Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


MODERN MONETARY THEORY-KONFERENZ
28. bis 30. September 2018 - The New School, New York City

Photo: 401kcalculator.org (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung freut sich, die zweite International Modern Monetary Theory Conference, die vom 28.-30. September 2018 an der New School for Social Research in New York City stattfinden wird, mit zu organisieren.

Modern Monetary Theory (MMT) ist ein revolutionärer Ansatz, bei dem es darum geht, die traditionelle Wirtschaftstheorie umzudrehen. Anstatt von Austerität oder fehlenden Geldern für Sozialprogramme zu sprechen, zeigt MMT auf, dass Regierungen Gelder bereits ausgegeben haben bevor sie überhaupt erst Steuern eintreiben konnten. Dies wirft die Frage auf, „wie“ wir eigentlich „für Dinge bezahlen“. Wenn wir bei der Beantwortung dieser Frage jedoch den Aspekt des Geldes außen vor lassen, so wird schnell klar, dass es an zentraler Stelle um den politischen Willen von Regierungsbeamten geht. Politischer Wille eröffnet Möglichkeiten. Entsprechend beinhaltet MMT radikale Vorschläge, wie etwa für Arbeitsplatzgarantie, allgemeine Gesundheitsfürsorge und freie Bildung.

Auf der Konferenz werden führende Vertreter der MMT sprechen, so etwa Stefanie Kelton (ehemalige Wirtschaftsberaterin für Senator Bernie Sanders), Raúl Carrillo (New Economy Coalition) und Kate Aronoff (Journalistin).

Diese Veranstaltung ist öffentlich zugänglich. Um eine kleine Spende wird gebeten, ist aber für den Einlass nicht zwingend.

NEWS / EVENTS

WIDERSTAND ORGANISIEREN

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

WIDERSTAND ORGANISIEREN

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


MODERN MONETARY THEORY CONFERENCE
September 28-30, 2018 - The New School, New York City

Photo: 401kcalculator.org (CC BY-SA 2.0)

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office is proud to cosponsor the Second International Conference of  Modern Monetary Theory “Public Money, Public Purpose, Public Power” taking place at the New School for Social Research from September 28-30, 2018, in New York City.

Modern Monetary Theory (MMT) is a revolutionary movement looking to turn economics on its head. Moving past the language of austerity or the assumption that there is not enough money to pay for social programs that benefit the many, MMT starts with the idea that governments spend before they collect taxes and this simple fact opens up the conversation on “how” we “pay for things.” When money is not a non-factor in making this decision, the issue becomes the idea of political will of government officials. For this reason, MMT has opened a space for ideas like a Federal Jobs Guarantee, universal healthcare, and free college education.

The conference will feature a number of leaders of MMT, including Stefanie Kelton (former economic policy advisor to Senator Bernie Sanders), Raúl Carrillo (New Economy Coalition), and Kate Aronoff (journalist).

This event is open to the public. A small donation is requested, but no one is turned away for inability to pay.

Register here: www.mmtconference.org

NEWS / EVENTS

Overcoming Fear, Taking Back Power: Trinational Workers Toolkit

After a nine month process that began with the Overcoming Fear: Creating a Trinational Workers Toolkit gathering at UE...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Overcoming Fear, Taking Back Power: Trinational Workers Toolkit

After a nine month process that began with the Overcoming Fear: Creating a Trinational Workers Toolkit gathering at UE 506 in Erie, Pennsylvania on November 14 and 15, 2019, Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung, along with all of our partners who dedicated time and resources to this project, are proud to release our completed Trinational Workers Toolkit. This toolkit is geared toward fostering greater international solidarity to overcome reactionary and right......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES