Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


DIE MITTELMEER-MONOLOGE
21. November 2019 - New York, NY

(c) Luca Abbiento

Die Mittelmeer-Monologe erzählen von den politisch widerständigen Naomie aus Kamerun und Yassin aus Libyen, die sich auf einem Boot nach Europa wiederfinden, von brutalen Küstenwachen und zweifelhaften Seenotrettungsstellen und von Aktivist*innen, die dem Sterben auf dem Mittelmeer etwas entgegensetzen.

Diese Aktivist*innen überzeugen beim Alarm Phone die Küstenwachen, nach Menschen in Seenot zu suchen oder lernen auf der Sea-Watch, Menschen vor dem Ertrinken zu bewahren – kurzum sie tun das eigentlich Selbstverständlichste, was im Jahr 2019 alles andere als selbstverständlich ist: menschliches Leben zu retten!

Die Mittelmeer-Monologe sind dokumentarisches, wortgetreues Theater, basierend auf mehrstündigen Interviews. Dadurch werden reale Fälle der Seenotrettung rekonstruiert, erzählt aus der Perspektive von Betroffenen und Aktivist*innen.  Eines dieser realen Ereignisse zeigt die besondere Brutalität der libyschen Küstenwache.

So fuhr am 6.11.2017 zeitgleich ein Rettungsschiff von Sea-Watch und ein Schiff der libyschen Küstenwache zu einem Migranten-Boot. Auf diesem Boot befanden sich 150 Passagiere. Eine konfliktreiche Rettungsoperation begann, und während Sea-Watch letztendlich 59 Personen retten konnte, ertranken mindestens 20 Personen und 47 Personen wurden zurück nach Libyen gebracht – inhaftiert, geschlagen, verkauft, gefoltert. Dieser 6.11. wurde von „Forensic Architecture“ aufwändig rekonstruiert (in dem Video „Mare Clausum“) und von der New York Times ebenfalls als Video („How Europe Outsources Migrant Suffering at Sea“) journalistisch aufgearbeitet.

Indem Michael Ruf zwei Personen, die an jenem Tag hautnah involviert waren, viele Stunden interviewt hat, liefert er die persönlichen Narrationen zu diesem paradigmatischen Fall.

Die Premiere der Mittelmeer-Monologe findet fast genau 5 Jahre nach Gründung des Alarm Phones (am 11.10.2014) statt und erzählt einige Fälle der Seenotrettung dieses Aktivisten-Netzwerks. In diesen 5 Jahren hat das Alarm Phone 2800 Boote in Seenot begleitet und unterstützt. Das Alarm Phone ist rund um die Uhr anrufbar, umfasst ein Netzwerk von 200 Beteiligten in vielen Städten Europas und Nordafrikas und hat sich als kontinuierliche Infrastruktur für das Recht auf Bewegungsfreiheit entwickelt.

Die Mittelmeer-Monologe liefern persönliche und intime Einblicke in die weitestgehend unbekannte Arbeit des Alarm Phones, die einer Aktivistin und die jener Person, die in Seenot die Nummer des Alarm Phones wählte, sowie deren inspirierende gemeinsame Geschichte.

 

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung lädt, gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut New York und dem Zolberg Institute on Migration and Mobility der New School, zu einer kostenfreien Vorstellung der Mittelmeer-Monologe (auf Englisch mit deutschen, französischen und arabischen Untertiteln) der Bühne für Menschenrechte in New York City ein.

Donnerstag, 21. November 2019, um 19 Uhr
Goethe-Institut New York
30 Irving Place, New York, NY 10003

Einlass ab 18:30 Uhr. Sitze werden laufend vergeben, eine Sitzplatzreservierung ist nicht möglich. Wir bitten dennoch um Anmeldung hier.

 

Das New Yorker Büro der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung sponsert zudem einen Performance-Workshop zum Thema „Migration, Theater und Wahrheit“, der von Michael Ruf und Kayhan Irani im Rahmen des Creative Time Summit X geleitet wird. Die Veranstaltung findet am Samstag, den 16. November, von 15 bis 16 Uhr statt. Teilnehmer*innen des Workshops werden mit den Ansätzen und der Rolle sozialen Theaters, insbesondere im Kontext von politischen Debatten zu Migration, vertraut gemacht. Für weitere Informationen, besuchen Sie bitte die Website von Creative Times.

NEWS / EVENTS

COP25 | UN CLIMATE SUMMIT

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Englisch verfügbar....
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

COP25 | UN CLIMATE SUMMIT

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Englisch verfügbar. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


THE MEDITERRANEAN MIGRATION MONOLOGUES
November 21, 2019 - New York, NY

(c) Luca Abbiento

The Mediterranean Migration Monologues (“Mittelmeer-Monologe”) tell the stories of Naomie from Cameroon and Yassin from Libya, who find themselves on a boat to Europe. It also tells of brutal coast guards, dubious sea rescue centers, and activists who fight against migrant deaths in the Mediterranean Sea.

The activists are part of the project Alarm Phone as well as the German non-governmental organization Sea-Watch. They convince coast guards to search after people in distress at sea and train volunteers to rescue people from drowning. In short, they do what can no longer be taken for granted in 2019: They save human lives.

The Mediterranean Migration Monologues are documentary, verbatim theater based on many hours of interviews, which reconstruct real cases of sea rescues in order to narrate from the perspective of those affected—both refugees and activists. One of these cases shows the particularly brutality of the Libyan coast guard.

On November 6, 2017, a Sea-Watch rescue ship and a Libyan coast guard ship sailed simultaneously toward a migrant boat with 150 passengers on board. Two competing rescue operations began, and while Sea-Watch saved 59 people, at least 20 people drowned and 47 people were brought back to Libya—imprisoned, beaten, sold, and tortured. The events of November 6 were elaborately reconstructed by Forensic Architecture in their video “Mare Clausum” as well as in a video by the New York Times (“How Europe Outsources Migrant Suffering at Sea”). By interviewing two people closely involved that day for many hours, Michael Ruf provides the personal stories behind this definitive case.

The opening of the Mediterranean Migration Monologues took place almost exactly five years after the founding of Alarm Phone in 2014, and tells of several cases of sea rescue by this activist network. In the five years since, the organization has accompanied and supported 2,800 boats in distress. The hotline is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and includes a network of 200 activists from many cities in Europe and North Africa. It has developed a continuous infrastructure to support the struggle for the right to freedom of movement.

The Mediterranean Migration Monologues provide personal and intimate insights into the largely unknown work of Alarm Phone. It tells the story of people in distress, who dialed the Alarm Phone hotline, and of the activists who received the call, and their inspiring shared history.

 

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung–New York Office, together with Goethe-Institut New York and the Zolberg Institute on Migration and Mobility at The New School, is hosting a free performance of the Mediterranean Migration Monologues (in English with German, French, and Arabic subtitles) of the Bühne für Menschenrechte (Actors for Human Rights) in New York City.

Thursday, November 21, 2019, at 7pm
Goethe-Institut New York
30 Irving Place, New York, NY 10003

Doors open at 6:30pm. Seating is limited and will be available on a first come, first serve basis, but we still encourage you to RSVP here.

 

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung–New York Office is also co-sponsoring a performance workshop on “Migration, Theater, and Truth” led by Michael Ruf and Kayhan Irani at the Creative Time Summit X on Saturday, November 16, from 3-4pm. Workshop participants will learn the techniques of popular theater and the role of social theater in debates on migration. For more information, please visit the Creative Times website.

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here. The New York and Brussels offices of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung and partners are launching the series of webinars "With Everything Up for Grabs: The Green New Deal(s) the World Needs." These will work towards the transformative and internationalist response the world needs...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here. The New York and Brussels offices of the Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung and partners are launching the series of webinars “With Everything Up for Grabs: The Green New Deal(s) the World Needs.” These will work towards the transformative and internationalist response the world needs right now. CHAPTER 1: Wednesday, 29 April 2020 11:00 AM EDT / 5:00 PM CET / 10 PM ICT RED-GREEN NEW DEAL(S) with Walden Bello, Thea Riofrancos, and Grace......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES