Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


WACHSENDE NUKLEARE RISIKEN IN EINER WELT IM WANDEL
4. Mai 2019 - New York City

Matthias Lambrecht (Flickr/CC BY-NC 2.0)

New Thinking & Movement Building | Internationale Konferenz

RSVP hier

Die Übergangszeit zwischen der alten und neuen Weltordnung ist gekennzeichnet von immer bedrohlicher werdenden militärischen, ökonomischen und technologischen Konfrontationen zwischen den atomar bewaffneten Staaten. Die neue Priorität in der nationalen Strategie der USA ist es, Pläne für potentielle Kriege gegen Russland und China zu entwickeln. Der wachsende Einfluss Chinas erstreckt sich heute vom asiatischen Teil des Pazifiks bis hin nach Eurasien. Zugleich beweist sich Russland erneut als Supermacht. Die Formierung einer einheitlichen und unabhängigen europäischen Armee ist in Planung, Kriege und Wettbewerbe um die regionale Hegemonie verstetigen sich in großen Teilen des Mittleren Osten und eine indopazifische nukleare Aufrüstung steht bevor. Vergangene Friedensproteste waren immer dann erfolgreich, wenn sie Teil größerer Bewegungen waren, die sich gegen die Ursachen von Krieg und Militarismus gestellt haben. Diese Ursachen bedingen auch eine Vielzahl an anderen Ungerechtigkeiten und Gefahren wie eine wachsende Einkommensungleichheit, die Einschränkung der Demokratie, einen fremdenfeindlichen Nationalismus und die Zerstörung unseres Ökosystems.

Die internationale Konferenz „New Thinking & Movement Building“ bringt ein breites Spektrum an Analytiker*innen, Organisator*innen und Aktivist*innen aus Russland, Europa, Japan, Südkorea, dem Mittleren Osten und dem globalen Süden zusammen. Ziel der Konferenz ist es eine Diskussion darüber anzuregen, wie die heutigen Probleme miteinander in Verbindung stehen und wie eine effektivere Zusammenarbeit für eine gerechte, friedliche und nachhaltigere Welt aussehen kann.

Vortragende:
Daniel Ellsberg – Präsident a.D., US-Atomwaffen- und Militär-Stratege (Videokonferenz)
Boris Kargarlitsky – Institute for Globalization Studies and Social Movements (Russland)
Sharon Dolev – Israeli Disarmament Movement (Israel)
Lee Tae-ho – People’s Solidarity for Participatory Democracy (Südkorea)
Reiner Braun – International Peace Bureau (Deutschland)
Karlene Griffiths Sekou – Movement for Black Lives
Andrew Lichterman – Western States Legal Foundation
Arielle Denis – International Peace Bureau (Frankreich)
Achin Vanaik – Coalition for Nuclear Disarmament and Peace (Indien)
Yayoi Tsuchida – The Japan Council Against Atomic and Hydrogen Bombs (Japan)
Reece Chenault – U.S. Labor Against the War
Oleg Bodrov – Coalition Clean Baltic (Russland)
Joseph Gerson – Campaign for Peace Disarmament and Common Security, AFSC

Wachsende nukleare Gefahren in einer Welt im Wandel:
New Thinking & Movement Building | Internationale Konferenz

Samstag, 4. Mai 2019
8:30 – 17:30 Uhr
Judson Memorial Church
55 Washington St, New York, New York 10006

Anmeldungen hier.

Download des Programms hier.

NEWS / EVENTS

INDIGENE FRAUEN BEI DEN VEREINTEN NATIONEN

Zum siebten Jahr in Folge begrüßt das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung gemeinsam mit der internationalen Frauenrechtsorganisation MADRE eine Delegation indigener Frauen aus verschiedenen Weltregionen. Die Delegierten werden an der 18. Sitzung des Ständigen Forums der Vereinten Nationen für indigene Angelegenheiten (UNPFII) in New York City teilnehmen, um die Anliegen von...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

INDIGENE FRAUEN BEI DEN VEREINTEN NATIONEN

Zum siebten Jahr in Folge begrüßt das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung gemeinsam mit der internationalen Frauenrechtsorganisation MADRE eine Delegation indigener Frauen aus verschiedenen Weltregionen. Die Delegierten werden an der 18. Sitzung des Ständigen Forums der Vereinten Nationen für indigene Angelegenheiten (UNPFII) in New York City teilnehmen, um die Anliegen von indigenen Frauen und Mädchen auf einer internationalen Bühne vorzustellen. Das Ständige Forum für indigene Angelegenheiten ist ein beratendes......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


GROWING NUCLEAR RISKS IN A CHANGING WORLD
May 4, 2019 - New York City

Matthias Lambrecht (Flickr/CC BY-NC 2.0)

New Thinking & Movement Building International Conference. RSVP here

The interregnum between the old and new world disorders is marked by increasingly dangerous military, economic, and high-tech confrontations among nuclear-armed countries. The U.S. National Strategy makes planning for possible wars against Russia and China the Pentagon’s new priority. China’s influence is growing across the Asia-Pacific and Eurasia. Russia is again asserting itself as a great power. Creation of a unified and independent European Union military has begun. Wars and competition for regional hegemony continue across the greater Middle East. And we face an “Indo-Pacific” strategic competition. When peace movements have had success in the past, they have been part of broader movements addressing the deeper forces driving militarism and war. Those same forces generate a variety of other injustices and dangers, including growing disparities in wealth, disappearing democracy, xenophobic nationalisms, and destruction of the ecosystems we all depend on.

This New Thinking and Movement Building conference brings together an extraordinary array of analysts, organizers, and activists from Russia, Europe, Japan, Korea, the Middle East, and the Global South to consider how these issues are connected today, and how we might work more effectively together for a more fair, peaceful, and ecologically sustainable way of life.

SPEAKERS INCLUDE:
Daniel Ellsberg – Former Senior U.S. Nuclear War & Military Planner (via video)
Boris Kargarlitsky – Institute for Globalization Studies and Social Movements (Russia)
Sharon Dolev – Israeli Disarmament Movement (Israel)
Lee Tae-ho – People’s Solidarity for Participatory Democracy (Republic of Korea)
Reiner Braun – International Peace Bureau (Germany)
Karlene Griffiths Sekou – Movement for Black Lives
Andrew Lichterman – Western States Legal Foundation
Arielle Denis – International Peace Bureau (France)
Achin Vanaik – Coalition for Nuclear Disarmament and Peace (India)
Yayoi Tsuchida – The Japan Council Against Atomic and Hydrogen Bombs (Japan)
Reece Chenault – U.S. Labor Against the War
Oleg Bodrov – Coalition Clean Baltic (Russia)
Joseph Gerson – Campaign for Peace Disarmament and Common Security, AFSC

Growing Nuclear Risks in a Changing World:
New Thinking & Movement Building
International Conference

Saturday, May 4, 2019
8:30am – 5:30pm
Judson Memorial Church
55 Washington St, New York, New York 10006

Download the program here.

NEWS / EVENTS

INDIGENOUS WOMEN LEADERS AT THE UN

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, along with the international women’s rights organization MADRE,  are preparing again to welcome a delegation of Indigenous Women Leaders to participate in the 18th session of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) at the UN Headquarters in New York. For 7th year in a row, our delegation will be...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

INDIGENOUS WOMEN LEADERS AT THE UN

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, along with the international women’s rights organization MADRE,  are preparing again to welcome a delegation of Indigenous Women Leaders to participate in the 18th session of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) at the UN Headquarters in New York. For 7th year in a row, our delegation will be coming from around the world to New York to uplift and amplify the voices......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES