Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


ABENTEUER IN RADIKALER THEORIE UND PRAXIS
Workshop Reihe - 7. Dez, 10:30 - Oakland, California

National Day Laborer Organizing Network, instagram.com/daylaborernetwork

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung präsentiert einen von Organizers geleiteten Workshop zur Erarbeitung von Rahmenplänen und Instrumenten für die Arbeit zur politischen Bewusstseinsbildung.

Abenteuer in radikaler Theorie und Praxis ist ein dreitägiger Workshop der auf die Bildung einer lebendigen Bewegung für soziale Gerechtigkeit abzielt. Ausgehend von den Erfahrungen aus der lokalen Basisarbeit von Kairo bis Los Angeles sowie der Theorie von Stuart Hall, wird dieser Workshop das Rüstzeug von Aktivisten, Sozialarbeitern und Organizers erweitern.

Moderatorinnen und Moderatoren des Workshops:

Artnelson Concordia hat in der Kampagne gearbeitet, die ethnische Studien an den Schulen von San Francisco verankert hat. Er lehrt US-Geschichte und ist Teil des Pilotprojektes für ethnischen Studien an der Balboa High School. Artnelson hat Unterrichtspläne zur Entkolonisierung für Hunderte von Schülerinnen und Schülern erarbeitet.

Shimaa Helmy ist eine Aktivistin aus Kairo, Ägypten. Sie ist von der ersten Stunde bei den ägyptischen Aufständen im Januar 2011 dabei gewesen und hat seitdem Märsche, Demonstrationen und Proteste organisiert. Shimaa nutzt Videomaterial, um ihre eigene Geschichte und die Geschichte ihres Volkes zu erzählen.

Vivian Yi Huang ist Direktorin für Kampagnen und Organisation am Asian Pacific Environmental Network (APEN). Sie organisiert gemeinsam mit Immigranten, um eine starke Organisation für Gerechtigkeit aufzubauen.

Reyna Wences wurde 2010 als eine von vier Studentinnen ohne Papiere bei einem Sitzstreik vor dem Büro des US-Senators John McCain festgenommen und lenkte damit öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit auf den DREAM Act, der die Rechte von jungen Einwanderern in den USA zum Gegenstand hat. Sie ist Mitbegründerin der in Chicago ansässigen „Liga für die Rechte jugendlicher Einwanderer“ und hat Aktionen im ganzen Land organisiert.

Workshop-Reihe
10:30 – 14:30, Samstag, 7. Dezember 2013
Betti Ono Gallery: 1427 Broadway – Oakland, Californien, USA
Die Teilnahme an disem Workshop-Reihe ist kostenlos.
Die Teilnehmerzahl ist begrenzt und Anmeldung erforderlich.

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil der dreiteiligen „Abenteuer in Theorie und Praxis“, die sich an Organizers aus sozialen Bewegungen, Erzieher und Sozialarbeiter richtet und am 5., 7. und 8. Dezember stattfindet. Diese Reihe ist Produkt einer Zusammenarbeit des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung mit der School of Unity and Liberation (SOUL).

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Englisch verfügbar....
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


ADVENTURES IN RADICAL THEORY + PRACTICE
Practitioner Workshop Series - Dec 7, 10:30am - Oakland, California

National Day Laborer Organizing Network, instagram.com/daylaborernetwork

Join us for a day of organizer-led workshops dedicated to emerging frameworks and tools for consciousness-raising work!

Adventures in Radical Theory and Practice is a three day popular education workshop geared towards building a vibrant movement for social justice. Drawing from the experiences of the ground work from Cairo to Los Angeles as well as the theory experiments of Stuart Hall, this weekend will deepen the toolbox of cultural workers, activists and organizers from across the country.

Workshop presenters:

Artnelson Concordia is part of the organizing effort that brought Ethnic Studies into the San Francisco Unified School District. He teaches US History and is part of the Ethnic Studies pilot project at Balboa High School. He has crafted decolonizing lesson plans for hundreds of students.

Shimaa Helmy is an activist from Cairo, Egypt. She participated in the January 2011 uprising since day one and has been an organizer of marches, demonstrations, and protests ever since. She uses video to tell her own story and the stories of her people.

Vivian Yi Huang is the Campaign and Organizing Director for the Asian Pacific Environmental Network (APEN). She organizes alongside immigrant community members, developing collective power and leadership for justice.

Reyna Wences brought national attention to the DREAM Act as one of four undocumented students arrested in a sit-in at US Senator John McCain’s office in 2010. She is a co-founder of the Chicago-based Immigrant Youth Justice League and has organized direct actions across the country.

Practitioner Workshop Series
10:30am – 2:30pm : Saturday, December 7th
Betti Ono Gallery : 1427 Broadway : Oakland, CA
This workshop series is open to the public.
Capacity is limited and pre-registration is required.

This event is part of Adventures in Radical Theory + Practice, a 3-part series for movement organizers, educators, and cultural workers on December 5th, 7th, and 8th. Adventures in Radical Theory and Practice is curated by the School of Unity and Liberation (SOUL) in collaboration with the RLS–NYC.

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credits: Fibonacci Blue (CC BY 2.0)

ORGANIZING FOR POWER, WITH JANE MCALEVEY

Join Jane McAlevey, the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, and organizers around the world this October for Organizing for Power: A Four-Step Course on How We Win. Workers across the globe are under nearly unbearable pressure as the growing millionaire and billionaire class strategically redistributes all wealth away from the many and towards a tiny few. Neoliberalism—the deliberate...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credits: Fibonacci Blue (CC BY 2.0)

ORGANIZING FOR POWER, WITH JANE MCALEVEY

Join Jane McAlevey, the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, and organizers around the world this October for Organizing for Power: A Four-Step Course on How We Win. Workers across the globe are under nearly unbearable pressure as the growing millionaire and billionaire class strategically redistributes all wealth away from the many and towards a tiny few. Neoliberalism—the deliberate destruction of worker power and with it, the social welfare state—must be reversed if......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES