Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

ABGESCHOBEN, ENTRECHTET UND KRIMINALISIERT
Der Kampf um Migrantenrechte in den Vereinigten Staaten
David Bacon - November 2011

Photo credits: neveleotseog57, flickr

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Projekte"

75 JAHRE VEREINTE NATIONEN

April 2020

AUSTERITÄT UND DIE KRISE DER SOZIALEN REPRODUKTION
Cinzia Arruzza
March, 2020

ALTERNATIVEN ZUR „ENTWICKLUNG“
Rohan D. Mathews mit Susana Barria & Ashim Roy
November 2016

Im Einwanderungsland USA leben, offiziellen Schätzungen zufolge, rund elf Millionen Menschen ohne gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Auch unter Präsident Barack Obama hat sich ihre Lage kaum gebessert. Zwar hat Obama jüngst, im Juni 2012, verfügt, dass jene Einwanderer ein Aufenthaltsrecht erhalten, die bereits als Kinder oder Jugendliche in die USA eingereist sind; gleichzeitig sind allerdings unter seiner Präsidentschaft bereits über eine Million von ihnen – und damit relativ betrachtet fast doppelt so viele wie unter Präsident George W. Bush – in ihre Herkunftsländer abgeschoben worden.

Dabei täuschen repressive Maßnahmen wie Deportationen, Grenzsicherungsmaßnahmen und verschärfte Kontrollen im Grunde über die eigentliche Zielsetzung der US-Einwanderungspolitik hinweg. Denn die Wahrheit ist: Die Einwanderung in die USA soll überhaupt nicht gestoppt werden. Schließlich sind die Arbeitskräfte im Niedriglohnsektor unentbehrlich, und die erhöhte Konkurrenz auf dem Arbeitsmarkt stärkt die Verhandlungsmacht der Unternehmen. In der Politik geht es deshalb nicht darum, den Zuzug zu stoppen, sondern vor allem darum, ihn einseitig am Interesse derer auszurichten, die von der Arbeitskraft der Einwanderinnen und Einwanderer profitieren. Aus diesem Antrieb heraus haben die Vereinigten Staaten in den letzten Jahrzehnten verstärkt auf „Gastarbeiterprogramme“ gesetzt, die den Interessen der Wirtschaft folgen und eine rechtliche Gleichbehandlung für die „Gastarbeiter“ unmöglich machen.

Eine wesentliche Triebkraft dieser Ungleichheit, welche jene zwischen Nordamerika auf der einen und Mittel- und Südamerika auf der anderen Seite spiegelt, ist das Nordamerikanische Freihandelsabkommen NAFTA. Es hat beispielsweise dazu geführt, dass, weil der Anbau von Mais in Mexiko auf Grund niedriger Produktivität schlicht nicht mehr rentabel, mexikanische Maisbauern nun als Landarbeiter auf Maisfeldern in den Vereinigten Staaten arbeiten. Dieses Beispiel zeigt, dass die US-Politik eine doppelte (Mit-)Verantwortung trägt: für die Vertreibung der Bauern vor Ort ebenso wie für die Entrechtlichung der Migranten in den USA.

Neben den „Gastarbeitern“ gibt es in den USA zudem viele Migranten ohne jeglichen Aufenthaltstitel. Ihre Lebenssituation ist noch um ein Vielfaches schwieriger – und wird durch eine Welle verschärfter Gesetze auf bundesstaatlicher Ebene weiter erschwert. Demgegenüber hat sich in den letzten Jahren eine Bewegung formiert, die in den Communities der Migranten selbst verwurzelt ist. Sie kämpft für eine alternative Einwanderungspolitik, die auf arbeits- und vor allem menschenrechtlichen Prinzipien basiert. Ein Höhepunkt der Mobilisierung dieser Bewegung war der „Great American Boycott“ (El Gran Paro Estadounidense), der landesweite Streik „illegaler“ Migranten am 1. Mai 2006.

David Bacon, Journalist und Autor von „Illegal People“ (2008), „Communities without Borders“ (2006) und „The Children of NAFTA“ (2004), kritisiert in seiner Studie die US-Einwanderungspolitik und zeigt, warum nur ein radikaler Umbau des Wirtschaftssystems und insbesondere eine Abschaffung der Freihandelsabkommen die Situation zum Besseren wenden kann. Er fordert eine umfassende Reform der Einwanderungspolitik, die nicht auf stärkere Regulierung der Migration durch Kontrolle und Deportation, sondern stattdessen auf rechtliche Gleichstellung setzt und illegalen Einwanderern endlich einen Aufenthaltsstatus verschafft.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Projekte"

75 JAHRE VEREINTE NATIONEN

April 2020

AUSTERITÄT UND DIE KRISE DER SOZIALEN REPRODUKTION
Cinzia Arruzza
March, 2020

ALTERNATIVEN ZUR „ENTWICKLUNG“
Rohan D. Mathews mit Susana Barria & Ashim Roy
November 2016

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here....
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

DISPLACED, UNEQUAL AND CRIMINALIZED
Fighting for the Rights of Migrants in the United States
David Bacon - November 2011

Photo credits: neveleotseog57, flickr

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)



Other publications in "Projects"

MAPPING SOCIALIST STRATEGIES
RLS–NYC
September 2014

THE GREAT INACTION
Sean Sweeney
September 2014

TO FRACK OR NOT TO FRACK
Sean Sweeney and Lara Skinner
June 2014

In the United States of America, a country founded and shaped by immigration, roughly eleven million people currently live undocumented according to official estimates. Under President Barack Obama, their position has hardly improved. In June 2012, Obama ordered that undocumented immigrants receive a residency permit if they had entered the U.S. during childhood. However, he has also so far deported more than one million immigrants to their countries of origin, almost twice as many as under President George W. Bush during the same period.

Repressive measures like deportations, border security measures, and increased controls fundamentally belie the actual goal of U.S. immigration policies. The truth is: immigration to the U.S. is not meant to be stopped at all. Ultimately, the labor force in the low wage sector is indispensable, and the increased competition in the labor market strengthens the negotiating power of companies. Politicians, therefore, are not looking to stop immigration, but rather to direct it one-sidedly, according to the interests of those that profit from immigrant labor. With this motivation, the United States has in recent decades increasingly relied on “guest worker programs,” which satisfy the interests of the economy and make equal legal treatment for “guest workers” impossible.

A significant driving force behind this inequality, reflected by North America on one side and Central and South America on the other, is the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). It has, for instance, led to a situation in which the cultivation of corn in Mexico is no longer profitable, forcing many Mexican corn growers to work as farmhands on rice fields in the United States. This example shows that U.S. policies bear dual responsibility: for the expulsion of farmers in Mexico and for the denial of rights for migrants in the U.S.

Besides these “guest workers,” there are also numerous migrants in the U.S. without residency permits. Their situation in life is precarious and will be made even more difficult by a new wave of rigorous laws on the state level. At the same time, a movement rooted in migrant communities has emerged in recent years. It fights for alternative immigration policies based on labor and, above all, human rights principles. A high point in the mobilization of this movement was the “Great American Boycott” (El Gran Paro Estadounidense), a country-wide strike by undocumented immigrants on May 1, 2006.

David Bacon, journalist and author of “Illegal People“ (2008), “Communities without Borders” (2006) and “The Children of NAFTA” (2004), criticizes U.S. immigration policy in his study and argues that only a radical rebuilding of the economic system and particularly the revocation of NAFTA can make the situation better. He calls for a comprehensive reform of immigration policies based not on greater regulation through controls and deportation, but rather on legal equality that ultimately strengthens the residency status of undocumented immigrants.

FULL TEXT (English)


Other publications in "Projects"

MAPPING SOCIALIST STRATEGIES
RLS–NYC
September 2014

THE GREAT INACTION
Sean Sweeney
September 2014

TO FRACK OR NOT TO FRACK
Sean Sweeney and Lara Skinner
June 2014

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credit: The Street Pavers, Umberto Boccioni

LABOR SOLIDARITY ACROSS BORDERS

For the second straight year, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office will co-host this Trinational Exchange with the UCLA Downtown Labor Center and the Institute for Transnational Social Change. Last year’s roundtable focused on the state of labor 20 years after NAFTA. You can...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credit: The Street Pavers, Umberto Boccioni

LABOR SOLIDARITY ACROSS BORDERS

For the second straight year, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office will co-host this Trinational Exchange with the UCLA Downtown Labor Center and the Institute for Transnational Social Change. Last year’s roundtable focused on the state of labor 20 years after NAFTA. You can download the report by journalist David Bacon in English and Spanish. This year’s gathering brings together representatives from progressive unions and labor groups in key sectors......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE
THE FUTURE OF LABOR
SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION
POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES
GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES