Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


CALL FOR PAPERS: „BLACK RADICALISM“ IN DEN USA
14. - 15. April 2018 - New York City

Benny Andrews "Did The Bear Sit Under A Tree?" (1969) © Estate of Benny Andrews/DACS, London/VAGA, NY 2017

Der „schwarze Radikalismus“ (Black Radicalism) in Amerika hatte viele verschiedene Spielarten, doch eine Frage war immer richtungsweisend: Es ging darum, wie das Leid der (ehemaligen) Sklaven – der Afroamerikaner in den USA – in eine bessere Zukunft gewendet werden könnte. Obschon einige der Antworten auf diese Frage durchaus utopisch klangen, so wiesen sie doch alle eine gewisse Radikalität auf. Black Radicalism in den Vereinigten Staaten bezieht sich daher nicht nur auf die politische oder nationale Ebene, sondern auch auf religiöse oder kulturelle Ausdrucksweisen, die einer Analyse bedürfen.

Das Ziel der zweitägigen Konferenz in New York City ist es, Wissenschaftler und Aktivisten zusammenzubringen, die sich mit der Geschichte und dem Erbe des Black Radicalism in den USA auseinandersetzen. Was waren die Träume, was die Befürchtungen dieser Bewegungen? Wo ließen sich die afroamerikanischen Unterstützer des Black Radicalism finden, wo seine afroamerikanischen Kritiker? Anders gefragt, worin bestanden die Hoffnungen eines Black Radicalism in den Vereinigten Staaten, und wer waren seine vermeintlichen und tatsächlichen Widersacher? Welche Mittel galten als legitim in der Umsetzung der Ideen des Black Radicalism?

Um diese Fragen eingehend diskutieren zu können, laden wir Wissenschaftler aller historischen Fachrichtungen und verwandter Forschungsdisziplinen dazu ein, Vortragsthemen zu einem der folgenden Bereiche einzureichen:

– Afroamerikanischer Kommunismus, Sozialismus, und Gewerkschaftsbewegungen
– Afroamerikanische Arbeiterbewegung
– Afroamerikanische Diaspora und religiöser Radikalismus
– Die Black-Power-Bewegung
– Afroamerikanische FBI-Informanten
– Schwarzer Feminismus
– Radikales Harlem
– Das Verhältnis von Afroamerikanern, Afroeuropäern und Afro-Caribbeans

Die Konferenz findet von 14. – 15. April 2018 an der New York University (Tamiment Library, 70 Washington Square S, New York, NY 10012) statt.

Interessenten werden gebeten, bis zum 10. Januar 2018 ein kurzes Abstract für einen  Vortrag (max. 300 Wörter) sowie einen Lebenslauf (max. zwei Seiten) an FJacob@qcc.cuny.edu, tj29@nyu.edu und kazembe.balagun@rosalux.org zu senden. Rückmeldungen zu den Einsendungen erhalten Sie Ende Januar 2018.

Bei weiteren Fragen zu unserer Veranstaltung wenden Sie sich jederzeit gerne an die Organisatoren.

Die Konferenz wird von Dr. Frank Jacob, Queensborough Community College, in Kooperation mit der Tamiment Library, den NYU Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives sowie dem New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung organisiert.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das Just Transition(s) Online Forum ankündigen zu können, in dem verschiedene Perspektiven zum Thema einer gerechten Energiewende („Just Transition“) hin zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Entwicklung vorgestellt werden sollen. Wir......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


CALL FOR PAPERS: BLACK RADICALISM IN THE UNITED STATES
April 14-15, 2018 - New York City

Benny Andrews "Did The Bear Sit Under A Tree?" (1969) © Estate of Benny Andrews/DACS, London/VAGA, NY 2017

Black Radicalism in the United States had many faces and followed many directions, yet always dealt with the important question of how the plight of African Americans—the (former) slaves—in the US could be changed for the better. Many of the ideas related to this question might have been utopian, but even more of them were radical, covering the broad meaning of the word. Dealing with Black Radicalism in the United States therefore does not only mean political radicalism or questions related to the nation, it also demands an analysis of religious and cultural forms of radical thoughts.

The aim of the two-day conference in New York City is to bring together scholars and activists, who deal with the history and the legacy of Black Radicalism in the US. What have been the dreams as well as the fears of these radical movements and its African American supporters, but also of its African American antagonists? What, to be more precise, were the hopes and dreams of Black Radicalism in the United States, and who were the supposedly or actually existing enemies of these dreams? Which means were perceived as legitimate in order to achieve the utopia that Black Radicalism was possibly leading to?

These questions should be discussed in more detail and we ask scholars from all historical fields and neighboring disciplines, as well as currently active activists in African American movements, to send in short proposals for lectures that deal with, but are not limited to, the following fields of interest:

– African American Communism, Socialism, or Unionism
– African American Workers’ Issues
– African American Diaspora and Religious Radicalism
– The Black Power Movement
– African American FBI Informants
– Black Feminism
– Radical Harlem
– Relationships between African Americans, Afro-Europeans, and Afro-Caribbeans

The conference will take place on April 14-15, 2018, at New York University, Tamiment Library, 70 Washington Square S, New York, NY 10012.

Interested scholars or activists should send a short proposal (max. 300 words) and their CV (max. 2 pages) to FJacob@qcc.cuny.edu, tj29@nyu.edu, and kazembe.balagun@rosalux.org until January 10, 2018. Contributors will be informed about the acceptance of their papers by the end of January 2018.

In case of further questions related to the event, please do not hesitate to contact the organizers.

This event is organized by Dr. Frank Jacob (Queensborough Community College), in cooperation with the Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at NYU, and the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung—New York Office.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the Just Transition(s) Online Forum. This Forum seeks to bring together different stories and perspectives on the issue of Just Transition to low-carbon......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES