Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


MORGEN WIRD ES BESSER – DEN BACKLASH-BLUES LOSWERDEN
16. November 2017 - New York City

Vom Protest Colin Kaepernicks bis zum Streit über die Denkmäler für die Generale der Confederacy: Bewegungen für soziale Gerechtigkeit und die Gleichberechtigung wenden sich kreativ gegen den weißen Backlash, der durch die Wahl Donald Trumps von der Kette gelassen wurde.

Was bedeutet die Präsidentschaft Trumps für Afroamerikaner, und wie sollen wir ihr entgegentreten? Wie können wir Bewegungen stärken, die sich für die Rechenschaftspflicht der Polizei einsetzen? Wie gestalten wir unsere Bündnispolitik, und wer ist die Basis für welche Art von Anti-Trump-Allianz? Wie können wir die Wut in den sozialen Medien überführen in die Macht der Straße und der Wahlurne – und hin zu einem breiteren Bündnis gegen die schwellende Flut der Ungleichheit?

Wir laden Sie ein zum Gespräch zwischen Shaun King, der u.a. als Kolumnist für die „New York Daily News“ schreibt, und dem Gewerkschaftsaktivisten Bill Fletcher Jr. Sie werden über den gegenwärtigen Zustand afroamerikanischer linker Politik diskutieren – und darüber, wie wir gewinnen können, sogar gegenTrump.

Donnerstag, 16. November 2017
Einlass: 18:00 Uhr – Beginn: 18:30 Uhr

The Malcolm X & Dr. Betty Shabazz Memorial and Educational Center
3940 Broadway (Between 165 and 166th Street)
New York, NY

RSVP hier.

Shaun King ist Journalist und Aktivist. Er schreibt für The Intercept und die New York Daily News. Shauns breit rezipierte Plattform in den sozialen Medien beleuchtet Aspekte von Popkultur, Polizeigewalt und wirtschaftlicher Ungerechtigkeit.

Bill Fletcher Jr. ist Autor und Gewerkschaftsaktivist. Er ist Mitbegründer des Black Radical Congress und ehemaliger Präsident des TransAfrica Forums. Derzeit ist er als als Fellow am Institute for Policy Studies Washington (IPS) tätig.

Hier gibt es den Flyer zum Herunterladen.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das Just Transition(s) Online Forum ankündigen zu können, in dem verschiedene Perspektiven zum Thema einer gerechten Energiewende („Just Transition“) hin zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Entwicklung vorgestellt werden sollen. Wir......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


WE GONNA BE ALRIGHT: BRUSHING OFF THE BACKLASH BLUES
November 16, 2017 - New York City

From taking a knee to taking down Confederate monuments, movements for racial and economic justice are creatively confronting the backlash of white supremacy unleashed by the election of Donald Trump.

What does this presidency and the larger takeover of government by the far right mean for African Americans, and how should we fight it? How do we strengthen movements for police accountability? What does coalition-building look like, and who’s the base for what type of anti-Trump alliance? How can we translate social media outrage to power in the streets and the ballot box, and to a broader alliance against the rising tide of inequality?

Join us for a conversation with NY Daily News columnist Shaun King and labor activist Bill Fletcher Jr., as they discuss the current state of Black progressive politics and how we can win, even under Trump.

Thursday, November 16, 2017
Doors open 6:00 pm – Event starts 6:30 pm

The Malcolm X & Dr. Betty Shabazz Memorial and Educational Center
3940 Broadway (Between 165 and 166th Street)
New York, NY

RSVP for this event here.

Shaun King is a journalist and activist. He is columnist at The Intercept and a Senior Justice Writer at the New York Daily News. Shaun has leveraged his social media platform to place a spotlight on intersections of popular culture, police brutality and economic inequality.

Bill Fletcher, Jr. is a writer and activist having spent most of his adult life in the trade union movement. He was a cofounder of the Black Radical Congress and a former president of TransAfrica Forum. He is a partner in Common Forces, LLC and a senior scholar with the Institute for Policy Studies (IPS).

Download the flyer for this event here.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the Just Transition(s) Online Forum. This Forum seeks to bring together different stories and perspectives on the issue of Just Transition to low-carbon......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES