Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

GRIECHISCHE ENERGIEDEMOKRATIE
Syrizas Programm und der Umstieg auf erneuerbare Energie
Sean Sweeney - Januar 2015

Von Sean Sweeney. Der 25. Januar 2015 war ein historischer Tag: Das griechische Volk hat sich für einen Bruch mit der Austeritätspolitik entschieden. SYRIZA, die „Koalition der radialen Linken“, wurde zur stärksten Partei im Parlament gewählt, Alexis Tsipras wird neuer Premierminister. Dieser linke Wahlsieg in Griechenland sollte von Europa und der Welt nicht unterschätzt werden.

Aber jetzt beginnt die harte, schwierige Arbeit der Regierungsführung. In der Regierung sieht sich SYRIZA mit enormen ökonomischen, sozialen und ökologischen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Zudem verfehlte die Partei knapp die absolute Mehrheit (149 von 300 Sitzen) und wird eine Koalition mit der rechten Anti-Austeritätspartei „Unabhängige Griechen“ (ANEL) bilden.

Welche praktischen Programme kann die neue Regierung jetzt umsetzen, die dem Engagement der Partei für eine „ökologischen Transformation der Wirtschaft“ entspricht? In diesem Arbeitspapier für Trade Unions for Energy Democracy regt Sean Sweeney eine mutige Demokratisierung des Energiesektors an, die im Einklang mit dem Programm von SYRIZA steht. Er analysiert die neoliberale Energie- und Klimapolitik der Gegenwart und skizziert einen Weg, wie die Griechinnen und Griechen ihr Energiesystem in Besitz nehmen und einen Übergang zu einer auf erneuerbaren Energien beruhenden Wirtschaft einleiten können, die die Bedürfnisse der Menschen und der Umwelt über die Profite der Konzerne stellt.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)

NEWS / EVENTS

Reinhold Möller

STECKT DIE ENERGIEWENDE IN SCHWIERIGKEITEN?

Dieses neue TUED-Arbeitspapier beschäftigt sich mit der Krise der europäischen Energieversorgung in Gemeinden, Nachbarschaften und Genossenschaften. Hier haben Initiativen für kommunale Energie die größten Fortschritte gemacht, doch stehen sie nun einer unsicheren Zukunft gegenüber. Die Autor*innen und Organisator*innen von TUED, Sean Sweeney, John Treat und Irene HongPing Shen,...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Reinhold Möller

STECKT DIE ENERGIEWENDE IN SCHWIERIGKEITEN?

Dieses neue TUED-Arbeitspapier beschäftigt sich mit der Krise der europäischen Energieversorgung in Gemeinden, Nachbarschaften und Genossenschaften. Hier haben Initiativen für kommunale Energie die größten Fortschritte gemacht, doch stehen sie nun einer unsicheren Zukunft gegenüber. Die Autor*innen und Organisator*innen von TUED, Sean Sweeney, John Treat und Irene HongPing Shen, erklären, wie dies passieren konnte und warum. TUED (Trade Unions for Energy Democracy) ist eine Initiative mit mehreren Partnern, die vom in......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

ENERGY DEMOCRACY IN GREECE
SYRIZA’s Program and the Transition to Renewable Power
Sean Sweeney - January 2015

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Political Analysis and Alternatives"

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR
Tobita Chow and Jake Werner
January 2020

CLIMATE JUSTICE FROM BELOW
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
December 2019

THE BATTLE FOR ANOTHER WORLD
John Feffer
December 2019

By Sean Sweeney. January 25, 2015 was a historic day: the people of Greece chose to break with austerity policies. They elected SYRIZA—the Coalition of the Radical Left—as the largest party in parliament, Alexis Tsipras will become prime minister. The importance of this victory for the left in Greece, Europe, and indeed the world should not be underestimated.

But now the hard work of actually governing begins. SYRIZA is entering government facing enormous economic, social, and environmental challenges. In addition, the party fell just short of the absolute majority (149 out of 300 seats) and will form a coalition government with the anti-austerity right-wing Independent Greeks (ANEL).

What practical programs can the new government implement now that will advance the party’s commitment to the “ecological transformation of the economy?” In this Trade Unions for Energy Democracy working paper, Sean Sweeney proposes a bold energy democracy agenda that is consistent with SYRIZA’s commitments. This paper analyzes the present neoliberal approach to energy policy and climate change in Greece and the European Union and proposes a clear path by which the Greek people can take control of their energy system and transition to a renewables-based energy economy that puts the needs of people and the environment ahead of corporate profits.

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Political Analysis and Alternatives"

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR
Tobita Chow and Jake Werner
January 2020

CLIMATE JUSTICE FROM BELOW
Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC)
December 2019

THE BATTLE FOR ANOTHER WORLD
John Feffer
December 2019

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

As the US-China Trade War has accelerated, the left has lacked consensus on how to analyze and perceive this critical issue. In this timely publication, Tobita Chow and Jake Werner provide essential context and background for the trade war, showcase the effects of trade war in both countries, and offer a progressive internationalist alternative for the left to promote a solidaristic answer to the...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

As the US-China Trade War has accelerated, the left has lacked consensus on how to analyze and perceive this critical issue. In this timely publication, Tobita Chow and Jake Werner provide essential context and background for the trade war, showcase the effects of trade war in both countries, and offer a progressive internationalist alternative for the left to promote a solidaristic answer to the rising tensions in the US,......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES