Navigation Menu

PROJEKTE

URBAN CONVERGENCES
Housing Justice, Left Governments, and Lessons from the Global South - Sept. 27–29

Fotos dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr-Seite. Nach langwierigen Befreiungskämpfen gegen verschiedene Formen des Kolonialismus haben sich Indien, Brasilien und Südafrika zu mächtigen Spielern auf intern...

WEITERLESEN

DIE ÄRMEREN NATIONEN: EINE MÖGLICHE GESCHICHTE DES GLOBALEN SÜDENS
Vijay Prashad and Andrew Hsiao - July 24 - Brecht Forum, NYC

Frieden, Brot und Gerechtigkeit – dies war das Banner, unter dem der globale Süden in den 1970er Jahren vereinigt war. Damals schien die Zeit reif für einen Wandel der globalen Weltordnung, der die bisherigen Abhängigkeits- und Herrsch...

WEITERLESEN

DIRTY WARS: FILMVORFÜHRUNG UND DISKUSSION
Wed June 12, 6:25 pm - IFC Center, 323 Sixth Ave at W Third St

BILDER VON DER FILMVORFÜHRUNG GIBT ES AUF UNSERER FLICKR-SEITE. Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung präsentierte eine kostenlose Vorführung der Dokumentation Dirty Wars, gefolgt von einer <...

WEITERLESEN

WAR ON DEMAND
Medea Benjamin

Von Medea Benjamin – In den letzten Jahren haben wir die Geburt einer neuen Art der Kriegführung erlebt: Drohnenangriffe. Insbesondere seit Präsident Barack Obamas Amtsantritt 2009 sind unbemannte Fluggeräte (UAVs)...

WEITERLESEN

NEOLIBERALISMUS MIT SÜDLICHEM ANTLITZ
Vijay Prashad

Jahrhundertelang haben die Nationen des Globalen Südens dafür gekämpft, sich politisch zu behaupten. Dieses Ansinnen äußerte sich ursprünglich im Widerstand gegen den Kolonialismus. Mit dem Zusammenbruch der europäischen Imperien ent...

WEITERLESEN

GERECHTIGKEIT FÜR VÖLKERMORD
Thursday, May 30, 7pm - RLS−NYC

Die RLS−NYC lädt zu einem Abend mit Benjamín Jerónimo ein, dem Vorsitzenden der Gesellschaft für Gerechtigkeit und Aussöhnung (AJR) Guatemalas und gleichzeitig Hauptzeugen im Völkermordprozess gegen den früheren Diktator Efraín R...

WEITERLESEN

RLS−NYC UNTERSTÜTZT INDIGENE FRAUEN AUF DEM UNPFII
UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues - NYC

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung kooperiert mit MADRE , einer NGO, die sich für die Rechte und Anliegen von Frauen einsetzt. Wir organisieren gemeinsam ein Projekt, in dem eine Gruppe von Vertreterinnen indigener Frauen zu...

WEITERLESEN

GEWERKSCHAFTEN FÜR ENERGIEDEMOKRATIE
Energy Democracy Initiative - 2013

Im Mai 2013 wurde die Initiative „Gewerkschaften für Energiedemokratie“ ins Leben gerufen. Diese Initiative stellt einen neuen Ansatz im Kampf gegen Klimawandel und Energiearmut innerhalb der Gewerkschaftsbewegung dar. Eine nac...

WEITERLESEN

RESIST, RECLAIM, RESTRUCTURE
Sean Sweeney

Angesichts des bestehenden globalen Energiesystems haben Gewerkschaft längst verstanden, dass „business as usual” nicht nachhaltig ist. Gewerkschaftsmitglieder spüren bereits die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, entweder als Helfer bei ...

WEITERLESEN

ALTERNATIVEN ZUM KRIEG
Andreas Buro

Von Andreas Buro. „Der Krieg ist eine bloße Fortsetzung der Politik mit anderen Mitteln“, schrieb einst der preußische General Carl von Clausewitz. „Krieg ist manchmal notwendig”, sagte US-Präsident Barack Obama...

WEITERLESEN

RECYCELN ODER UMDENKEN
Lara Skinner

Von Lara Skinner – Angesichts der dramatischen Zuspitzung der Umwelt- und Klimakrise entwickeln sich immer neue Formen des Widerstandes gegen die maßlose Agenda der Energiekonzerne. Seit den 1970er Jahren sind Größ...

WEITERLESEN

ENERGY EMERGENCY, ENERGY TRANSITION
Conference - NYC District Council of Carpenters -

Vom 10. bis 12. Oktober veranstalteten das Büro New York der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung und das Global Labor Institute der Cornell University eine Konferenz zu “Energy Emergency, Energy Transition”. Diese Gesprächsrunde brachte über sec...

WEITERLESEN

DIE LAGE DER US-GEWERKSCHAFTEN
Sean Sweeney

Seit der Wahl Ronald Reagans zum Präsidenten der USA und dem nachfolgenden Beginn der neoliberalen Ära in den frühen 1980er Jahren haben die Gewerkschaften in den Vereinigten Staaten einen stetigen Rückgang erlitten. Heute ist weniger a...

WEITERLESEN

SOZIAL-ÖKOLOGISCHE TRANSFORMATION
Ulrich Brand, Marlis Gensler and Alexandra Strickner

Das Energiesystem spiegelt die Krisen und Widersprüche des Kapitalismus. Fossile Brennstoffe dominieren weiterhin das globale Energiesystem und steigern die Konzentration von Kohlendioxid in der Atmosphäre in alarmierendem Ausmaß. Öl-, ...

WEITERLESEN

GEFÄHRLICHE PARTNERSCHAFT
Lou Pingeot

Immer mehr Staaten lagern traditionell staatliche Aufgaben an private Unternehmen aus. Inzwischen bleiben vom Outsourcing selbst die Kernbereiche Sicherheit und Militär nicht länger verschont. Das berüchtigtste Beispiel hierfür ist die ...

WEITERLESEN

ABGESCHOBEN, ENTRECHTET UND KRIMINALISIERT
David Bacon

Im Einwanderungsland USA leben, offiziellen Schätzungen zufolge, rund elf Millionen Menschen ohne gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Auch unter Präsident Barack Obama hat sich ihre Lage kaum gebessert. Zwar hat Obama jüngst, im Juni 2012, ve...

WEITERLESEN

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das Just Transition(s) Online Forum ankündigen zu können, in dem verschiedene Perspektiven zum Thema einer gerechten Energiewende („Just Transition“) hin zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Entwicklung vorgestellt werden sollen. Wir......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PROJECTS

URBAN CONVERGENCES
Housing Justice, Left Governments, and Lessons from the Global South - Sept. 27–29

For photos from this event, go to our flickr page! Following hard-won liberation struggles against various forms of colonialism, India, Brazil, and South Africa have now emerged as power players on the global stage. While ...

READ MORE

THE POORER NATIONS: A POSSIBLE HISTORY OF THE GLOBAL SOUTH
Vijay Prashad and Andrew Hsiao - July 24 - Brecht Forum, NYC

Peace, Bread, and Justice: in the 1970’s, this was the banner under which the Global South united. The time seemed ripe for massive change in the global order, where the old superstructure would be turned upside down. Since the ’70s...

READ MORE

DIRTY WARS: SCREENING AND DISCUSSION
Wed June 12, 6:25 pm - IFC Center, 323 Sixth Ave at W Third St

TAKE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES FROM THIS EVENT ON OUR FLICKR PAGE. The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office presented a free screening of Dirty Wars at the IFC Center, followed by a panel discussion with Amy Good...

READ MORE

WAR ON DEMAND
Medea Benjamin

By Medea Benjamin – The last years have witnessed the dawn of a new type of warfare: drone strikes. Especially since President Barack Obama took office in 2009, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), as they are technically...

READ MORE

NEOLIBERALISM WITH SOUTHERN CHARACTERISTICS
Vijay Prashad

For centuries, the nations of the Global South have struggled to assert themselves politically. This assertion originally took the form of myriad struggles against colonialism, and as the European empires collapsed, new nation states came i...

READ MORE

JUSTICE FOR GENOCIDE
Thursday, May 30, 7pm - RLS−NYC

Join us for an evening with Benjamín Jerónimo, president of the Guatemalan Association for Justice and Reconciliation (AJR) and key witness in the genocide trial against former dictator Efraín Ríos Montt. The Network in Solidarity wi...

READ MORE

RLS−NYC SUPPORTS INDIGENOUS WOMEN LEADERS AT UNPFII
UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues - NYC

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office is proud to present a collaboration with MADRE, an NGO focusing on women’s issues, inviting a group of indigenous women leaders to participate in co-organized events surrounding the United Na...

READ MORE

TRADE UNIONS FOR ENERGY DEMOCRACY
Energy Democracy Initiative - 2013

In May 2013, Trade Unions for Energy Democracy was launched. This initiative represents a new labor movement approach to climate change and energy poverty. A sustainable and just energy transition is necessary. To bring this about unions an...

READ MORE

RESIST, RECLAIM, RESTRUCTURE
Sean Sweeney

When it comes to the global energy system, trade unions recognize that business as usual is not sustainable. Union members are already feeling the impacts of climate change, whether as first responders to climate catastrophes or as members ...

READ MORE

ALTERNATIVES TO WAR
Andreas Buro

By Andreas Buro. Prussian General Carl von Clausewitz once wrote that, “War is just a continuation of politics by other means.” Two hundred years later, President Barack Obama said that war “is sometimes necessary...

READ MORE

RECYCLE OR REIMAGINE
Lara Skinner

By Lara Skinner – With the dramatic deepening of the environmental crisis, new forms of resistance are emerging to combat the fossil fuel industry’s extreme agenda. Since the 1970s, the U.S. environmental movement h...

READ MORE

ENERGY EMERGENCY, ENERGY TRANSITION
Conference - NYC District Council of Carpenters -

On October 10-12 in New York City, the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation and Cornell University’s Global Labor Institute convened the “Energy Emergency, Energy Transition” conference. This invitation-only roundtable brought together over sixt...

READ MORE

THE STATE OF THE UNIONS IN THE U.S.
Sean Sweeney

Ever since the election of Ronald Reagan to the U.S. presidency and the following launch of the neoliberal period in the early 1980s, trade unions in the United States have suffered a steady decline. Today, barely one in ten workers carries...

READ MORE

SOCIO-ECOLOGICAL TRANSFORMATION
Ulrich Brand, Marlis Gensler and Alexandra Strickner

The energy system reflects the crises and contradictions of capitalism. Fossil fuels continue to dominate the global energy system, raising atmospheric carbon dioxide to alarming levels. Oil, coal, and natural gas companies use their econom...

READ MORE

DANGEROUS PARTNERSHIP
Lou Pingeot

An increasing number of countries are outsourcing to private companies activities that have traditionally been carried out by the state. In this process, not even the core areas of security and the military have been spared. The most notori...

READ MORE

DISPLACED, UNEQUAL AND CRIMINALIZED
David Bacon

In the United States of America, a country founded and shaped by immigration, roughly eleven million people currently live undocumented according to official estimates. Under President Barack Obama, their position has hardly improved. In Ju...

READ MORE

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the Just Transition(s) Online Forum. This Forum seeks to bring together different stories and perspectives on the issue of Just Transition to low-carbon......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES