Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


INDIGENE FRAUEN BEI DEN VEREINTEN NATIONEN
20.-27. April 2019 - New York City

Zum siebten Jahr in Folge begrüßt das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung gemeinsam mit der internationalen Frauenrechtsorganisation MADRE eine Delegation indigener Frauen aus verschiedenen Weltregionen. Die Delegierten werden an der 18. Sitzung des Ständigen Forums der Vereinten Nationen für indigene Angelegenheiten (UNPFII) in New York City teilnehmen, um die Anliegen von indigenen Frauen und Mädchen auf einer internationalen Bühne vorzustellen.

Das Ständige Forum für indigene Angelegenheiten ist ein beratendes Gremium innerhalb der Vereinten Nationen, das Empfehlungen an den UN-Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat (Economic and Social Council/ECOSOC) richtet. Da sowohl RLS–NYC als auch MADRE einen Beraterstatus im und somit Zugang zum Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat haben, wird unsere Delegation an allen offiziellen Treffen und Veranstaltungen teilnehmen.

Die Delegierten, die regional sowie international für ihre Rolle als Vertreterinnen der Rechte indigener Frauen anerkannt sind, werden sich im Ständigen Forum der Vereinten Nationen und weiteren UN-Institutionen für indigene Fragen einbringen. Diese sind zum Beispiel der „Expertenmechanismus zu den Rechten indigener Völker“ und die „Sonderberichterstatterin über die Lage der Menschenrechte indigener Völker“. Ziel ist es, beim Austausch mit anderen indigenen Aktivistinnen Strategien zu entwickeln, die auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene, aber auch in den Communities und sozialen Bewegungen einen Wandel herbeiführen können. Insbesondere Geschlechterfragen sollen hierbei im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Wir organisieren außerdem eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen im Rahmen des UNPFII, einschließlich eines offiziellen Side Events:

Community-basierte Strategien: Indigene Frauen und Klimaschutz

Mittwoch, 24. April, 2:00 bis 3:30 Uhr
Raum: Amartya Sen, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
304 E 45th St, 10th Floor , New York, NY 10017

Anmeldungen hier.

Weltweit organisieren sich indigene Völker im Kampf um ihr Land, ihr Rechte, ihre Kultur und ihr traditionelles Wissen. Rohstoffindustrien, steigende Meeresspiegel, Extremwetter, wirtschaftliche und ökologische Vertreibung und Umweltverschmutzung wirken sich unverhältnismäßig stark auf indigene Frauen aus. Um dieses Klimachaos und seine Auswirkungen zu überstehen, organisieren sich indigene Frauen, um ihre Familien und Communities zu beschützen.

In diesem Zusammenhang sind indigene Wissenssysteme, die sich im Laufe der Generationen stets verändern besonders wichtig für die Communities sowie für ihre Umwelt. Da Vertreibungen und die stetige Verwestlichung weiterhin die Existenzgrundlage aller indigenen Menschen weltweit bedrohen, ist gerade der intergenerationale Austausch überlebenswichtig.

Inspiriert von diesem Austausch und von der generationenübergreifenden Wissensproduktion wird die Podiumsdiskussion community-basierte Ansätze vorstellen, die sich mit den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auseinandersetzen und die Widerstandsfähigkeit in den indigenen Gruppen stärken. Gleichzeitig soll ein Ort der Interaktion für verschiedene feministische Generationen geschaffen werden. Diese Art von Austausch wird den Weg für community-basierte Ansätze und internationale Solidarität zwischen den indigenen Frauen im Kampf für Klimagerechtigkeit ebnen.

** Mit Simultanübersetzung Englisch – Spanisch.

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen zu den Delegierten und ihrer Arbeit.

 

NEWS / EVENTS

WIDERSTAND ORGANISIEREN

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

WIDERSTAND ORGANISIEREN

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


INDIGENOUS WOMEN LEADERS AT THE UN
April 20-27, 2019 - New York City

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, along with the international women’s rights organization MADRE,  are preparing again to welcome a delegation of Indigenous Women Leaders to participate in the 18th session of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) at the UN Headquarters in New York.

For 7th year in a row, our delegation will be coming from around the world to New York to uplift and amplify the voices of Indigenous women and girls at an international arena where policies are set.

The Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues is an advisory body within the UN that holds the mandate to deal with Indigenous issues related to economic and social development, culture, the environment, education, health, and human rights. Since RLS–NYC and MADRE both hold consultative status with the UN Economic and Social Council, our delegation is able to take part in all official meetings and events.

The delegates, recognized locally and internationally for their role in advocating for Indigenous and women’s rights, will engage with the Permanent Forum and other UN bodies with the mandate to deal specifically with Indigenous Peoples’ issues, such as the Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and the Special Rapporteur Rights of Indigenous Peoples. The group’s purpose is also to exchange and network with other Indigenous Peoples activists to develop and strengthen a joint gender agenda to influence policies and programs at the national and international level, as well as within their own communities and movements.

Additionally, we are organizing a number of events for the delegation, including  an official side event.

Community-Driven Strategies: Indigenous Women and Climate Action | UNPFII SIDE EVENT

Wednesday, April 24
2:00 PM to 3:30 PM
Room Amartya Sen, UNDP Building
304 E 45th St, 10th Floor , New York, NY 10017

RSVP here.

Across the world, Indigenous Peoples are rising to protect their lands, rights, culture, and traditional knowledge. Extractive industries, surging sea levels, extreme weather, economic and environmental displacement, and worsening pollution disproportionality impact Indigenous women. To withstand this climate chaos and the multiplying effects, Indigenous women are at the center organizing to defend their families and their communities.

In this context, Indigenous knowledge systems—shared with and transformed by each generation—have been critical for both communities and environment. But as displacement and Westernization continue undermining the existence and livelihoods of Indigenous Peoples worldwide, ensuring intergenerational exchanges becomes crucial.

Inspired by the idea of multi-generational exchange and knowledge production, this panel will uplift community-driven solutions to address the impact of climate challenges and strengthen resilience in their communities while fostering a space of interaction between different feminist generations. This effort of collective thinking will pave the way forward for community-driven solutions and international solidarity amongst Indigenous women in the fight for climate justice.

** With simultaneous English – Spanish translation.

If you want to learn more about the delegates and their work, click here.

NEWS / EVENTS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE

Talking About Democratic Socialism 30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Fall 1989 was a moment of radical transformation for the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Already many GDR citizens had migrated to West Germany to escape state repression. On November 4, almost half a million other GDR citizens gathered at Alexanderplatz in Berlin for a peaceful protest,...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE

Talking About Democratic Socialism 30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Fall 1989 was a moment of radical transformation for the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Already many GDR citizens had migrated to West Germany to escape state repression. On November 4, almost half a million other GDR citizens gathered at Alexanderplatz in Berlin for a peaceful protest, calling for the democratization of the socialistic state. Organized by......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES