Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


NORDAMERIKA-FORUM DER SOZIALÖKONOMIE UND SOLIDARWIRTSCHAFT
7. – 10. April 2016 - Detroit, Michigan

Photo Credit: Joi Ito, Flickr

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung beteiligt sich am Forum für das Internationale Netzwerk zur Förderung von Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft (International Network for the Promotion of Social Solidarity Economy), das vom 7. bis 10. April in Detroit, Michigan, stattfinden wird.

In den vergangenen Jahren haben Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft innerhalb der internationalen Linken wieder an Bedeutung gewonnen. Das breite Feld der Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft umfasst Arbeitnehmer, Konsumenten und produzierende Kooperativen ebenso wie Landestreuhandstellen, gemeinschaftliche Landwirtschaft und Gemeinschaftshöfe, Kreditgenossenschaften und gemeinschaftliche Finanzinstitutionen im Entwicklungsbereich sowie eine Reihe weiterer Organisationen, die versuchen, unsere wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse zu demokratisieren. Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft gestalten die Grundlage einer Welt, in der wir leben wollen. Sie sind daher zugleich visionär, uralt und zutiefst pragmatisch – geschaffen, um die materiellen Bedingungen zu verbessern, die uns derzeit beschränken.

Das Forum bringt eine Reihe von Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus Nordamerika zusammen, um Kernthemen der Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft zu diskutieren und Ansatzpunkte politischer Zusammenarbeit zu identifizieren. Wichtige Fragen sind dabei, wie wir in diesem Feld eine Bewegung formen, die Solidarökonomie dekolonisieren und die Bekanntheit und Unterstützung wichtiger Projekte ausweiten können. Am 7. April werden wir darüber hinaus an einer Führung teilnehmen, in der vielversprechende Initiativen vorgestellt werden, die während Detroits Wirtschaftskrise enrstanden sind.

Wir werden innerhalb des Forums zwei Workshops ausrichten; mehr dazu unten. Für weitere Informationen zum Forum, zu Registrierung und logistischen Details, sei hier auf die Webseite des North American Social Solidarity Economy Forum verwiesen.

Finger in die Wunde: Kooperativen für Gerechtigkeit entlang der Achsen Hautfarbe und Einkommen

Kooperativen sind seit langem ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Kampfes um Gerechtigkeit entlang der Achsen „Race“ und Einkommen, von Bauernhöfen in Mississippi während der Bürgerrechtsbewegung bis zur Entwicklungsarbeit der Ureinwohner. Diese radikale Tradition hat im neoliberalen Zeitalter an Bedeutung gewonnen – als Gegenmaßnahme zu den beispiellosen Angriffen auf soziale Sicherungsnetze, zur Privatisierungswelle ehemals öffentlicher Dienstleistungen und zu den massenhafte Inhaftierungen als „Lösung“ von Arbeitslosigkeit und fehlender Gesundheitsversorgung. In den letzten Jahren entstanden Kooperativen von People of Color mit dem Ziel, Austeritätspolitik mit der Bildung von Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft entgegenzutreten. Dieser praxisbezogene Workshop richtet den Fokus auf drei Fallstudien, die uns zeigen, wie Basiskooperativen von People of Color für Gerechtigkeit mit Blick auf Hautfarbe und Einkommen kämpfen. Wie sind diese Kooperativen entstanden? Wie messen sie Erfolg? Welchen Herausforderungen begegnen sie?

Mit:
Jessica Gordon Nembhard, Autorin „Collective Courage“
Elandria Williams, Highlander Center
Aaron Tanaka, Center for Economic Democracy (TBC)
Ashley Scott, Chicago Teacher/Education Activist
Kazembe Balagun, RLS-Büro New York

Netzwerke und Bündnisse: Aufbau einer Koop-Bewegung über den Verkaufsraum hinaus

Durch die Schaffung demokratischer Alternativen zu konventionellen Geschäftsmodellen haben Kooperativen die dominanten Narrative neoliberaler Orthodoxie in Frage gestellt. Vielfach haben jedoch die Herausforderungen, die mit einem demokratischen Betrieb einhergehen, den Kooperativenmitgliedern so viel Energie geraubt, dass kaum mehr Zeit bleibt, ihr Leitbild auch über den Verkaufsraum hinaus zu bewerben. Erfolgreiche Netzwerke und Bündnisse können uns mit der verbindenden Unterstützung versorgen sowie Kooperativenangestellte zusammenbringen oder diese mit anderen Teilen der Solidarökonomie vernetzen und in übergeordnete politische Prozesse einbinden. Ineffiziente bzw. gescheiterte Netzwerke und Bündnisse bergen hingegen die Gefahr, den Mitgliedern Zeit zu rauben, ohne dies mit Vorteilen aufwiegen zu können. Was macht ein gutes Koop-Netzwerk oder -Bündnis aus? Was sind Fallstricke und Herausforderungen, die es zu umgehen oder bewältigen gilt?

Mit:
Laura Smoot, Network of Bay Area Worker Cooperatives
Esteban Kelly, US Federation of Worker Cooperatives
Emily Kawano, RIPESS & US Solidarity Economy Network
Ethan Earle, RLS-Büro New York

Wir sind auch Mitveranstalter eines der Plena: Eine Bewegung für Sozialökonomie und Solidarwirtschaft aufbauen

Mit:
Laura Flanders, The Laura Flanders Show/grit.tv
Emily Kawano, RIPESS & US Solidarity Economy Network
Esteban Kelly, US Federation of Worker Cooperatives

Registrierung für die Veranstaltung hier.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr/VLLI

VORSTELLUNG DES JUST TRANSITION RESEARCH COLLABORATIVE

Das Just Transition Research Collaborative (JTRC) ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des New Yorker Büros der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, des United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD) und des University of London Institute in Paris (ULIP). Wir freuen uns, als ersten Schritt unserer Zusammenarbeit das Just Transition(s) Online Forum ankündigen zu können, in dem verschiedene Perspektiven zum Thema einer gerechten Energiewende („Just Transition“) hin zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Entwicklung vorgestellt werden sollen. Wir......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


NORTH AMERICAN SOCIAL SOLIDARITY ECONOMY FORUM
April 7-10, 2016 - Detroit, Michigan

Photo Credit: Joi Ito, Flickr

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office is co-sponsoring a forum for the Intercontinental Network for the Promotion of the Social Solidarity Economy in Detroit, Michigan, between April 7-10, 2016.

In recent years the social solidarity economy (SSE) has taken renewed importance on the international left. The broad-ranging field of SSE includes worker, consumer, and producer cooperatives; land trusts, community supported agriculture, and collective farms; credit unions and community development financial institutions; and an array of other initiatives that seek to democratize our relationship to the economic and social spheres. SSE is at the same time visionary and prefigurative—creating around us elements of the world we’d like to inhabit—and deeply pragmatic, built to improve the material conditions that hobble us today.

This forum will bring together a range of actors from across North America to discuss the most salient issues in the field of SSE and find points of political collaboration going forward. Important topics will include how to build the SSE movement; de-colonizing the solidarity economy; and achieving broader recognition and support for SSE. On April 7 we will take a guided tour to learn more about some of the most promising SSE initiatives that have emerged in the midst of Detroit’s municipal economic crisis.

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office will host two workshops as part of this forum. Read more about them in continuation. To learn more about the forum, including registration and logistical details, visit the North American Social Solidarity Economy Forum website, here.

Knocking the Hustle: Cooperatives for Racial and Economic Justice

Cooperatives have long been at the center of the fight for racial and economic justice, from farms in Mississippi during the Civil Rights movement to First Nations development work. This radical tradition has taken on new importance in an age of neoliberalism which has witnessed unprecedented attacks on social safety nets, a drive to privatize public services, and increasing incarceration as a solution for unemployment and lack of health care. In recent years, people of color led cooperatives have emerged to fight against austerity through building the Social Solidarity Economy. This nuts-and-bolts workshop will look at three key case studies that show us how grassroots, people-of-color-led cooperatives are fighting for racial and economic justice. How did these cooperatives emerge? How do they measure success? What are the challenges?

With
Jessica Gordon Nembhard, Author “Collective Courage”
Elandria Williams, Highlander Center
Aaron Tanaka, Center for Economic Democracy (TBC)
Ashley Scott, Chicago Teacher/Education Activist
Kazembe Balagun, Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office

Networks and Coalitions: Building the Coop Movement beyond the Shop Floor

By creating democratic alternatives to conventional business models, worker cooperatives challenge dominant narratives of neoliberal orthodoxy. Oftentimes, however, the challenge of running a democratic business soaks up much of the energy of cooperative members, leaving them little time to advocate for their model beyond the shop floor. Successful networks and coalitions can provide this interstitial support, connecting worker cooperatives to each other, to other sectors of the solidarity economy, and to the broader political process. Unsuccessful networks and coalitions, on the other hand, can take up a lot of time without providing tangible benefits to their members. What does a good coop network or coalition look like? What are some pitfalls and challenges to overcome?

With
Laura Smoot, Network of Bay Area Worker Cooperatives
Esteban Kelly, US Federation of Worker Cooperatives
Emily Kawano, RIPESS & US Solidarity Economy Network
Ethan Earle, Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office

We are also co-hosting one of the pleanries: Building the Movement for a Social Solidarity Economy

With
Laura Flanders, The Laura Flanders Show/grit.tv
Emily Kawano, RIPESS & US Solidarity Economy Network
Esteban Kelly, US Federation of Worker Cooperatives

Registration here.

NEWS / EVENTS

© The Orchard 2018

THE YOUNG KARL MARX: FREE FILM SCREENING

In celebration of the 200th anniversary of Karl Marx’s birth, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, Goethe-Institut New York, and Brooklyn Institute for Social Research (BISR) are hosting a free screening of Raoul Peck’s acclaimed The Young Karl Marx. The film follows the young philosopher turned revolutionary through his burgeoning friendship with Frederick Engels, his...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

© The Orchard 2018

THE YOUNG KARL MARX: FREE FILM SCREENING

In celebration of the 200th anniversary of Karl Marx’s birth, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office, Goethe-Institut New York, and Brooklyn Institute for Social Research (BISR) are hosting a free screening of Raoul Peck’s acclaimed The Young Karl Marx. The film follows the young philosopher turned revolutionary through his burgeoning friendship with Frederick Engels, his experiences with political repression, as well as the debates, dilemmas, and promises of a......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES