Navigation Menu

PROJEKTE

„WIR, DIE VÖLKER”?
James A. Paul

Von James A. Paul. Vor siebzig Jahren, am 24. Oktober 1945, trat die Charta der Vereinten Nationen in Kraft. Deren Verfasserinnen und Verfasser, imposant als „Wir, die Völker der Vereinten Nationen“ auftretend, verkün...

WEITERLESEN

TREFFEN DER UN-SONDERBERICHTERSTATTER FÜR WOHNEN
Friday, October 23 - NYC

Am Freitag, den 23. Oktober, hieß das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung die UN-Sonderberichterstatterin zum Recht auf angemessenes Wohnen, Leilani Farha, gemeinsam mit ihrem Vorgänger_innen, Miloon Kothari und Raquel Ronik und ...

WEITERLESEN

PLANET DER OZEANE
Max Liboiron

...

VIDEO ABSPIELEN

CLOTHES LINED
RLS–NYC, Jobs With Justice & Asia Floor Wage Alliance

...

VIDEO ABSPIELEN

BILDUNGSMATERIAL ZU ENERGIEDEMOKRATIE
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Die Initiative Trade Unions for Energie Democracy bildet ein globales und branchenübergreifendes Netzwerk von Gewerkschaftsvertretern, die für eine demokratische Form der Energieerzeugung streiten, welches den Herausforderungen von Klimak...

WEITERLESEN

KLIMAGIPFEL DER GEWERKSCHAFTEN
June 29 - New York

Neun Monate nachdem Hunderttausende Demonstranten – darunter bemerkenswert viele Gewerkschaftsmitglieder – bei dem „People’s Climate March“ die Straßen New Yorks einnahmen, versammeln sich am 29. Juni über 75 Gewerkschaftsvertre...

WEITERLESEN

ClothesLined
Stopping Walmart’s Dirty Supply Chain Moves - June 25 - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung hier. Vom 25.-27. Juni veranstaltet das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, in Kooperation mit Jobs With Justice, Asia Floor Wage Alliance und dem Murphy Institute der City University New York das Sy...

WEITERLESEN

POWER TO THE PEOPLE
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Das vierte Diskussionspapier der Initiative „Trade Unions for Energy Democracy.“ Das Prinzip „Energiedemokratie“ ist in den letzten Jahren zu einem wichtigen Thema innerhalb des internationalen Gewerkschaftsdiskurse...

WEITERLESEN

FRAUENBEWEGUNGEN 20 JAHRE NACH PEKING
RLS–NYC & UNRISD

...

VIDEO ABSPIELEN

DIE ZUKUNFT DER BRICS
Walden Bello

Walden Bello, philippinischer Aktivist und einer der führenden linken Intellektuellen, hielt diesen Vortrag über die Zukunft der globalen Machtbeziehungen bei einer Veranstaltung des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-S...

WEITERLESEN

WALDON BELLO ÜBER DIE BRICS-STAATEN
April 27, 6:00 PM - RLS–NYC

Einer der führenden linken Intellektuellen erläutert den Aufstieg Chinas und die Zukunft der globalen Machtbeziehungen. Die globalen Machtverhältnisse verschieben sich. Es gibt viele Debatten um die Frage, ob die stärker werde...

WEITERLESEN

PEACE & PLANET
RLS–NYC Supports International Peace Gathering on Eve of NPT Review Conference - April 24/25

Alle fünf Jahre berufen die Vereinten Nationen ein Treffen ein, um die Entwicklung des 1970 beschlossenen Vertrags über die Nichtverbreitung von Kernwaffen (NVV) zu überprüfen. In diesem Jahr – genau 70 Jahre nach den US-Atombombenab...

WEITERLESEN

INDIGENE FRAUEN BEI DEN VEREINTEN NATIONEN
UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues 2015 - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung hier. Vom 19. Bis 24. April 2015 werden das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung und MADRE eine internationale Delegation von 12 indigenen Aktivistinnen aus Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika und Nordamerika...

WEITERLESEN

EIN KRITISCHER BLICK AUF DIE NEUE UN-ENTWICKLUNGS-AGENDA
International Activists at the Commission on the Status of Women - NYC

Fotos von dieser Veranstaltung hier. Die „beständige und zunehmende Belastung der Frau durch Armut“ sollte beseitigt werden – so das Versprechen der unterzeichnenden Regierungen der „Erklärung von Peking“, dem Abschlussbericht d...

WEITERLESEN

WENN SCHWEINE FLIEGEN
William M. LeoGrande and Jenny Morín Nenoff

Von William M. LeoGrande und Jenny Morín Nenoff. Es war eine echte Sensation: Als am 17. Dezember 2014 die Staatschefs von Kuba und den Vereinigten Staaten verkündeten, die über ein halbes Jahrhundert lang eingefrorenen ...

WEITERLESEN

GRIECHISCHE ENERGIEDEMOKRATIE
Sean Sweeney

Von Sean Sweeney. Der 25. Januar 2015 war ein historischer Tag: Das griechische Volk hat sich für einen Bruch mit der Austeritätspolitik entschieden. SYRIZA, die „Koalition der radialen Linken“, wurde zur stärksten P...

WEITERLESEN

PLANET DER OZEANE
Environment and Society on the Rest of the Planet - January 30-31 - NYC

Das erste Video der Konferenz ist jetzt online: PLANET DER OZEANE: ERTRINKEN IN PLASTIK Plastic verunreinigt unsere Meere und Wasserstraßen. In diesem Video spricht die renommierte Wissenschaftleri...

WEITERLESEN

TPP & TTIP: GEFÄHRLICHE KOMPLIZEN
Mike Dolan

Von Mike Dolan. Durch den Aufstieg der sogenannten BRICS-Staaten (Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika) hat der Kapitalismus eine neue Epoche eingeläutet. Nachdem Europa und die Vereinigten Staaten die Welt ja...

WEITERLESEN

EINE NEUE ENTWICKLUNGSAGENDA?
Barbara Adams and Kathryn Tobin

Von Barbara Adams und Kathryn Tobin. Staatschefs aus der ganzen Welt trafen sich im Jahr 2000 zum Millenniumsgipfel der Vereinten Nationen und verabschiedeten eine ehrgeizige Entwicklungsagenda, die später zu acht Millenni...

WEITERLESEN

GLOBAL CONVERGENCES: STRATEGIEN GEGEN ZWANGSRÄUMUNG UND VERDRÄNGUNG
A Public Roundtable Discussion - Friday, Nov 21 - MIT, Cambridge

Fotos dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr Seite. Verdrängung ist eines der drängendsten Probleme der Gegenwart. Weltweit sind jedes Jahr Millionen Menschen von Displacement betroffen – einem Akt der Gewalt, der M...

WEITERLESEN

NEWS / EVENTS

© The Orchard 2018

DER JUNGE KARL MARX: KOSTENFREIE FILMVORFÜHRUNG

Anlässlich des 200. Jahrestags von Karl Marxs Geburtstag veranstaltet das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut New York und dem Brooklyn Institute for Social Research (BISR) eine Vorführung von Raoul Pecks hochgelobtem Film „Der junge Karl Marx“. Der Film beleuchtet den Weg des jungen Philosophen Marx zum Dasein als Revolutionär und widmet...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

© The Orchard 2018

DER JUNGE KARL MARX: KOSTENFREIE FILMVORFÜHRUNG

Anlässlich des 200. Jahrestags von Karl Marxs Geburtstag veranstaltet das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut New York und dem Brooklyn Institute for Social Research (BISR) eine Vorführung von Raoul Pecks hochgelobtem Film „Der junge Karl Marx“. Der Film beleuchtet den Weg des jungen Philosophen Marx zum Dasein als Revolutionär und widmet sich insbesondere dessen aufkeimenden Freundschaft zu Friedrich Engels, seinen Erfahrungen mit politischer......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PROJECTS

“WE THE PEOPLES”?
James A. Paul

By James A. Paul. Seventy years ago, on October 24, 1945, the United Nations Charter came into force. The Charter’s framers, powerfully speaking as “We the Peoples of the United Nations,” announced their determination...

READ MORE

UN SPECIAL RAPPORTEURS HOUSING ROUNDTABLE
Friday, October 23 - NYC

On Friday, October 23, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung–New York Office welcomed the current United Nations Special Rapporteur on Adequate Housing, Leilani Farha, together with her two predecessors, Miloon Kothari and Raquel Rolnik, and other ...

READ MORE

PLANET OF THE OCEANS
Max Liboiron

...

WATCH VIDEO

CLOTHES LINED
RLS–NYC, Jobs With Justice & Asia Floor Wage Alliance

...

WATCH VIDEO

EDUCATIONAL MATERIAL ABOUT ENERGY DEMOCRACY
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Trade Unions for Energy Democracy is a global, multi-sector network of labor leaders dedicated to advancing democratic direction and control of energy in a way that promotes solutions to the climate crisis, energy poverty, and the degradati...

READ MORE

TRADE UNION CLIMATE SUMMIT
June 29 - New York

Nine months after the People’s Climate March brought hundreds of thousands of people—including an unprecedented number of union members—to the streets of New York City, more than 75 trade union leaders from the United States and t...

READ MORE

ClothesLined
Stopping Walmart’s Dirty Supply Chain Moves - June 25 - NYC

For photos from this event, go here. The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, in cooperation with Jobs With Justice, Asia Floor Wage Alliance, and the Murphy Institute at CUNY, will host “ClothesLined: Stopping Walmart’s Dirty Sup...

READ MORE

POWER TO THE PEOPLE
Trade Unions for Energy Democracy

Trade Unions for Energy Democracy’s fourth working paper. In the last years, “energy democracy” has become a part of the international trade union discourse on energy and climate change. A growing number of unions and...

READ MORE

WOMEN’S MOVEMENTS 20 YEARS AFTER BEIJING
RLS–NYC & UNRISD

...

WATCH VIDEO

THE FUTURE OF THE BRICS
Walden Bello

Walden Bello, one of the Left’s foremost intellectuals, delivered these remarks on the future of global power at the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung’s New York office. Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa—the large ...

READ MORE

BELLO ON THE BRICS
April 27, 6:00 PM - RLS–NYC

One of the Left’s Foremost Intellectuals Discusses the Rise of China and the Future of Global Power. The global balance of power is shifting. There is much debate as to whether the rising BRICS countries—Brazil, Russia, India,...

READ MORE

PEACE & PLANET
RLS–NYC Supports International Peace Gathering on Eve of NPT Review Conference - April 24/25

Every five years, the United Nations convenes a meeting to review the 1970 Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), which seeks to halt the further spread of nuclear weapons and to eliminate existing arsenals. The 2015 Revi...

READ MORE

INDIGENOUS WOMEN ENGAGING THE UN
UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues 2015 - NYC

For photos from this event, go here. From April 19-24, 2015, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office and MADRE will host a delegation of 12 Indigenous women leaders from Africa, Asia, Latin America, and North America during the UN Pe...

READ MORE

A CRITICAL VIEW OF THE UN’S NEW DEVELOPMENT AGENDA
International Activists at the Commission on the Status of Women - NYC

For photos from this event, go here. The commitment to “eradicate the persistent and increasing burden of poverty on women by addressing the structural causes of poverty through changes in economic structures” was one of the central pro...

READ MORE

WHEN PIGS FLY
William M. LeoGrande and Jenny Morín Nenoff

By William M. LeoGrande and Jenny Morín Nenoff. It was a real sensation: On 17 December 2014, when the heads of state of Cuba and the United States announced their intention to normalize relations between the two states, w...

READ MORE

ENERGY DEMOCRACY IN GREECE
Sean Sweeney

By Sean Sweeney. January 25, 2015 was a historic day: the people of Greece chose to break with austerity policies. They elected SYRIZA—the Coalition of the Radical Left—as the largest party in parliament, Alexis Tsipras...

READ MORE

PLANET OF THE OCEANS
Environment and Society on the Rest of the Planet - January 30-31 - NYC

Watch the first video of the conference: PLANET OF THE OCEANS: DROWNING IN PLASTIC Plastic heavily pollutes our oceans and waterways. Renowned scientist Max Liboiron (University of Newfoundland) talks about the caus...

READ MORE

TPP AND TTIP: PARTNERS IN CRIME
Mike Dolan

By Mike Dolan. With the rise of the so-called BRICS countries—Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa—global capitalism has entered a new stage. For centuries Europe and the United States have dominated the world...

READ MORE

CONFRONTING DEVELOPMENT
Barbara Adams and Kathryn Tobin

By Barbara Adams and Kathryn Tobin. In the year 2000, the world’s leaders assembled at the Millennium Summit to affirm their commitment to an ambitious development agenda, later distilled into eight “Millennium Developm...

READ MORE

GLOBAL CONVERGENCES: STRATEGIES AGAINST EVICTIONS & DISPLACEMENT
A Public Roundtable Discussion - Friday, Nov 21 - MIT, Cambridge

For photos from this event, go to our Flickr page. Forced displacement is one of the most crucial issues of our time. Affecting millions of people around the world every year, displacement strips people of their hard-earned wealth, stabilit...

READ MORE

NEWS / EVENTS

© The Orchard 2018

THE YOUNG KARL MARX: FREE FILM SCREENING

In celebration of the 200th anniversary of Karl Marx’s birth, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, Goethe-Institut New York, and Brooklyn Institute for Social Research (BISR) are hosting a free screening of Raoul Peck’s acclaimed The Young Karl Marx. The film follows the young philosopher turned revolutionary through his burgeoning friendship with Frederick Engels, his...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

© The Orchard 2018

THE YOUNG KARL MARX: FREE FILM SCREENING

In celebration of the 200th anniversary of Karl Marx’s birth, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, Goethe-Institut New York, and Brooklyn Institute for Social Research (BISR) are hosting a free screening of Raoul Peck’s acclaimed The Young Karl Marx. The film follows the young philosopher turned revolutionary through his burgeoning friendship with Frederick Engels, his experiences with political repression, as well as the debates, dilemmas, and promises of a......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES