Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

RISSE IM BETON
Linke Wahlerfolge in den Vereinigten Staaten
Ethan Young - November 2015

Photo Credit: thomas, Flickr

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)


Weitere Texte in "Politische Analysen und Alternativen"

(English) POLITICS AGAINST TRUMPISM
John Nichols
Dezember 2018

HOW BOLSONARO CAME TO PASS
Esther Solano Gallego
November 2018

ACHTZIG JAHRE NOVEMBERPOGROME
Michael Brie
November 2018

Von Ethan Young. Es ist eine seltsame Zeit für die US-amerikanische Linke. Auf den ersten Blick scheinen ihre Gegner äußerst schwach zu sein – zumindest, wenn man sich das Wetteifern um die republikanische Präsidentschaftskandidatur ansieht, bei dem sich eine Reihe von Clowns an Lächerlichkeit – und an Angstmacherei – zu übertreffen sucht. Durch die selbstreferenzielle Dynamik dieses Diskurses entfernen sich die Republikaner dabei immer weiter von der Mehrheitsmeinung und drohen nur noch die Interessen eines schrumpfenden, wohlhabenden weißen Bevölkerungsanteils zu vertreten.

Dennoch hat ebenjene Partei nicht nur 31 von 50 Gouverneursämtern inne, sondern auch die Mehrheit in beiden Häusern des US-Kongresses. Dank ihrer aggressiven und institutionell erfolgreichen Bemühungen, den Zuschnitt der Wahlbezirke zu ihren Gunsten zu verändern und Wählerrechte einzuschränken, werden die Republikaner das Repräsentantenhaus auf absehbare Zeit dominieren. Und dank der Citizens-United-Entscheidung des Verfassungsgerichts und der zunehmenden Dominanz privater Multi-Millionenspenden für Wahlkämpfe – das bekannteste Beispiel hierfür bieten die Koch-Brüder – besteht die reale Chance, dass im Herbst 2016 ein Republikaner ins Weiße Haus gewählt wird.

Auf Seiten der US-Linken sind die Widersprüche nicht weniger ausgeprägt. Die Demokratische Partei hat in fünf der letzten sechs Präsidentschaftswahlen die Stimmenmehrheit gewonnen und ist doch unfähig oder nicht bereit, eine Alternative zur aktuellen neoliberalen Austeritätspolitik zu schaffen. Zweifellos sind die Demokraten in einigen Politikfeldern, etwa in der Sozialpolitik, besser als ihre Gegner. In anderen Bereichen hingegen, beispielsweise mit Blick auf die Außenpolitik oder die finanzielle Abhängigkeit von Großunternehmen, sind sie lediglich das geringere Übel. Insgesamt ist die Partei in der allgemeinen Krise der Politik in Washington gefangen.

Außerhalb des demokratischen Apparats gibt es indes einigen Grund für Optimismus. Occupy Wall Street und Black Lives Matter sind zwei der wichtigsten und potenziell einflussreichsten sozialen Bewegungen unserer Generation. Gleichzeitig hat die Präsidentschaftskampagne des selbst ernannten demokratischen Sozialisten Bernie Sanders die soziale Ungleichheit ins Blickfeld der Öffentlichkeit gerückt und auf diese Weise bei vielen Menschen großen Enthusiasmus erzeugt.

Weniger im Fokus der Öffentlichkeit, aber keineswegs weniger bedeutsam, steht die Serie linker Wahlerfolge, die das Establishment der Demokratischen Partei ins Wanken bringen könnten. Die vorliegende Studie von Ethan Young, einem Aktivisten und Autor aus Brooklyn, analysiert die aktuellen Chancen und Herausforderungen für linke Politik auf der lokalen Ebene: die Wahl einer sozialistischen Stadträtin in Seattle und linker schwarz-nationalistischer Bürgermeister in Jackson (Mississippi) und Newark (New Jersey); fortschrittliche Bürgermeisterkampagnen in Chicago und New York; sowie verschiedene Wahlkoalitionen und politische Initiativen von der West- bis zur Ostküste. Sie alle konfrontieren die Politik des „business as usual“ mit neuen Herausforderungen. Welche Erfolgschancen haben sie? Beim Lesen der Studie finden Sie es heraus.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)
DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Deutsch)


Weitere Texte in "Politische Analysen und Alternativen"

(English) POLITICS AGAINST TRUMPISM
John Nichols
Dezember 2018

HOW BOLSONARO CAME TO PASS
Esther Solano Gallego
November 2018

ACHTZIG JAHRE NOVEMBERPOGROME
Michael Brie
November 2018

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: Matthias Lambrecht/Flickr

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: Matthias Lambrecht/Flickr

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

GROWING FROM THE CONCRETE
Left Electoral Politics in the United States
Ethan Young - November 2015

Photo Credit: thomas, Flickr

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (German)


Other publications in "Political Analysis and Alternatives"

THE STRUGGLE FOR A UN TREATY
Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz
August 2016

THE ISLAND IS AN ISLAND AGAIN
Johanna Bussemer
June 2016

WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE?
Ethan Young
June 2016

By Ethan Young. It’s a strange time for the U.S. Left. At first glance its opposition would appear to be in shambles, at least to judge from the recent Republican primary campaign, where a procession of clowns trip over one another to espouse the most radically ridiculous—and scary—position. The self-referential dynamic of campaign discourse has led the Republican Party to veer further from mainstream opinion on a host of issues and continually threatens to marginalize it to a shrinking demographic of rich and rural white people.

However, this same clown-car party holds 31 of 50 governorships and both houses of the U.S. Congress. Thanks to its aggressive efforts to gerrymander districts and restrict voter rights, the Republican Party stands to dominate the House of Representatives for the foreseeable future. Thanks to the Supreme Court’s Citizens United decision and the growing dominance of big money in elections (best exemplified by the Koch Brothers), the Right remains within a fractional swing of getting one of its out-of-step clowns elected to the White House.

Back on the Left, the apparent contradictions are no less acute. The Democratic Party has won the popular vote in five of the past six presidential elections but finds itself unable or unwilling to establish a programmatic alternative to ongoing neoliberal austerity. The Democrats are still better than their opposition in some areas—particularly surrounding social policy and the defense of certain redistributive programs—but in others (foreign policy, dependence on corporate funding) they are merely a little less bad. More broadly, the party finds itself enthrall to the dysfunction and malaise that grips Washington politics.

Outside of the Democratic machine, however, there is some reason for optimism. In Occupy Wall Street and now Black Lives Matter we see two of the most system-jarring and potentially influential social movement expressions in a generation. Simultaneously, the ongoing presidential campaign of independent and self-described democratic socialist Senator Bernie Sanders has placed economic inequality on the mainstream agenda and generated huge amounts of enthusiasm in doing so.

Less high profile but no less important, we are witnessing a series of left electoral campaigns that together may represent an incipient challenge to the Democratic establishment. This study by Brooklyn-based writer Ethan Young analyzes these challenges and explains how they fit into the broader context of the current, strange political landscape. A socialist in Seattle; Black nationalists in Jackson and Newark; insurgent mayoral campaigns in the hearts of American empire, Chicago and New York; various stripes of electoral coalitions and policy initiatives from West to East Coast—and in between—which in different ways seek to challenge politics as usual. What chance do they have? You’ll have to read to find out.

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)
DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (German)


Other publications in "Political Analysis and Alternatives"

THE STRUGGLE FOR A UN TREATY
Jens Martens and Karolin Seitz
August 2016

THE ISLAND IS AN ISLAND AGAIN
Johanna Bussemer
June 2016

WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE?
Ethan Young
June 2016

NEWS / EVENTS

RLS–NYC IS HIRING A PROJECT MANAGER UNITED NATIONS

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, Inc. is the U.S. affiliate of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, an internationally operating, progressive non-profit institution for civic education funded by the German federal government. The Foundation’s New York Office opened in fall 2012. It serves two major tasks: to work on issues concerning the United Nations, including collaboration with people and political...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

RLS–NYC IS HIRING A PROJECT MANAGER UNITED NATIONS

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, Inc. is the U.S. affiliate of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, an internationally operating, progressive non-profit institution for civic education funded by the German federal government. The Foundation’s New York Office opened in fall 2012. It serves two major tasks: to work on issues concerning the United Nations, including collaboration with people and political representatives from the Global South, and to work with U.S. and Canadian......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES