Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

AUSTERITÄT UND DIE KRISE DER SOZIALEN REPRODUKTION
Die Kämpfe von Arbeiterinnen in den USA
Cinzia Arruzza - March, 2020

In dieser zeitgemäßen Studie beschäftigt sich Cinzia Arruzza mit der fehlgeschlagenen Umsetzung der Pekinger Deklaration und Aktionsplattform sowie mit den ihr immanenten Beschränkungen angesichts bestehender Austeritätsmaßnahmen. Anhand des Begriffs der sozialen Reproduktion – sowie ihrer Krise – untersucht die Autorin die Auswirkungen der Austerität auf die Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen von Frauen, wobei sie ihre Argumentation auf den Realitäten der sozialen und Arbeitskämpfe in den USA begründet.

Die Publikation ist Teil einer Reihe von Studien zum Thema „Feminist Responses Against Austerity“,  welche die Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung anlässlich der 64. jährlichen Sitzung der Frauenrechtskommission (CSW64) herausgegeben hat, um auf diese Weise die Auswirkungen langanhaltender Austerität auf Frauen in verschiedenen Ländern zu thematisieren.

Obwohl das Format der CSW64 angesichts des Coronavirus auf ein eintägiges informelles Treffen am 9. März reduziert wurde, stellt 2020 ein zentrales Jahr im Kampf um Geschlechtergleichstellung und das Empowerment von Frauen und Mädchen weltweit dar. Wir begehen heuer nicht nur das 25. Jubiläum der Vierten UN-Weltfrauenkonferenz, die von 4.-15. September 1995 in Peking in China stattfand, sondern auch die Verabschiedung der Peking-Deklaration und Aktionsplattform. Zudem markiert dieses Jahr den fünften Jahrestag der Verabschiedung der 17 Ziele für Nachhaltige Entwicklung von allen Mitgliedstaaten im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 für Nachhaltige Entwicklung, die mit einer Laufzeit von 15 Jahren in Kraft trat.

Dennoch kämpfen Frauen weltweit weiterhin gegen Marginalisierung und Ungleichheit. Die Studien, die Teil der oben genannten Serie sind, setzen sich mit den Auswirkungen permanenter Austerität auf die Stellung von Frauen in Hinblick auf Wirtschaft und Arbeit, soziale Reproduktion, sowie Pflege- und Hausarbeit auseinander – 25 Jahre nach Peking.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)
DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)

NEWS / EVENTS

(English) 75th ANNIVERSARY OF THE ATOMIC BOMBINGS

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

(English) 75th ANNIVERSARY OF THE ATOMIC BOMBINGS

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

AUSTERITY AND FEMINISM
Women Workers’ Struggles in the United States
Cinzia Arruzza - März 2020

In this timely study, Cinzia Arruzza discusses the inherent limitations of the Beijing Declaration and Platform of Action and the failure in its implementation due to the persistence of austerity policies. The author uses the notion of social reproduction—and of its crisis—to analyze the effects of austerity on women’s lives and working conditions, and to contextualize recent social and labor struggles led by women in the US.

This publication is part of a series of studies on “Feminist Responses Against Austerity,“ which the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung commissioned in the run-up to this year’s annual session of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW64), with the goal of illustrating the impact of permanent austerity on women in different countries.

Although the format of CSW64 was amended over concerns regarding the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) and only a one-day informal meeting took place on March 9, we consider this a decisive year for realizing gender equality and for strengthening the rights of all women and girls. 2020 marks the twenty-fifth anniversary of the United Nations’ Fourth World Conference on Women, held from 4-15 September 1995 in Beijing, China, and with it the adoption of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action. It is also the fifth anniversary of the adoption of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by all UN Member States in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which set out a 15-year plan to achieve the SDGs.

Yet, women around the world continue to fight marginalization and inequality. The studies in our series examine the impact of permanent austerity on women’s status in regard to economic power and labor, social reproduction, and care and domestic work in several countries today—25 years after Beijing.

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)
DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (German)


Other publications in "Political Analysis and Alternatives"

Suppressing Democracy
James P. Hare
August 2020

Unlearning: From Degrowth to Decolonization
Jamie Tyberg
May 2020

Brazil in Intensive Care
Jorge Pereira Filho
May 2020

NEWS / EVENTS

Overcoming Fear, Taking Back Power: Trinational Workers Toolkit

After a nine month process that began with the Overcoming Fear: Creating a Trinational Workers Toolkit gathering at UE...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Overcoming Fear, Taking Back Power: Trinational Workers Toolkit

After a nine month process that began with the Overcoming Fear: Creating a Trinational Workers Toolkit gathering at UE 506 in Erie, Pennsylvania on November 14 and 15, 2019, Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, along with all of our partners who dedicated time and resources to this project, are proud to release our completed Trinational Workers Toolkit. This toolkit is geared toward fostering greater international solidarity to overcome reactionary and right......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES