Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

JENSEITS VON NAFTA 2.0
Für eine progressive Handelspolitik für Mensch und Planet
Ethan Earle, Manuel Pérez-Rocha, und Scott Sinclair, eds. - Juli 2019

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)

Weitere Sprachen

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Spanish)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION
Tim Judson
Dezember 2018

JUST TRANSITION: EINE GERECHTE ENERGIEWENDE
Just Transition Research Collaborative
Dezember 2018

DER VERTRAG ZUM VERBOT ALLER ATOMWAFFEN
RLS–NYC und IPB
Mai 2018

Während die Ratifizierung von NAFTA 2.0 in den USA und in Kanada noch in der Luft schwebt, stellt ein neuer internationaler Bericht diesem völlig verfehlten Abkommen Vorschläge für ein progressiveres und ein wirklich faires Handelsregime gegenüber.

Jenseits von NAFTA 2.0: Für eine progressive Handelspolitik für Mensch und Planet wurde in Zusammenarbeit des Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (CCPA) mit Sitz in Ottawa, des Institute for Policy Studies (IPS) mit Sitz in Washington D.C. und des Büros der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung New York City veröffentlicht. Es beinhaltet Beiträge von Handelsexpert*innen und Aktivist*innen aller drei nordamerikanischen Staaten. Der Bericht fordert eine radikale Umgestaltung der Vorschriften für den nordamerikanischen Handel mit Waren und Dienstleistungen, der Rechte an geistigem Eigentum, von E- Commerce, Investitionen und weiterer Bereiche.

Der CCPA Handelsforscher Scott Sinclair fasst den neuen Ansatz als ein „Pochen auf Handelsregeln, welches Menschenrechte und die Natur vor Unternehmerrechte stellt“ zusammen. Der Bericht befürwortet ein neues System des fairen Handels, welches „gerecht in der Verteilung von Gewinnen ist, die ökologischen Grenzen der Erde respektiert und die Rechte der Staaten des globalen Südens akzeptiert, ihre lokale und nationale Wirtschaftsentwicklung zu verfolgen und zu priorisieren sowie allen Einwohner*innen den Zugang zu guter Arbeit und qualitativ hochwertigen, universellen öffentlichen Dienstleistungen ermöglicht,“ sagt Mitautor Manuel Pérez-Rocha des IPS. Der Direktor des New Yorker Büros der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung fügt hinzu, dass der Rahmen uns erlaubt, „auf der globalen Bühne zur Erfüllung der UN Sustainable Development Goals 10, ‚die Ungleichheiten innerhalb und zwischen Staaten zu reduzieren‘, zu arbeiten.“

Die Handlungsempfehlungen des Berichtes für zukünftige Handelsabkommen sind:

-Beseitigung von Mechanismen in Schlichtungsverfahren zwischen den Investor-Staaten, die es ausländischen Investor*innen und Konzernen erlauben, politische Entscheidungen durch private internationale Schiedsgerichte anzufechten;
-Verankerung verbindlicher, durchsetzbarer Verpflichtungen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und zum Schutz von Initiativen zur Treibhausgasreduzierung vor Beeinträchtigung durch Handelsinteressen;
-Übertriebene Rechte an geistigem Eigentum durch ausgewogene Regeln ersetzen, die Innovation fördern und gleichzeitig Nutzerrechte, Datenschutz und den Zugang zu erschwinglichen Medikamenten unterstützen;
-Etablieren eines Fundaments starker, voll einforderbarer Arbeitsrechte, die es Arbeiternehmer*innen ermöglichen, Beschwerden an unabhängige internationale Sekretariate zu richten, die proaktiv gegen Rechtsverstöße vorgehen können;
-Anerkennen und Respektieren von Gender-Rechten und der Rechte von Ureinwohner*innen, inklusive der Priorisierung der Beschäftigung von Frauen und ihrer ökonomischen Zufriedenheit sowie Anerkennung der Land- und Ressourcenrechten von Ureinwohner*innen;
-Verfolgen einer Zusammenarbeit bei der Regulierung, welche die Autonomie der Gerichtsbarkeit respektiert und darauf abzielt, sich an den höchsten Standards zu orientieren;
-Voller Schutz der Rechte zum Erhalt, Ausbau, Wiederherstellen und Schaffen von öffentlichen Dienstleistungen ohne Einschränkung durch Handelsverträge sowie
-Beenden der aktuellen Geheimhaltung von Handelsverhandlungen sowie des privilegierten Zugangs für Lobbyorganisationen.

Der Bericht verurteilt auf Schärfste die erpresserischen Handelstaktiken der Trump-Administration, wie dem Verhängen von Zöllen auf mexikanische Produkte, solange die Regierung nicht gegen Migrant*innen aus Zentralamerika vorgeht.

„Unsere Herangehensweise an die Probleme könnte nicht unterschiedlicher sein als die Trump‘s,“ sagt der in Paris ansässige Mitherausgeber Ethan Earle. „Wir begrüßen die internationale Zusammenarbeit, wollen sie jedoch so ausrichten, dass sie aufhört, lediglich die Bedürfnisse globaler Konzerne zu bedienen.“

„Wenn Trump’s Possen etwas Gutes haben, dann dass sie unterstreichen, dass Handelsregeln nicht vorherbestimmt oder unveränderlich sind,“ sagt Sinclair. „Konzerne haben sie für ihre ureigenen Interessen geschrieben, die Bürger*innen können sie umschreiben, damit sie sozial und ökonomisch angemessenere Ziele verfolgen.“

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION
Tim Judson
Dezember 2018

JUST TRANSITION: EINE GERECHTE ENERGIEWENDE
Just Transition Research Collaborative
Dezember 2018

DER VERTRAG ZUM VERBOT ALLER ATOMWAFFEN
RLS–NYC und IPB
Mai 2018

NEWS / EVENTS

KAMPF UM DEN BERG DER KURDEN

UPDATE: The author Thomas Schmidinger was originally scheduled to appear in person at Bluestockings Books. However, due to the fact the author was denied entry on his flight by Homeland Security, Mr. Schmidinger will give his talk via Skype at the regularly scheduled time and location. Anfang 2018 marschierte die Türkei in die autonome kurdische Region Afrin in...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

KAMPF UM DEN BERG DER KURDEN

UPDATE: The author Thomas Schmidinger was originally scheduled to appear in person at Bluestockings Books. However, due to the fact the author was denied entry on his flight by Homeland Security, Mr. Schmidinger will give his talk via Skype at the regularly scheduled time and location. Anfang 2018 marschierte die Türkei in die autonome kurdische Region Afrin in Syrien ein, wo sie nun ethnische Säuberungen androht. Von 2012 bis 2018......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

BEYOND NAFTA 2.0
Toward a Progressive Trade Agenda for People and Planet
Ethan Earle, Manuel Pérez-Rocha, and Scott Sinclair, eds. - July 2019

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)

Other Languages

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (Spanish)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

CLIMATE JUSTICE FROM BELOW
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
December 2019

THE BATTLE FOR ANOTHER WORLD
John Feffer
December 2019

EXTRACTIVISM AND WOMEN’S RIGHTS
Karolin Seitz
October 2019

With ratification of NAFTA 2.0 still up in the air in the U.S. and Canada, a new international report contrasts the deeply flawed agreement with proposals for a more progressive and truly fair trade regime.

“Beyond NAFTA 2.0: A Trade Agenda for People and the Planet” is jointly published in English and Spanish by the Ottawa-based Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (CCPA), the Washington, D.C.–based Institute for Policy Studies (IPS) and the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation’s New York office. It includes contributions from trade experts and activists from all three North American countries. The report calls for a radical transformation of the rules governing North American trade in goods and services, intellectual property rights, e-commerce, investment and other matters.

CCPA senior trade researcher Scott Sinclair sums up the new approach as “insisting on trade rules that give priority to human rights and the rights of nature over corporate rights.” The report advocates a new system of fair trade that is “equitable in the distribution of its benefits, respectful of the Earth’s ecological limits, and accepting the right of countries in the Global South to pursue and prioritize local and national economic development and of all citizens to have access to good jobs and high-quality, universal public services,” says co-editor Manuel Pérez-Rocha of IPS. Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung Executive Director Andreas Günther adds, that this framing allows us to relate “on the global stage to the fulfillment of UN Sustainable Development Goal 10, ‘to reduce inequality within and among countries.’”

The report’s key recommendations call for future trade agreements to:

-Fully eliminate investor-state dispute settlement (ISDS) mechanisms that allow foreign investors and corporations to contest public policy decisions through private international arbitration;
-Enshrine binding, enforceable obligations to combat climate change and safeguard greenhouse gas reduction initiatives from trade challenge;
-Replace excessive intellectual property rights with balanced rules that encourage innovation while supporting user rights, data privacy and access to affordable medicines;
-Establish a floor of strong, fully enforceable labour rights that enable workers to take complaints to independent international secretariats, which can proactively investigate labour rights abuses;
-Recognize and respect gender and Indigenous rights, including prioritizing women’s employment and economic well-being, and recognizing Indigenous title to land and resources;
-Pursue regulatory co-operation that respects jurisdictional autonomy and aims to harmonize to the highest standards;
-Fully protect the right to preserve, expand, restore and create public services without trade treaty interference; and
-End the current secrecy in trade negotiations and privileged access for vested interests.

The report strongly condemns the bullying trade tactics of the Trump administration, such as threatened tariffs on Mexican products unless its government cracks down on Central American migrants.

“Our approach to trade issues could not be more different than Trump’s,” says co-editor and Paris-based trade consultant Ethan Earle. “We embrace international co-operation but want to reorient it so that it stops serving only the needs of global corporations.”

“If Trump’s disruptive antics have one silver lining it is that they underline the fact that trade rules are not preordained or immutable,” says Sinclair. “Corporations wrote them for their own narrow interests, and citizens can rewrite them to suit more socially and economically worthy ends.”

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

CLIMATE JUSTICE FROM BELOW
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
December 2019

THE BATTLE FOR ANOTHER WORLD
John Feffer
December 2019

EXTRACTIVISM AND WOMEN’S RIGHTS
Karolin Seitz
October 2019

NEWS / EVENTS

COP25 | UN CLIMATE SUMMIT

International activists are gathered this week in Madrid, Spain, to take part in the twenty-fifth session of the Conference of the Parties (COP25) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCC). Initially planned to take place in Santiago, Chile, the Climate Change Summit was relocated after Chile dropped as the host country after the Chilean’s people took the streets in...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

COP25 | UN CLIMATE SUMMIT

International activists are gathered this week in Madrid, Spain, to take part in the twenty-fifth session of the Conference of the Parties (COP25) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCC). Initially planned to take place in Santiago, Chile, the Climate Change Summit was relocated after Chile dropped as the host country after the Chilean’s people took the streets in protests as a legitimate reaction to fundamental......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES