Navigation Menu

PROJEKTE

STIMMEN INDIGENER AKTIVISTINNEN BEI DER UNO
April 21-28, 2017 - United Nations

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr-Seite. Die Gemeinsame Erklärung Indigener Frauen vor dem Ständigen Forum für Indigene Angelegenheiten der UNO findet sich unten auf dieser Seite. WEITERLESEN

GEWERKSCHAFTEN ZU ENERGIE & KLIMAWANDEL
April 3-7 - New York State

In der ersten Aprilwoche kommt die Initiative Gewerkschaften für Energiedemokratie (Trade Unions for Energy Democracy, TUED) zu zwei Treffen zusammen, um Strategien für die Rückgewinnung des Energiesystems in öffentliche und demokratisc...

WEITERLESEN

Der Kampf für ein Atomwaffenverbot
First Round of UN Negotiations, March 27-31 - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr-Seite. Dieses Jahr werden die Vereinten Nationen zusammenkommen, um die Verhandlungen über eine neue Vereinbarung zum Verbot aller Atomwaffen zu beginnen. Vertre...

WEITERLESEN

HAUSANGESTELLTE ORGANISIEREN
Jennifer Fish

Von Jennifer Fish. Weltweit nehmen prekäre Beschäftigungsverhältnisse zu. Der serviceorientierte Niedriglohnsektor hat in den letzten Jahren einen bedeutenden Anstieg zu verzeichnen, und die (informelle) Arbeit als Hausa...

WEITERLESEN

RLS–NYC BEI DER UN-FRAUENRECHTS-KOMMISSION #CSW61
March 13-24, 2017 - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr-Seite. Vom 13. bis 24. März 2017 werden am UN-Hauptsitz in New York internationale Regierungsvertreter und zivilgesellschaftliche Aktivisten und Aktivistinnen zu...

WEITERLESEN

DIE GENDER-KLUFT SCHLIESSEN
Barbara Adams and Karen Judd

Von Barbara Adams und Karen Judd. Seit der Vierten Weltfrauenkonferenz in Peking, die für viele Aktivistinnen einen zentralen politischen Bezugspunkt markiert, sind inzwischen fast 22 Jahre vergangen. Die damals beschlosse...

WEITERLESEN

EINE TRUMP-WELTORDNUNG?
What to Expect from US Foreign Policy - December 9, 2016 - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr-Seite. Mit Medea Benjamin, Vijay Prashad, Jillian Schwedler und Ingar Solty Wann: Freitag, 9. Dezember 2016, 16-19 Uhr, mit anschließender Recep...

WEITERLESEN

ALTERNATIVEN ZUR „ENTWICKLUNG“
Rohan D. Mathews with Susana Barria & Ashim Roy

Von Rohan D. Mathews, Susana Barria und Ashim Roy.Es ist eine traurige Ironie des Klimawandels, dass die Länder, die am wenigsten Treibhausgase produzieren, die größten Folgeschäden davontragen. Diese Ungleichheit zwisc...

WEITERLESEN

MARRAKESCH 2016: UN-KLIMAKONFERENZ
November 7-18, 2016 -

Vom 7. bis 18 November treffen sich nationale Delegationen in marokkanischen Marrakesch zur Klimakonferenz der Vereinten Nationen zur 22. Vertragsstaatenkonferenz (COP22). Auf den jährlichen Konferenzen soll das UN-Klimaabkommen – da...

WEITERLESEN

HABITAT III: UN-KONFERENZ ZU WOHNEN UND NACHHALTIGER STADTENTWICKLUNG
October 17-20, 2016 - Quito, Ecuador

RLS–NYC offizieller UN Side Event: Nach Habitat III: Gemeinsam für eine Neue Urbane Realität Donnerstag, 20. Oktober, 12:00-12:45 Uhr – Urban Future Venue, Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana “Benjamin Cariion” WEITERLESEN

RECHENSCHAFTSPFLICHT & EINFLUSS VON KONZERNEN AUF DIE UNO
Challenges for the new Secretary-General and the UN - Oct. 4, 1pm - NYC

Am 4. Oktober 2016 veranstalten das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, das Global Policy Forum und das International Network for Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ESCR-Net) eine Podiumsdiskussion über den Kampf für die Ein...

WEITERLESEN

Der UN-TREATY-PROZESS
Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz

Von Jens Martens und Karolin Seitz – In den letzten Jahren hat die internationale Debatte über die ökologische, soziale und menschenrechtliche Verantwortung der Wirtschaft an Dynamik gewonnen. Grund dafür war nicht zul...

WEITERLESEN

DIE KRANKHEIT DES EINEN GEHT ALLE AN
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Neues Working Paper der Gewerkschaften für Energiedemokratie. Fossile Brennstoffe töten uns. Sie töten uns direkt durch Umweltverschmutzung und indirekt durch den Klimawandel. Der zunehmende Einsatz von Kohle, Öl und Ga...

WEITERLESEN

ENTWICKLUNG NEU ERFINDEN
Barbara Adams and Karen Judd

Von Barbara Adams und Karen Judd. Seit der Gründung der Vereinten Nationen vor 70 Jahren ist auch von ihrer Reform die Rede – und in der Tat erlebte die Institution mehrere Phasen der Reform. Was aber mit Reform...

WEITERLESEN

INDIGENE FRAUEN GEGEN KLIMAWANDEL
May 8-13, United Nations, New York -

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung und die internationale Frauenrechtsorganisation MADRE laden eine internationale Delegation indigener Aktivistinnen aus Asien, Afrika, Lateinamerika und Nordamerika zur 15. Sitzung des Ständi...

WEITERLESEN

TAKE THE PORTS!
Patrick Bond, Ana Garcia, Mariana Moreira, and Ruixue Bai

By Patrick Bond, Ana Garcia, Mariana Moreira, and Ruixue Bai. Neoliberal globalization has had a profound effect on the mega-cities of the global South. In the so-called large emerging economies of the South—in particular...

WEITERLESEN

BRICS AND THE CITY
How grand projects reshape urban geography - March 30, 6:30pm - NYC

Von Hongkong über Mumbai und Durban bis Rio de Janeiro – die Mega-Städte des globalen Südens sind im Umbruch. Seien es der Immobilienmarkt rund um die Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft und die Olympischen Spielen in Rio oder eine enorme petro...

WEITERLESEN

DIE EMISSIONSMÄRKTE NACH PARIS
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Neues Working Paper der Gewerkschaften für Energiedemokratie. Seit den frühen 1990er Jahren dominiert die Idee, dem CO2-Ausstoß ein Preisschild umzuhängen, den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel durch die Reduktion von Treibha...

WEITERLESEN

RLS–NYC BEI DER UN-FRAUENKOMMISSION #CSW60
March 14-24, 2016 - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung hier. Die 2015 beschlossene Agenda für nachhaltige Entwicklung setzt ambitionierte Ziele (die SDGs) für die Verbesserung des Wohlergehens von Menschen weltweit. Inwiefern hilft diese Agenda ...

WEITERLESEN

CHINA ALLEIN ZU HAUS
Ho-fung Hung

Von Ho-fung Hung. Seit mehr als drei Jahrzehnten hat Chinas beachtlicher wirtschaftlicher Aufstieg die Welt umgestaltet. Ungeachtet der jüngsten Abschwächung fasziniert diese Wandlung weiterhin; Experten haben mit zahlrei...

WEITERLESEN

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr: Lordspudz

ATOMWAFFEN: DIE SPIELREGELN ÄNDERN

Wie die aktuelle Krise zwischen den Vereinigten Staaten und Nordkorea demonstriert, wächst die Gefahr von Spannungen zwischen Atommächten. Auch die Möglichkeit von Cyber-Attacken oder terroristische Gruppen, die auf Atomanlagen abzielen, stellen neue globale Risiken dar. Obwohl die meisten Menschen der Aussage zustimmen würden, dass Atomwaffen eine Bedrohung für alle darstellen,...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr: Lordspudz

ATOMWAFFEN: DIE SPIELREGELN ÄNDERN

Wie die aktuelle Krise zwischen den Vereinigten Staaten und Nordkorea demonstriert, wächst die Gefahr von Spannungen zwischen Atommächten. Auch die Möglichkeit von Cyber-Attacken oder terroristische Gruppen, die auf Atomanlagen abzielen, stellen neue globale Risiken dar. Obwohl die meisten Menschen der Aussage zustimmen würden, dass Atomwaffen eine Bedrohung für alle darstellen, sind diese die einzigen Massenvernichtungswaffen, die noch nicht gesetzlich verboten wurden. Eine Mehrheit der Regierungen und Völker ist ausgesprochen frustriert......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PROJECTS

FIGHTING TO BAN NUCLEAR WEAPONS
First Round of UN Negotiations, March 27-31 - NYC

This year the United Nations will convene negotiations for a new international agreement to ban all nuclear weapons. Representatives from governments, international organizations, and civil society in general will discuss a new treaty to pl...

READ MORE

DOMESTIC WORKER ORGANIZING IN THE GLOBAL ECONOMY
Jennifer Fish

Precarity is on the rise. Low-wage service jobs have seen a significant surge in the last years, and domestic work has become one of the largest sectors of employment in the global economy. And these household workers have been almost entir...

READ MORE

RLS–NYC AT THE COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN #CSW61
March 13-24, 2017 - NYC

International leaders and civil society activists will soon convene again at the UN Headquarters in New York for the 61st Commission on the Status of Women (CSW61), which will take place from March 13 to 24, 2017. This year, the Commission ...

READ MORE

CLOSING THE GENDER GAP
Barbara Adams and Karen Judd

By Barbara Adams and Karen Judd. Almost 22 years have passed since the Fourth World Conference on Women was held in Beijing, marking a turning point for women’s rights activists around the world. For many, the approved De...

READ MORE

A TRUMP WORLD ORDER?
What to Expect from US Foreign Policy - December 9, 2016 - NYC

For photos from this event, go to our Flickr page. With Medea Benjamin, Vijay Prashad, Jillian Schwedler, and Ingar Solty When: Friday, December 9, 2016 4-7pm, with reception following Where: The Asian American Writers̵...

READ MORE

UP FROM DEVELOPMENT
Rohan D. Mathews with Susana Barria & Ashim Roy

By Rohan D. Mathews, Susana Barria, and Ashim Roy. It is a cruelly ironic aspect of the climate crisis that those countries that have contributed the least greenhouse gas emissions are facing the greatest impacts. This ineq...

READ MORE

MARRAKECH 2016: UN CLIMATE CHANGE CONFERENCE
November 7-18, 2016 -

From November 7 to 18, national delegates will gather in Marrakech, Morocco, for the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change’s (UNFCCC) 22nd Conference of the Parties (COP22). Every year, the COP meets “to review and asses...

READ MORE

HABITAT III: A UN CONFERENCE ON HOUSING AND SUSTAINABLE URBAN DEVELOPMENT
October 17-20, 2016 - Quito, Ecuador

RLS–NYC Official Side Event: After Habitat III: Working Together toward a New Urban Reality Thursday, October 20, 12:00pm-12:45pm – Urban Future Venue – Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana “Benjamin Carrion” READ MORE

CORPORATE ACCOUNTABILITY AND INFLUENCE IN THE UN
Challenges for the new Secretary-General and the UN - Oct. 4, 1pm - NYC

On October 4, 2016, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the Global Policy Forum, and the International Network for Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ESCR-Net) will host a panel discussion on the struggle to establish a bindi...

READ MORE

THE STRUGGLE FOR A UN TREATY
Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz

By Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz – Over the course of the last years, the international debate surrounding the environmental, social and human rights responsibilities of corporations has gained momentum. Not least, growi...

READ MORE

AN ILLNESS TO ONE IS THE CONCERN OF ALL
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Trade Unions for Energy Democracy’s newest working paper. Fossil fuels are killing us. They’re killing us directly through pollution and indirectly through climate change. Expanding use of coal, oil, and gas are driving...

READ MORE

REINVENTING DEVELOPMENT
Barbara Adams and Karen Judd

By Barbara Adams and Karen Judd. Since the United Nations’ founding 70 years ago, UN reform has been on the table—and, indeed, the institution has undergone several phases of reform. What is meant by reform, ho...

READ MORE

INDIGENOUS WOMEN AGAINST CLIMATE CHANGE
May 8-13, United Nations, New York -

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office and the international women’s rights organization MADRE will host a delegation of Indigenous women leaders from Asia, Africa, Latin America, and North America to the 15th session of the UN Per...

READ MORE

TAKE THE PORTS!
Patrick Bond, Ana Garcia, Mariana Moreira, and Ruixue Bai

By Patrick Bond, Ana Garcia, Mariana Moreira, and Ruixue Bai. Neoliberal globalization has had a profound effect on the mega-cities of the global South. In the so-called large emerging economies of the South—in particular...

READ MORE

BRICS AND THE CITY
How grand projects reshape urban geography - March 30, 6:30pm - NYC

From Hong Kong to Mumbai to Durban to Rio de Janeiro, the mega-cities of the global South are in flux. Whether it’s real estate developments around the World Cup and the Olympic Games in Rio or a massive port-petrochemical expansion in Du...

READ MORE

CARBON MARKETS AFTER PARIS
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Trade Unions for Energy Democracy’s newest working paper. Since the early 1990s, “putting a price on carbon” has been, perhaps, the primary policy proposal for fighting climate change by reducing greenhouse gas em...

READ MORE

RLS–NYC AT THE COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN #CSW60
March 14-24, 2016 - NYC

For photos from this event, go here. 2015’s Sustainable Development Goals set an ambitious agenda to advance people’s welfare around the world. How does this agenda address the rights of women and girls? The 60th sessio...

READ MORE

PARTY OF ONE
Ho-fung Hung

By Ho-fung Hung. For more than three decades, China’s remarkable economic boom has been reshaping the world. Despite a recent slowdown, this transformation continues to fascinate, and observers have offered numerous inter...

READ MORE

SO SIEHT ENERGIEDEMOKRATIE AUS!
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

...

WATCH VIDEO

THE GLOBAL CRISIS OF DISPLACEMENT AND EVICTIONS
Miloon Kothari

By Miloon Kothari. The world is living through an unprecedented housing crisis. Approximately 1.6 billion people are considered to be inadequately housed, while one hundred million are homeless and another sixty million hav...

READ MORE

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: James Alexander

CAN THE LEFT BE REBUILT?

Across the western world the liberal center is in decline — but it is the radical right, not the Left, which stands to benefit. Why has the Left failed to capitalize on the ongoing systemic crisis? How has it become so divorced from its working-class base? And can the cycle be broken? Jon Trickett, Labour MP and member of Corbyn's Shadow Cabinet, speaks to Jacobin editor...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: James Alexander

CAN THE LEFT BE REBUILT?

Across the western world the liberal center is in decline — but it is the radical right, not the Left, which stands to benefit. Why has the Left failed to capitalize on the ongoing systemic crisis? How has it become so divorced from its working-class base? And can the cycle be broken? Jon Trickett, Labour MP and member of Corbyn’s Shadow Cabinet, speaks to Jacobin editor Bhaskar Sunkara. This event is co-hosted......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES