Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


RLS–NYC AUF DER JACKSON RISING KONFERENZ
2. bis 4. May 2014 - Jackson, Mississippi

jackson

Fotos dieser Veranstaltung finden Sie auf unserer Flickr-Seite.

In Gedenken an den kürzlich verstorbenen linken Aktivisten und Bürgermeister Chokwe Lumumba, werden vom 2. bis 4. Mai mehr als tausend Menschen die Konferenz „Jackson Rising“ besuchen und dessen unerfüllte Vision fortführen. Diese Konferenz bringt Aktivisten und engagierte Bürger zusammen, um gemeinsam Strategien für eine neue Bewegung für Wirtschaftsdemokratie durch Genossenschaften und Solidarwirtschaft zu entwickeln.

Wie kann sich Jackson mithilfe von Genossenschaftsmodellen aus der wirtschaftlichen Krise befreien? Wie können bestehende solidarwirtschaftliche Initiativen innerhalb der Vereinigten Staaten und weltweit Kraft aus der radikalen Vorstellung des verstorbenen Bürgermeisters schöpfen?

Die Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office organisiert zwei Veranstaltungen auf der Jackson Rising-Konferenz: “Genossenschaften: die Krise, die Dokumentation „The Take“ (die Übernahme) und die Arbeiter-Eigentümer-Lösung” und “Die Punkte verbinden: Regionale Genossenschaftsinitiativen auf der ganzen Welt“. Außerdem stellen wir Spanisch-Übersetzung für die Konferenz bereit und unterstützen gemeinsam mit anderen Organisatoren die Teilnahme wichtiger Genossenschaftsexperten und Aktivisten an Plenarsitzungen der Konferenz.

BESCHREIBUNG DER DISKUSSIONSRUNDEN

Die Punkte verbinden: Regionale Genossenschaftsinitiativen auf der ganzen Welt
Samstag, 3. Mai, 9:00-11:00

Beispielen wie die Mondragon-Gesellschaft, der 1956 gegründeten weltgrößten Föderation von Arbeitnehmergenossenschaften in der Baskenregion Spaniens sowie die norditalienische Region Emilia-Romagna mit über 8000 Kooperativen und solidarwirtschaftlicher Gemeinschaften inspierieren seit einigen Jahren immer mehr Initiativen auf der ganzen Welt.

Obwohl die bekanntesten dieser Beispiele aus Europa kommen, findet man auch zunhemend Bewegungen in Nordamerika. Beispielsweise erließ die kanadische Provinz Quebec ein Rahmengesetz zur Unterstützung von Solidarwirtschaft. Und auch Städte wie Cincinnati und Cleveland bilden Netzwerke von Arbeiterkooperativen nach dem Mondrogan-Modell.

Was kann Jackson von diesen Beispielen lernen? Wie bilden wir Netzwerke von Kooperativen, die einander unterstützen? Und wie verbinden wir solidarwirtschaftliche und staatliche Initiativen auf sinnvolle Weise? Dieses Panel bringt Experten aus Quebec, Vertreter von Mondragon, Emilia-Romagna und der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisationen zusammen, um regionale Kooperativen im Zusammenhang mit dem Fall der Stadt Jackson zu diskutieren.

Referenten:
François Vermette: Quebec Chantier
Cristina Grasseni: Professor an den Universitäten Bergamo und Harvard
Michael Peck: Nordamerikanischer Delegierter von Mondragon
Pierre Laliberté: Wissenschaftler der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation

Genossenschaften: die Krise, die Dokumentation „The Take“ und die Arbeiter-Eigentümer-Lösung
Samstag, 3. Mai, 13:00-15:00

Vor zehn Jahren berichtete die Dokumentation „the Take“ von Fabrikübernahmen überall in Argentinien infolge der schweren wirtschaftlichen und politischen Krise in 2001 und 02. Diese Übernahmen verhalfen hunderten aregntinischen Unternehmen zu neuem Aufschwung als re-organisierte Genossenschaften. Die „zurückgewonnenen Unternehmen“ (empresas recuperadas) inspirierten eine Generation von Aktivisten dazu, gegen Ungerechtigkeiten an konventionellen Arbeitsplätzen anzukämpfen, diese zu übernehmen oder neue Arbeitergenossenschaften zu bilden, um die Bedürfnisse der Menschen über Profite zu setzen.

In diesem Workshop lernen wir vier Genossenschaften kennen, die vom argentinischen Beispiel und anderen innovativen Unternehmenskonzepten weltweit inspiriert wurden. Wie können Arbeitsgenossenschaften dazu beitragen, Gemeinden im Widerstand gegen wirtschaftliche Krisen und Desasterkapitalismus zu unterstützen? Wie können Initiativen starten, überleben und sich langfristig entwickeln? Und wie können sie an einem Konzept nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens für kommende Generationen mitwirken?

Referenten:
Janvieve Williams: Mitarbeiterin und Teilhaberin der “Ginger Moon Cooperative“ und Mitgründerin von „Green Worker Cooperatives“
William Swanson: Mitarbeiter und Teilhaber der „New Era Cooperative“
Knocka: Mitarbeiter und Teilhaber der “Far Rockaway Cab Cooperative” und Mitglied von “Occupy Sandy” Kristen Barker: Mitgründerin der “Cincinnati Union Coop Initiative“
Brendan Martin: Gründer und Präsident von “The Working World/La Base”

Jackson Rising New Economics
2. – 5. Mai 2014
Jackson University
Informationen und Anmeldung hier.

NEWS / EVENTS

DER WENIGER BEREISTE PFAD

In dieser zeitgemäßen Studie setzen sich die Autoren, Sean Sweeney und John Treat, mit einigen der widerständigeren Mythen um Energie- und Emissionstrends im Transportwesen auseinander. Sie konzentrieren sich dabei insbesondere auf die Passagierbeförderung auf öffentlichen Straßen, wobei sie deutlich machen, dass dem Klimawandel nur Einhalt zu gebieten ist, wenn wir öffentliche...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

DER WENIGER BEREISTE PFAD

In dieser zeitgemäßen Studie setzen sich die Autoren, Sean Sweeney und John Treat, mit einigen der widerständigeren Mythen um Energie- und Emissionstrends im Transportwesen auseinander. Sie konzentrieren sich dabei insbesondere auf die Passagierbeförderung auf öffentlichen Straßen, wobei sie deutlich machen, dass dem Klimawandel nur Einhalt zu gebieten ist, wenn wir öffentliche Transportoptionen ausbauen. Dieses Anliegen ist dringlich, bedenkt man, dass derzeitige Emissionen um ein mehrfaches höher sind als die......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


RLS–NYC AT THE JACKSON RISING CONFERENCE
May 2 - 4, 2014 - Jackson, Mississippi

jackson

For photos from this event, go to our flickr page!

Following the tragic death of beloved activist and leftist Mayor Chokwe Lumumba, more than a thousand people will convene in Jackson, Mississippi, to support work toward his uncompleted vision: Jackson Rising. This New Economies Conference brings together social activists and concerned citizens to strategize for a new movement toward economic democracy through worker-owned businesses and solidarity economy initiatives.

How can Jackson and the surrounding region lift itself out of economic crisis through models of cooperation and shared wealth? How can existing solidarity economy initiatives across the United States and the world draw strength and energy from the radical vision of the late Mayor Lumumba?

At Jackson Rising, the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—New York Office will host two panel discussions: “Bottom-up Co-ops: the Crisis, The Take, and the Worker Ownership Solution” and “Connecting the Dots, Growing Co-ops: Regional Cooperative Initiatives around the World.” We will also provide Spanish-language interpretation throughout the event and, in coordination with other lead organizers, support the participation of leading cooperative experts and practitioners at Jackson Rising’s plenaries.

PANEL DESCRIPTIONS

Connecting the Dots, Growing Co-ops: Regional Cooperative Initiatives around the World
Saturday May 3, 9-11 AM

Inspired by the examples of Mondragon—a federation of worker cooperatives formed in 1956, which now has 80,000 worker-owners and is the 7th largest company in Spain—and Emilia-Romagna—a region in Northern Italy with over 8,000 coops—regional cooperative and solidarity economy initiatives have in recent years been taking off around the world.

While the best known of these cases are based in Europe, similar work is increasingly being undertaken across North America. The Canadian province of Quebec recently passed a framework legislation that requires all government departments to integrate support for the social solidarity economy into all aspects of their work. Meanwhile, initiatives in cities like Cincinnati and Cleveland are building networks of related worker coops based on the Mondragon model—in some cases with actual help from Mondragon officials.

What can Jackson learn from successful examples—old and young—from around the world? How do we go about building networks of cooperatives that support and draw strength from each other, and how can we link solidarity economy initiatives to the state in a meaningful and mutually beneficial fashion? This panel brings together experts from Quebec, Mondragon, Emilia-Romagna and the International Labour Organization to discuss regional cooperative initiatives in the Jackson context.

Featured Speakers:
François Vermette: director of development for Quebec Chantier
Cristina Grasseni: researcher and professor at Bergamo and Harvard University and member of the Italian Solidarity Purchase Groups
Michael Peck: North American delegate representing the Mondragon Cooperative Corporation
Pierre Laliberté: researcher at the International Labor Organization

Bottom-up Co-ops: the Crisis, The Take, and the Worker Ownership Solution
Saturday May 3, 1-3 PM

Ten years ago, the documentary The Take examined the factory takeovers that spread throughout Argentina in the wake of a deep economic and political crisis in 2001-02. These takeovers gave new life to hundreds of abandoned businesses throughout the country, with former employees putting them back to work as cooperatives. The “recovered businesses” (or empresas recuperadas) inspired a generation of social activists to engage in cooperative economics, fighting existing injustices in conventional workplaces and in some cases even taking them over, or alternately starting new worker-run enterprises that sought to put human needs before profits.

In this workshop we will learn about four case studies of cooperatives that have been inspired by Argentina’s recovered businesses and other innovative cooperative initiatives from around the world. How can coops be used to support communities in the face of economic crisis and disaster capitalism? How can particular initiatives start, survive, and thrive over time? And how can they play a role in a broader vision for sustainable economies and communities for generations to come?

Featured speakers:
Janvieve Williams: worker/owner at Ginger Moon Cooperative and co-founder of Green Worker Cooperatives
William Swanson: worker/owner at New Era Cooperative
Knocka: worker/owner at Far Rockaway Cab Cooperative and Occupy Sandy participant
Kristen Barker: co-founder of the Cincinnati Union Coop Initiative
Brendan Martin: founder and president of The Working World/La Base

Jackson Rising New Economics Conference
May 2-5, 2014
Jackson University
More information and registration here.

NEWS / EVENTS

THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED

In this timely publication, authors Sean Sweeney and John Treat do away with some of the more persistent myths around energy and emissions trends related to transport. Focusing their analysis on passenger road transport, they make a strong case that if we want to mitigate climate change, we need to expand public transport options. Theirs is an urgent cause given the fact that, as a result of...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED

In this timely publication, authors Sean Sweeney and John Treat do away with some of the more persistent myths around energy and emissions trends related to transport. Focusing their analysis on passenger road transport, they make a strong case that if we want to mitigate climate change, we need to expand public transport options. Theirs is an urgent cause given the fact that, as a result of global land......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES