Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


EIN LÄNDER ÜBERGREIFENDER AUSTAUSCH VON GEWERKSCHAFTERN
30. November-2. Dezember 2016 - USW-Canada Union Hall - Toronto

UCLA Labor Center, Institut für transnationalen sozialen Wandel und das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung veranstalten auch in diesem Jahr einen trinationalen Austausch von Gewerkschaftern und Organizern. Erstmalig werden wir in Toronto tagen, und zum ersten Mal sind die kanadischen Stahlarbeiter, über deren Beteiligung wir uns außerordentlich freuen, auch Mitveranstalter.

Der Fokus des letztjährigen Treffens war die Unterstützung der Solidarität zwischen Gewerkschaften und Arbeitern in den Vereinigten Staaten, Mexiko und Kanada. Fotos dieser Veranstaltung können hier angesehen werden. Einige Initiativen sind durch dieses Treffen entweder neu entstanden oder neu beflügelt worden. Festgehalten wurden die Ergebnisse des Austauschs im Bericht von David Bacon „Building Worker-to-Worker Solidarity.”

Mehrere dieser Kampagnen laufen weiter, und auf unserem Treffen im Dezember wird die Frage, wie wir sie unterstützen und auf sie aufbauen können, im Mittelpunkt der Diskussion stehen. Darüber hinaus geht es um die Arbeitsbedingungen von Arbeitern in den sogenannten maquiladoras entlang der mexikanischen Grenze. Unser Ziel ist es, Bergleute und Umweltorganisationen zusammenzubringen, um auf das Austreten giftiger Öle im Norden Mexikos aufmerksam zu machen und gemeinsam dagegen aktiv zu werden. Gleichzeitig möchten wir auch die „Gastarbeiter“ in Kanada unterstützen.

Die drei Hauptziele unseres Meetings sind erstens die Stärkung der transnationalen Zusammenarbeit und die Vernetzung länderübergreifender Arbeitsrechtskampagnen; zweitens die Diskussionen über internationale Organizing-Strategien und den Erfahrungsaustausch voranzutreiben; und drittens die öffentliche Wahrnehmung für die Frage der Arbeitnehmerrechte in ganz Nordamerika zu sensibilisieren.

Dieses Treffen ist keine öffentliche Veranstaltung, aber sollten Sie an einer Teilnahme interessiert sein, können Sie via Ethan Earle (earle@rosalux-nyc.org) anfragen.

NEWS / EVENTS

Isac Nóbrega/PR (Palácio do Planalto)

(English) STORIES ABOUT THE RISE OF THE FAR RIGHT | WEBINAR

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Isac Nóbrega/PR (Palácio do Planalto)

(English) STORIES ABOUT THE RISE OF THE FAR RIGHT | WEBINAR

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


A LABOR ACTIVISTS’ CROSS-BORDER EXCHANGE
November 30 - December 2, 2016 - USW-Canada Union Hall - Toronto

Once more, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office will co-host a Tri-national Labor Gathering with the UCLA Downtown Labor Center and the Institute for Transnational Social Change. This year, for the first time, we will hold the gathering in Toronto, and we are excited to announce the Canadian Steelworkers as our host and co-sponsor.

Last year’s gathering focused on building labor solidarity among trade unions and worker centers across the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Photos from that event can be viewed here. Several initiatives either emerged from or were propelled forward by this meeting, chronicled by David Bacon in his rapporteur’s document “Building Worker-to-Worker Solidarity.”

Several of these campaigns are ongoing, and this year’s discussion will largely focus on how to support and build on them. Particular points of focus will include: supporting farmworkers in fights against transnational corporations in Washington State and Baja, Mexico; struggling alongside maquiladora workers along the US-Mexico border; bringing together miners and environmentalists against toxic oil spills in northern Mexico; and raising the voices of migrant workers across Canada.

Our three principle objectives for this gathering are the following: 1. Foster transnational collaborations and learning among current cross-border worker rights campaigns; 2. Promote discussion about international organizing strategies and lessons from lead organizers; 3. Increase public awareness about worker rights in communities across North America.

While the event is not open to the general public, please inquire with Ethan Earle (earle@rosalux-nyc.org) if you are interested in attending, as limited seating is available.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

INTRODUCING THE JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

The Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) is a joint project of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD), and the University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). In this first iteration of our collaboration, we are excited to present the Just Transition(s) Online Forum. This Forum seeks to bring together different stories and perspectives on the issue of Just Transition to low-carbon......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES