Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

LEHRER IM STREIK
Lektionen aus Chicago, wie man sich wehren kann
Ethan Young - Dezember 2012

Photo Credits: Shutter Stutter, flickr

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Die Zukunft Der Arbeit"

ENERGIEWENDE UND JUST TRANSITION
Sean Sweeney und John Treat
April 2018

DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN WEG WÄHLEN
Sean Sweeney und John Treat
November 2017

HAUSANGESTELLTE ORGANISIEREN
Jennifer Fish
März 2017

Von Ethan Young – Als der neu gewählte Präsident Ronald Reagan 1981 mehr als 11 000 streikende Fluglotsen entließ, feuerte er auch die ersten Schüsse einer neuen Offensive gegen die abhängig Beschäftigten in den Vereinigten Staaten ab. Seitdem hat der Neoliberalismus in seinem unstillbaren Hunger nach Niedriglöhnen und wehrlosen Angestellten eine Reihe von Angriffen gegen die US-Gewerkschaften geführt. In deren Ergebnis ist der Grad der gewerkschaftlichen Organisierung drastisch geschrumpft, vor allem im privaten Sektor, wo jetzt nur noch sieben Prozent der Beschäftigten Gewerkschaften angehören. Im gleichen Zeitraum sind die Reallöhne stagniert, und der Einkommensanteil der unteren 80 Prozent der US-Bevölkerung ist gesunken, während der Anteil des obersten Prozents der Einkommenspyramide sich vervielfacht hat.

Weit davon entfernt, sich mit dieser Umverteilung des Reichtums nach oben zufrieden zu geben, wird das Großkapital immer kühner, und die Angriffe auf die Gewerkschaften werden immer häufiger und dreister. Im Jahr 2011 setzte der Gouverneur von Wisconsin, Scott Walker, eine extrem gewerkschaftsfeindliche Gesetzgebung über die Proteste von hunderttausenden Bewohnern hinweg durch, wie John Nichols in seinem Artikel „Die Welt von Neuem Beginnen“ (www.rosalux-nyc.org) nachgezeichnet hat. Jüngst, im Dezember 2012, wurde Michigan der 24. US-Bundesstaat, der eine sogenannte Right-to-work-Gesetzgebung verabschiedete, welche die Möglichkeiten der Gewerkschaften, Mitgliedsbeiträge zu erheben, stark einschränkt. Dieser Schlag gegen die Arbeiterbewegung im Herzen der US-Autoindustrie und in der Heimat der mächtigen und traditionsreichen United Auto Workers scheint ein ausgesprochen entmutigendes Vorzeichen für amerikanische Arbeitnehmer zu sein.

Dennoch wäre Untergangsstimmung verfehlt. Inmitten des Ansturms hat die Chicago Teachers Union (CTU) mit einem der größten Siege der Gewerkschaftsbewegung in den letzten Jahrzehnten zurückgeschlagen. Der CTU-Streik im September 2012 brachte 26 000 Beschäftigte zusammen, um einen Vorschlag von Bürgermeister Rahm Emanuel zu bekämpfen, der die Verlängerung des Schultages um zwei Stunden ohne Gehaltserhöhung sowie andere Maßnahmen vorsah, die die Beschäftigungssicherheit und die Mitsprache der Lehrerinnen und Lehrer schwächen sollten.

Im Kontext der sogenannten „Reform“-Bewegung – im Kern ein Trick konservativer und neoliberaler Kräfte, die beabsichtigen, das öffentliche Bildungswesens zu schwächen – könnte der CTU-Sieg sich als äußerst wichtig erweisen. Im größeren Zusammenhang des Kriegs gegen die Arbeitnehmervertreter des öffentlichen Dienstes – die letzte große Bastion der Gewerkschaften und der einzige politische Akteur, der der unbegrenzten Konzernherrschaft bei der Wahlkampffinanzierung etwas entgegenzusetzen vermag – hat die Arbeiterbewegung endlich zurückgeschlagen.

In der folgenden Studie analysiert der Autor und Aktivist Ethan Young den Sieg der Lehrergewerkschaft. Sein Augenmerk richtet sich dabei auch auf die Lehren, die die Arbeiterbewegung und die US-Linke hieraus ziehen können: nämlich wie man sich wehren und nach vorne schauen kann.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Die Zukunft Der Arbeit"

ENERGIEWENDE UND JUST TRANSITION
Sean Sweeney und John Treat
April 2018

DEN ÖFFENTLICHEN WEG WÄHLEN
Sean Sweeney und John Treat
November 2017

HAUSANGESTELLTE ORGANISIEREN
Jennifer Fish
März 2017

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: Matthias Lambrecht/Flickr

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar.

...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo: Matthias Lambrecht/Flickr

NUCLEAR POWER AND CLIMATE ACTION

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

TEACHERS ON STRIKE
Lessons from Chicago on How to Fight Back
Ethan Young - December 2012

Photo Credits: Shutter Stutter, flickr

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)



Other publications in "The Future of Labor"

TPP AND TTIP: PARTNERS IN CRIME
Mike Dolan
January 2015

GERMANY’S ENERGIEWENDE
Hans Thie
October 2014

MAPPING SOCIALIST STRATEGIES
RLS–NYC
September 2014

By Ethan Young. When newly elected President Ronald Reagan fired more than 11,000 striking air traffic controllers in 1981, he was also firing the first shots in a new offensive against workers in the United States. The new logic of neoliberalism, with its insatiable appetite for low wages and powerless workers, has since guided a series of attacks against U.S. labor unions. As a result, rates of unionization have shrunk dramatically, especially in the private sector, where a paltry seven percent of workers now belong to unions. Over this same period, real wages have stagnated and the income share of the bottom 80 percent of the U.S. population has fallen, while the top one percent’s average income has multiplied.

Far from being satisfied by this upward transfer of wealth, Big Capital appears emboldened, and attacks against unions grow more frequent and brazen. In 2011 Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker pushed through austere anti-union legislation over the protests of hundreds of thousands of his state’s residents, chronicled by John Nichols in his piece “To Begin the World Over Again” (www.rosalux-nyc.org). More recently, in December 2012 Michigan became the 24th state to approve “right-to-work” legislation, which severely curtails the ability of unions to grow membership and collect dues. This blow to the labor movement, landed in the heart of the U.S. auto industry and the home of the powerful and emblematic United Auto Workers, would appear a discouraging harbinger for American workers.

But all is not doom and gloom. In the midst of this onslaught, the Chicago Teachers’ Union (CTU) has struck back with one of labor’s biggest victories in recent decades. The CTU strike of September 2012 brought together 26,000 workers to successfully fight a proposal by Mayor Rahm Emanuel to lengthen the school day by two hours with no pay raise, plus other measures intended to weaken the job security and voice of the city’s teachers.

In the context of the so-called educational “reform” movement—a subterfuge by conservative and neoliberal forces intended to weaken the institution of public education—the CTU’s victory could prove crucial. In the larger war against public unions—the last major bastion of U.S. labor and only political player capable of challenging corporate dominance in the game of campaign finance—the labor movement has finally struck back.

In the following study, writer and activist Ethan Young dissects the CTU’s victory and draws lessons for the labor movement, and indeed the U.S. Left, on how to fight back and how to look forward.

FULL TEXT (English)


Other publications in "The Future of Labor"

TPP AND TTIP: PARTNERS IN CRIME
Mike Dolan
January 2015

GERMANY’S ENERGIEWENDE
Hans Thie
October 2014

MAPPING SOCIALIST STRATEGIES
RLS–NYC
September 2014

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credit: Dai Fujihara

PLANET OF THE OCEANS

The ocean may be the ultimate commons. For those of us who live on land, the ocean seems like an endless horizon. It is both the edge of settled existence and a source of apparently limitless resources. The ocean is both ecologically central and the site of an enormous amount of human activity. Like other commons, the ocean is threatened by abuse, enclosure, and commercialization. Powerful...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Photo Credit: Dai Fujihara

PLANET OF THE OCEANS

The ocean may be the ultimate commons. For those of us who live on land, the ocean seems like an endless horizon. It is both the edge of settled existence and a source of apparently limitless resources. The ocean is both ecologically central and the site of an enormous amount of human activity. Like other commons, the ocean is threatened by abuse, enclosure, and commercialization. Powerful corporate interests seek......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES