ausbreitung der Bewegung, verunsicherte und ärgerte die Mächtigen und eroberte die Vorstellungskraft weiter Teile der amerikanischen Öffentlichkeit. Nach Jahrzehnten der Entmutigung und geringen Sichtbarkeit der US-Linken – die Ethan Young in seiner Studie „Karthographie der Linken“ (www.rosalux-nyc.org) analysiert – beherrschte auf einmal eine progressive Bewegung die Schlagzeilen, die nicht ignoriert werden konnte. Und zum ersten Mal seit Jahrzehnten hatte die Linke erheblichen Einfluss auf die breite Bevölkerung. Millionen und Abermillionen von Menschen konnten sich mit ihrem Protest identifizieren, insbesondere mit ihrem Kernthema: der sozialen Spaltung. In einer Zeit, in der viele Menschen an das neoliberale Credo „es gibt keine Alternative“ zu glauben gelernt hatten, tat sich plötzlich eine Öffnung auf, die an das erinnerte, was die globalisierungskritische Bewegung zuvor behauptet hatte: „Eine andere Welt ist möglich.“

In dieser Studie bietet Ethan Earle, Projektmanager des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg- Stiftung, die vermutlich erste ausführliche Darstellung der Geschichte von Occupy Wall Street, von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. Seine Arbeit ist ein wichtiger Beitrag zu der komplexen und sich rasch entwickelnden Debatte darüber, wie und warum Occupy entstand und was daraus geworden ist. Earle gibt dem Leser das Rüstzeug, um die Bewegung zu verstehen und eigene Ideen über dessen Vermächtnis und Zukunft zu entwickeln. Durch seine Bezugnahme auf Rosa Luxemburgs Gedanken der Dialektik von Spontaneität und Organisation entwickelt er zugleich Vorschläge, in welche Richtung Occupy Wall Street sich bewegen sollte.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)
DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

CLIMATE JUSTICE FROM BELOW
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
Dezember 2019

DER KAMPF FÜR EINE ANDERE WELT
John Feffer
Dezember 2019

(English) EXTRACTIVISM AND WOMEN’S RIGHTS
Karolin Seitz
Oktober 2019

NEWS / EVENTS

OVERCOMING FEAR: CREATING A TRINATIONAL WORKERS TOOLKIT

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Englisch verfügbar....
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

OVERCOMING FEAR: CREATING A TRINATIONAL WORKERS TOOLKIT

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

A BRIEF HISTORY OF OCCUPY WALL STREET
Ethan Earle - November 2012

Photo credits: May S. Young, Flickr

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)
DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (German)



Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

GERMANY’S ENERGIEWENDE
Hans Thie
October 2014

MAPPING SOCIALIST STRATEGIES
RLS–NYC
September 2014

THE GREAT INACTION
Sean Sweeney
September 2014

In Lower Manhattan, in a small plaza called Zuccotti Park, Occupy Wall Street was born in September of 2011. While the first Occupiers had originally come to protest Wall Street, once the actual occupation began their game plan was not entirely clear. What were their goals and how would they pursue them?

In spite of this lack of clarity—and also paradoxically because of it—Occupy rapidly began to spread throughout the United States and abroad. From major cities to small towns in rural America, people seemed drawn to this sudden explosion of outrage aimed broadly against all that was wrong with American society. Within two weeks there were dozens of occupations modeled after Zuccotti Park; after a month there were many hundreds. Every new day saw a whirlwind of developments—new occupations, protests, debates, critiques, and proposed solutions.

Though the movement did not issue clear-cut demands, one thing quickly became evident: that this was a movement of the “99%,” of the broad masses of people robbed of their due share of society’s wealth and opportunities by millionaires and billionaires, i.e. by the “1%.” The movement aimed to reverse the trend from preceding decades by which the neoliberal agenda of U.S. and global capitalism had tremendously increased social and economic inequality. And in reintroducing the issue of class to the American public agenda, the Occupy movement led what can only be considered a rebirth of the U.S. Left.

This radical approach, combined with the incredibly rapid expansion of the movement, perplexed and upset the powers that be and captured the imagination of broad segments of the public. After decades of despair and low visibility among the U.S. Left—as Ethan Young analyses in his study “Mapping the Left” (www.rosalux-nyc.org)—suddenly a progressive movement was headline news and could not be ignored. And for the first time in decades, the Left had a major impact on the broader populace; millions upon millions of people could relate to its protest, and in particular to its key issue: the social divide. In an era in which many had come to believe the neoliberal credo that “there is no alternative,” suddenly there came an opening reminiscent of what the movement against neoliberal globalization had previously claimed, that “another world is possible.”

In this study, Ethan Earle, project manager at the New York office of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, provides what might be the first detailed account of the history of Occupy Wall Street, from its beginnings to its current state. This work is an important contribution to a complex and fast-developing conversation over how and why Occupy happened and what will become of it. Earle gives the reader a strong framework through which to understand the movement and develop his or her own ideas about its legacy and its future. By drawing attention to Rosa Luxemburg’s own dialectic of spontaneity and organization, he also comes up with timely suggestions regarding the direction the movement should take.

FULL TEXT (English)
FULL TEXT (German)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

GERMANY’S ENERGIEWENDE
Hans Thie
October 2014

MAPPING SOCIALIST STRATEGIES
RLS–NYC
September 2014

THE GREAT INACTION
Sean Sweeney
September 2014

NEWS / EVENTS

EXIT GHOST? 25 YEARS AFTER THE FALL OF THE BERLIN WALL

One generation after the end of the Cold War and German unification, the fall of the Berlin Wall on November 9th, 1989, remains an epoch-changing moment. How have the intervening years since 1989 impacted the lives of former East and West Germans and today’s German political landscape? While public debates often suggest that young Germans have little interest for the legacy of the GDR and are...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr
  • RSS Feed

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr
  • RSS Feed

NEWS / EVENTS

EXIT GHOST? 25 YEARS AFTER THE FALL OF THE BERLIN WALL

One generation after the end of the Cold War and German unification, the fall of the Berlin Wall on November 9th, 1989, remains an epoch-changing moment. How have the intervening years since 1989 impacted the lives of former East and West Germans and today’s German political landscape? While public debates often suggest that young Germans have little interest for the legacy of the GDR and are looking exclusively at......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr
  • RSS Feed

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Flickr
  • RSS Feed
GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE
THE FUTURE OF LABOR
SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION
POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES
GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES