Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

Der UN-TREATY-PROZESS
Der „Treaty-Prozess“ bei den Vereinten Nationen über ein internationales Menschenrechtsabkommen zu Transnationalen Konzernen
Jens Martens und Karolin Seitz - Mai 2016

Photo Credit: UN Photo/Jean-Marc Ferré

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

JENSEITS VON NAFTA 2.0
Ethan Earle, Manuel Pérez-Rocha, und Scott Sinclair, eds.
Juli 2019

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION
Tim Judson
Dezember 2018

JUST TRANSITION: EINE GERECHTE ENERGIEWENDE
Just Transition Research Collaborative
Dezember 2018

Von Jens Martens und Karolin Seitz – In den letzten Jahren hat die internationale Debatte über die ökologische, soziale und menschenrechtliche Verantwortung der Wirtschaft an Dynamik gewonnen. Grund dafür war nicht zuletzt die wachsende öffentliche Kritik an transnationalen Konzernen und Banken. Die Liste der Kritikpunkte ist lang: Sie reicht von immer neuen Umweltvergehen, der Missachtung grundlegender Arbeits- und Menschenrechtsstandards, massiven Bestechungsvorwürfen, bis hin zur Kritik an Steuervermeidungspraktiken von Konzernen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund war es eine historische Entscheidung, als der Menschenrechtsrat der Vereinten Nationen am 26. Juni 2014 auf Initiative Ecuadors und Südafrikas eine Arbeitsgruppe einsetzte, um ein rechtsverbindliches Instrument zu formulieren, mit dem transnationale Konzerne und andere Wirtschaftsunternehmen für Menschenrechtsvergehen zur Verantwortung gezogen werden können. Damit befasst sich zum ersten Mal seit der Schließung der UN-Kommission für transnationale Unternehmen 1992 ein zwischenstaatliches Gremium der Vereinten Nationen mit der internationalen Regulierung von Konzernen.

Bislang setzten Politik und Wirtschaft auf internationaler Ebene überwiegend auf freiwillige Initiativen. Angesichts erster Erfahrungen mit den UN-Leitprinzipien kamen immer mehr Regierungen und Wissenschaftler/innen zu dem Schluss, dass diese Prinzipien nur begrenzte Wirkung entfalten können und durch ein rechtsverbindliches internationales Instrument ergänzt werden sollten. Es sei notwendig, endlich vom soft law zum hard law zu gelangen. Diese Forderung wird von einer Allianz von mehreren hundert zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen aus aller Welt unterstützt. Als Treaty Alliance (www.treatymovement.com) setzen sie sich für einen Vertrag ein, der die menschenrechtliche Verantwortung von Unternehmen international regeln soll.

Massiver Widerstand gegen die Entscheidung des UN-Menschenrechtsrates kam von den USA und ihren Verbündeten. Die Europäische Union teilte die Haltung der USA. Sie konnten sich mit ihrem Widerstand allerdings nicht durchsetzen. Bislang haben vor allem einige Wissenschaftler/innen und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen Vorschläge zu Form und Inhalt des zukünftigen Rechtsinstruments vorgelegt. Sie unterscheiden sich in der thematischen Reichweite, dem Grad an Detailliertheit und sicherlich auch der politischen Realisierbarkeit.

Vom 24.–28. Oktober 2016 wird die zwischenstaatliche Arbeitsgruppe zum zweiten Mal in Genf tagen. Bis zur dritten Tagung im Jahr 2017 soll der erste Entwurf eines verbindlichen Rechtsinstruments vorliegen. Die Bundesregierung hat sich bislang nicht an den Diskussionen der Arbeitsgruppe des Menschenrechtsrates beteiligt. Das Europäische Parlament sowie Umwelt-, Entwicklungs- und Menschenrechtsorganisationen haben die Bundesregierung wiederholt zu einer konstruktiven Beteiligung an den Diskussionen in der Arbeitsgruppe des Menschenrechtsrates aufgerufen.

Jens Martens, Volkswirt und Geschäftsführer des Global Policy Forum, und Karolin Seitz, Mitarbeiterin beim Global Policy Forum, fordern in ihrer Studie die Regierungen auf dem Druck der Unternehmenslobby nicht nachzugeben, sondern deren Argumente kritisch zu hinterfragen. Vor allem sollten die Regierungen nicht allein die Stimme der bislang tonangebenden Unternehmensverbände wahrnehmen, sondern anerkennen, dass es eine wachsende Zahl von Unternehmen gäbe, die weitaus fortschrittlichere Positionen vertreten als ihre Verbände.

Den Autoren zu Folge biete der Treaty-Prozess für Regierungen die einmalige Gelegenheit, unter Beweis zu stellen, dass es in ihren Händen liegt, den Menschenrechten Vorrang vor den Interessen des big business einzuräumen. Denn Profite kann man teilen – Menschenrechte nicht.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)
DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)


Weitere Texte in "Globale Macht und Widerstand"

JENSEITS VON NAFTA 2.0
Ethan Earle, Manuel Pérez-Rocha, und Scott Sinclair, eds.
Juli 2019

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION
Tim Judson
Dezember 2018

JUST TRANSITION: EINE GERECHTE ENERGIEWENDE
Just Transition Research Collaborative
Dezember 2018

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credits: Fibonacci Blue (CC BY 2.0)

WIE WIR LERNEN, KÄMPFE ZU GEWINNEN

Tagtäglich fechten wir grundlegende Kämpfe aus: Kämpfe, um die menschengemachte Klimakatastrophe abzuwenden, um gewerkschaftliche Organisierung etwa bei Amazon und Ryanair, um eine menschenwürdige, bedarfsgerechte und den Ansprüchen der Beschäftigten entsprechende Pflege oder Kämpfe, um, die sozialen Fragen nicht den Rechten zu überlassen. Wir haben eine Welt zu gewinnen! Und...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credits: Fibonacci Blue (CC BY 2.0)

WIE WIR LERNEN, KÄMPFE ZU GEWINNEN

Tagtäglich fechten wir grundlegende Kämpfe aus: Kämpfe, um die menschengemachte Klimakatastrophe abzuwenden, um gewerkschaftliche Organisierung etwa bei Amazon und Ryanair, um eine menschenwürdige, bedarfsgerechte und den Ansprüchen der Beschäftigten entsprechende Pflege oder Kämpfe, um, die sozialen Fragen nicht den Rechten zu überlassen. Wir haben eine Welt zu gewinnen! Und doch bleibt eine Frage: wie gewinnen wir sie? Mit den Global Lectures gibt Jane McAlevey einen vierteiligen Crashkurs zu Organizing-Methoden, die helfen unsere......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

THE STRUGGLE FOR A UN TREATY
Towards Global Regulation on Human Rights and Business
Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz - August 2016

Photo Credit: UN Photo/Jean-Marc Ferré

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (German)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

PREPARING A PUBLIC PATHWAY
Sean Sweeney and John Treat
November 2017

TOWARD GLOBAL REGULATION ON HUMAN RIGHTS AND BUSINESS
Treaty Alliance Germany
September 2017

OF FOXES AND CHICKENS
James A. Paul
August 2017

By Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz – Over the course of the last years, the international debate surrounding the environmental, social and human rights responsibilities of corporations has gained momentum. Not least, growing public criticism of transnational corporations and banks has contributed to this debate. The list of criticisms is long: Ever-new pollution scandals (most recently the VW emissions scandal), disregard for the most basic labor and human rights standards (for example in Bangladesh’s textile or the Chinese IT industry), massive bribery allegations (faced for example by Siemens for years), as well as widespread corporate tax avoidance strategies (such as Google, Starbucks and IKEA).

Against this background, the United Nations Human Rights Council’s decision on 26 June 2014 to adopt a resolution, which was initiated by Ecuador and South Africa, to establish an intergovernmental working group “to elaborate an international legally binding instrument to regulate, in international human rights law, the activities of transnational corporations and other business enterprises” deserves to be called historic. For the first time since the dissolution of the United Nations Commission on Transnational Corporations in 1992, an intergovernmental body of the United Nations (UN) was established to address the international regulation of corporations.

Until that point, at least at an international level, politics and businesses had relied mainly on voluntary initiatives. Based on an assessment of the initial experiences with the UN Guiding Principles, however, more and more governments and researchers concluded that they were only limitedly effective and therefore should be complemented by a legally binding international instrument. The UN should replace soft law with hard law. A global alliance of several hundred civil society organizations has been at the forefront of such a demand. This Treaty Alliance recommends the establishment of a binding treaty to regulate the activities of transnational corporations and other business enterprises with respect to human rights (www.treatymovement.com).

The UN Human Rights Council’s decision provoked massive resistance by the United States and its allies. The European Union shared the US position. Their resistance, however, failed. Proposals have so far mainly been put forward by researchers and civil society organizations, differing greatly in terms of thematic scope and degree of detail, but also in terms of the (political) likelihood that they could actually be implemented.

The second session of the intergovernmental working group is scheduled for 24-28 October 2016 in Geneva. The working group aims to present a draft for a legally binding instrument by the third session in 2017. The European Union only participated in the first one and a half days of the first session and held up the start of discussions. Environmental, development and human rights organizations have repeatedly asked the EU to participate constructively in the working group discussions.

In this study, Jens Martens, economist and director of the Global Policy Forum, and Karolin Seitz, programme officer at Global Policy Forum, call on governments not to give in to the pressure of corporate lobbyists, but to challenge their demands. Above all, governments should not only listen to the demands of dominant business associations, but acknowledge that there is a growing number of companies that represents far more advanced positions than these associations.

According to the authors, the Treaty process presents the unique opportunity for governments to prove that it is in their hands to put human rights above the interests of big business. Because profits can be shared—human rights cannot.

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)
DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (German)


Other publications in "Global Power and Resistance"

PREPARING A PUBLIC PATHWAY
Sean Sweeney and John Treat
November 2017

TOWARD GLOBAL REGULATION ON HUMAN RIGHTS AND BUSINESS
Treaty Alliance Germany
September 2017

OF FOXES AND CHICKENS
James A. Paul
August 2017

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/Robert Sullivan

AMERICAN EMPIRE: FROM OBAMA TO TRUMP

One year into Donald Trump’s presidency, we look at the political patterns that have emerged on an international scale and the lessons we can draw from them. What impact has the Trump administration had on the rest of the world and what can we do to counter his politics? Providing a critical analysis of US foreign policy and its global impacts, this conference brings together internationally...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/Robert Sullivan

AMERICAN EMPIRE: FROM OBAMA TO TRUMP

One year into Donald Trump’s presidency, we look at the political patterns that have emerged on an international scale and the lessons we can draw from them. What impact has the Trump administration had on the rest of the world and what can we do to counter his politics? Providing a critical analysis of US foreign policy and its global impacts, this conference brings together internationally known analysts and activists......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES