Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

GEFÄHRLICHE PARTNERSCHAFT
Private Militär- und Sicherheitsfirmen und die UNO
Lou Pingeot - Juli 2012

Photo Credit: Shutterstock.com

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

KLIMAGERECHTIGKEIT VON UNTEN
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
Dezember 2019

DER KAMPF FÜR EINE ANDERE WELT
John Feffer
Dezember 2019

EXTRAKTIVISMUS UND FRAUENRECHTE
Karolin Seitz
Oktober 2019

Immer mehr Staaten lagern traditionell staatliche Aufgaben an private Unternehmen aus. Inzwischen bleiben vom Outsourcing selbst die Kernbereiche Sicherheit und Militär nicht länger verschont. Das berüchtigtste Beispiel hierfür ist die Übertragung genuin militärischer Aufgaben durch das Pentagon an das Unternehmen Blackwater im Irak.

Der Industriezweig der privaten Militär- und Sicherheitsunternehmen (PMSC) hat deshalb in den letzten Jahren, inmitten der globalen Krise, einen regelrechten Boom erlebt. Zugleich vollzog sich eine starke Firmenkonzentration, die dazu geführt hat, dass einige wenige Konzerne nunmehr über ein geographisch weit aufgestelltes Potential verfügen und ein breites Angebot an Dienstleistungen anbieten können, die von Risikobewertungen bis hin zu bewaffneten Sicherheitseinsätzen reichen. Im Zuge dessen haben die Konzerne es vermocht, ihren politischen Einfluss massiv auszuweiten. Nicht nur rekrutieren sie ihr Personal aus den Staatsapparaten und Armeen (wo zuvor die Gesellschaften für ihre Ausbildung aufkommen mussten), sondern sie pflegen auch privilegierte Beziehungen zu den Regierungen der westlichen Welt.

Weniger bekannt ist, dass auch die UNO bei ihren weltweiten Einsätzen zunehmend Partnerschaften mit privaten Militär- und Sicherheitsfirmen eingeht – zum Schutz der UN-Mitarbeiter und zur Sicherung der Operationen, wie es heißt.

Warum, so lässt sich fragen, arbeitet nun auch die UNO mit diesen Unternehmen zusammen, im Namen von Frieden und Gerechtigkeit? Aus Kostengründen, so heißt es, und weil das Personal dieser privaten Firmen im Gegensatz zum begrenzten UN-Personal jederzeit einsatzbereit sei. Aber lässt sich die Zusammenarbeit mit der Aufgabe und dem Selbstverständnis der UNO vereinbaren, eine sichere und gerechtere Welt zu schaffen, die auf Prinzipien der Rechtsstaatlichkeit beruht?

Der verstärkt Einsatz privater Sicherheitsfirmen resultiert nämlich nicht zuletzt daraus, dass sich die UNO-Missionen in den letzten Jahren gewandelt haben. Bei „robusten“ Friedenseinsätzen werden immer öfter militärische, politische und humanitäre Ziele miteinander verknüpft – was dazu führen kann, dass die UNO, mehr jedenfalls als früher, als Kriegspartei wahrgenommen wird. Im Umkehrschluss gewinnt vor diesem Hintergrund „Sicherheit“ auch für die UNO größere Bedeutung. Immer öfter müssen sich UNO-Mitarbeiter regelrecht in ihren Einrichtungen verschanzen, mit hohen Schutzmauern und bewaffnetem Sicherheitspersonal umgeben.

Hinzu kommt, dass es bislang kaum Richtlinien im Umgang mit PMSC gibt, geschweige denn klare Verantwortlichkeiten. Wie soll da die Einhaltung von Standards und Prinzipien kontrolliert werden?

Eines jedenfalls ist klar: Soll dieser bedenkliche Zustand geändert werden, muss man das gesamte Sicherheitskonzept der UNO überdenken.

In der viel rezipierten Gemeinschaftsstudie von Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung und Global Policy Forum geht Lou Pingeot der Problematik auf den Grund. Sie zeigt, dass die Sicherheitsunternehmen bei ihren Einsätzen immer wieder Rechtsbrüche begehen – bis hin zu schweren Menschenrechtsverletzungen. Zugleich kritisiert Pingeot, dass das Outsourcing von Sicherheitsdienstleistungen die Politik der UNO verschiebt, ihr Selbstverständnis untergräbt und damit letztlich die Institution selbst zum Negativen hin verändert. Ihre Schlussfolgerung: Diese „Sicherheitspartnerschaften“ müssen in Zukunft nicht nur besser kontrolliert werden; vielmehr sollte die UNO diese Art der Zusammenarbeit vor dem Hintergrund ihres Selbstverständnisses prinzipiell überdenken.

Bisher hat es die UNO vermieden, in der Öffentlichkeit über das Outsourcing von Sicherheitsaufgaben zu diskutieren. Diese Politik des (Ver-)Schweigens ist nach Pingeots Studie nicht länger möglich.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

KLIMAGERECHTIGKEIT VON UNTEN
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
Dezember 2019

DER KAMPF FÜR EINE ANDERE WELT
John Feffer
Dezember 2019

EXTRAKTIVISMUS UND FRAUENRECHTE
Karolin Seitz
Oktober 2019

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here....
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

DANGEROUS PARTNERSHIP
Private Military & Security Companies and the UN
Lou Pingeot - July 2012

Photo Credit: Shutterstock.com

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

EXTRACTIVISM AND WOMEN’S RIGHTS
Karolin Seitz
October 2019

BEYOND NAFTA 2.0
Ethan Earle, Manuel Pérez-Rocha, and Scott Sinclair, eds.
July 2019

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION
Tim Judson
December 2018

An increasing number of countries are outsourcing to private companies activities that have traditionally been carried out by the state. In this process, not even the core areas of security and the military have been spared. The most notorious example of this is the Pentagon’s transfer of genuinely military duties to Blackwater in Iraq.

In the middle of the global crisis, private military and security companies (PMSC) have experienced a major boom. At the same time, there has been a strong wave of company mergers that has given a few corporations a geographically widely established potential and the ability to offer a range of services extending from risk assessments to armed security deployments. Through this process, these companies have massively expanded their political influence. In addition to recruiting their personnel from state institutions and armies (where previously the societies had to pay for their own training), they also maintain privileged relationships with the governments of the Western World.

What is less well-known is that the United Nations (UN) has been increasingly entering into partnerships with private military and security companies for their global deployments, allegedly for the protection of UN employees and the security of operations.

It should be asked: why is the UN—in the name of peace and justice—also collaborating with these companies? Officials claim this is done for reasons of cost effectiveness and because the personnel of these private companies are prepared for deployment at any time, in contrast with the limited UN personnel. However, is this collaboration in line with the duties and self-conception of the UN: the creation of a safer, more just world, and the defense of the rule of law?

Not least of all, the heavy use of private security companies has resulted from the fact that UN missions have changed over the last years. Military, political and humanitarian objectives are increasingly linked with robust deployments in the name of peace, which—at least more so now than previously—leads to the perception of the UN as a “party of war.” As a result, the importance of “security” increases for the UN in this context. With increasing frequency, UN employees have to entrench themselves in their facilities, surrounded by defensive walls and armed security personnel.

Furthermore, there are hardly any guidelines for working with PMSCs, to say nothing of clear responsibilities. How should compliance with standards and principles be checked in such cases?

One thing is clear: if this questionable state is to be changed, the entire security concept of the UN will have to be reconsidered.

Lou Pingeot describes the depth of this problem in this well-received joint study from the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation and the Global Policy Forum. She shows that security companies have repeatedly violated the law during their deployments, including serious human rights abuses. Simultaneously, Pingeot criticizes the fact that outsourcing security services disarranges UN policy, subverts UN self-conception and ultimately changes the institution itself in a negative direction. Her conclusion is that this “security partnership” must not only be supervised more closely, but that the UN should reconsider this type of collaboration against the backdrop of their self-conception.

Until now, the UN has avoided discussing the outsourcing of security duties in public. This “politics of concealment” is no longer possible after Pingeot’s study.

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

EXTRACTIVISM AND WOMEN’S RIGHTS
Karolin Seitz
October 2019

BEYOND NAFTA 2.0
Ethan Earle, Manuel Pérez-Rocha, and Scott Sinclair, eds.
July 2019

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION
Tim Judson
December 2018

NEWS / EVENTS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE

Talking About Democratic Socialism 30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Fall 1989 was a moment of radical transformation for the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Already many GDR citizens had migrated to West Germany to escape state repression. On November 4, almost half a million other GDR citizens gathered at Alexanderplatz in Berlin for a peaceful protest,...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE

Talking About Democratic Socialism 30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Fall 1989 was a moment of radical transformation for the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Already many GDR citizens had migrated to West Germany to escape state repression. On November 4, almost half a million other GDR citizens gathered at Alexanderplatz in Berlin for a peaceful protest, calling for the democratization of the socialistic state. Organized by......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES