Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


RED ROSA
Eine Comic-Biografie von Rosa Luxemburg – 5. November - Brooklyn, NY

Rosa Luxemburg ist eine der bedeutendsten politischen Denkerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Ihre Philosophie des Sozialismus und der Demokratie inspirierten jeden Aspekt ihres Lebens – ihre Arbeit als Wirtschaftswissenschaftlerin, ihren Widerstand gegen Krieg und soziale Ungleichheit und ihre Freundschaften und Liebesbeziehungen.

Das neue und einzigartige Comicbuch „Red Rosa“ von Kate Evans, herausgegeben vom Verlag Verso in Zusammenarbeit mit der RLS–NYC, macht Luxemburgs intellektuelle Welt für ein breiteres Publikum zugänglich und setzt ihre Ideen in den Kontext einer bewegenden Lebensgeschichte.

Am 5. November veranstalten wir in Zusammenarbeit mit Verso einen Diskussionsabend anlässlich der Veröffentlichung von „Red Rosa“. Die Autorin Kate Evans wird den Abend mit einer Präsentation über den kreativen Schaffensprozess des Comics eröffnen. Anschließend werden sich Kate Evans und die New Yorker Künstlerin Molly Crabapple über ihre Erfahrungen als politische, feministische Comiczeichnerinnen austauschen.

Im Anschluss an die Diskussion feiern wir die Veröffentlichung mit Getränken und Snacks.

Red Rosa: eine Comic-Biografie von Rosa Luxemburg
Donnerstag, 5. November, 19 – 21 Uhr
Verso Books, 20 Jay Street, Suite 1010, Brooklyn, NY
Die Veranstaltung ist kostenlos mit Anmeldung.

Kate Evans ist eine radikale Comiczeichnerin, Künstlerin, Autorin und Aktivistin. Sie zeichnet Comics für das Magazin „The Spark” und hat zahlreiche Bücher und Comics verfasst, darunter “Funny Weather: „Everything you Didn’t Want to Know About Climate Change but Probably Should Find Out” und „The Food of Love”.

Molly Crabapple ist eine New Yorker Künstlerin und Autorin. Ihre Zeichnungen thematisieren soziale Ungleichheit und soziale Bewegungen, von Gentrifizierung und Masseninhaftierung bis zu Arbeitslagern in Abu Dhabi und Rebellen in Syrien. Crabapple ist mitwirkende Herausgeberin des „VICE“ Magazins und schreibt für die „New York Times“, die „Paris Review“ und „Vanity Fair“. Ihre Memoiren „Drawing Blood“ werden im Dezember 2015 erscheinen.

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credits: Fibonacci Blue (CC BY 2.0)

WIE WIR LERNEN, KÄMPFE ZU GEWINNEN

Tagtäglich fechten wir grundlegende Kämpfe aus: Kämpfe, um die menschengemachte Klimakatastrophe abzuwenden, um gewerkschaftliche Organisierung etwa bei Amazon und Ryanair, um eine menschenwürdige, bedarfsgerechte und den Ansprüchen der Beschäftigten entsprechende Pflege oder Kämpfe, um, die sozialen Fragen nicht den Rechten zu überlassen. Wir haben eine Welt zu gewinnen! Und...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credits: Fibonacci Blue (CC BY 2.0)

WIE WIR LERNEN, KÄMPFE ZU GEWINNEN

Tagtäglich fechten wir grundlegende Kämpfe aus: Kämpfe, um die menschengemachte Klimakatastrophe abzuwenden, um gewerkschaftliche Organisierung etwa bei Amazon und Ryanair, um eine menschenwürdige, bedarfsgerechte und den Ansprüchen der Beschäftigten entsprechende Pflege oder Kämpfe, um, die sozialen Fragen nicht den Rechten zu überlassen. Wir haben eine Welt zu gewinnen! Und doch bleibt eine Frage: wie gewinnen wir sie? Mit den Global Lectures gibt Jane McAlevey einen vierteiligen Crashkurs zu Organizing-Methoden, die helfen unsere......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


RELEASE EVENT: RED ROSA
A Graphic Biography of Rosa Luxemburg - November 5 - Brooklyn, NY

Rosa Luxemburg is one of the foremost political thinkers of the 20th century. Her philosophy of socialism and democracy was present in every aspect of her life—her work as an economist and educator, her activism against war and socioeconomic injustice, her relationships with friends and lovers.

Red Rosa, a new graphic novel by Kate Evans, published by Verso Books in collaboration with the RLS–NYC, opens up Luxemburg’s intellectual world to a new audience, grounding her ideas in the realities of an inspirational and deeply affecting biography.

Join us at Verso Books on Thursday night, November 5, to celebrate the release of Red Rosa with a special event featuring Kate Evans and New York-based artist and writer Molly Crabapple. Evans will open the event with a presentation about the process of creating this graphic novel. She will then be joined by Crabapple for a dialogue about what it means to be a political feminist graphic artist in this day and age.

Please RSVP here.

The event will be followed by a reception with drinks and light snacks.

The new graphic novel Red Rosa, as well as a new translation of the Complete Works of Rosa Luxemburg: Volume II—also published by Verso with support from RLS–NYC—will be available for sale.

Red Rosa: A Graphic Biography of Rosa Luxemburg
Thursday, November 5, 7:00pm-9:00pm
Verso Books, 20 Jay Street, Suite 1010, Brooklyn, NY
The event is free with registration. Please RSVP here.

Kate Evans is a radical cartoonist, artist, author, and activist. She draws feature-length cartoons in The Spark magazine. She is the author of numerous books, comics, and zines, including Funny Weather: Everything you Didn’t Want to Know About Climate Change but Probably Should Find Out and The Food of Love.

Molly Crabapple is an artist and writer in New York. Her illustrations bring critical attention to injustice and social movements—from gentrification and mass incarceration to Abu Dhabi’s migrant labor camps, and rebels in Syria. Crabapple is a contributing editor for VICE, and has written for publications including The New York Times, Paris Review, and Vanity Fair. Her memoir, Drawing Blood, will be published in December 2015.

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: James Alexander

CAN THE LEFT BE REBUILT?

Across the western world the liberal center is in decline — but it is the radical right, not the Left, which stands to benefit. Why has the Left failed to capitalize on the ongoing systemic crisis? How has it become so divorced from its working-class base? And can the cycle be broken? Jon Trickett, Labour MP and member of Corbyn's Shadow Cabinet, speaks to Jacobin editor...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: James Alexander

CAN THE LEFT BE REBUILT?

Across the western world the liberal center is in decline — but it is the radical right, not the Left, which stands to benefit. Why has the Left failed to capitalize on the ongoing systemic crisis? How has it become so divorced from its working-class base? And can the cycle be broken? Jon Trickett, Labour MP and member of Corbyn’s Shadow Cabinet, speaks to Jacobin editor Bhaskar Sunkara. This event is co-hosted......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES