Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


DIE ÄRMEREN NATIONEN: EINE MÖGLICHE GESCHICHTE DES GLOBALEN SÜDENS
Vijay Prashad und Andrew Hsiao - 24. Juli - Brecht Forum, NYC

Frieden, Brot und Gerechtigkeit – dies war das Banner, unter dem der globale Süden in den 1970er Jahren vereinigt war. Damals schien die Zeit reif für einen Wandel der globalen Weltordnung, der die bisherigen Abhängigkeits- und Herrschaftsstrukturen auf den Kopf stellen würde. Doch seit den 70er Jahren bis heute haben die Länder des globalen Südens große Mühe, eine einheitliche politische Bewegung aufzubauen.

Vijay Prashads erfolgreiches Buch „The Darker Nations“ (Die Dunkleren Nationen, New Press) bietet eine Ideenschichte der Dritten Welt und gleichzeitig eine Chronik vom Aufstieg und Fall der Bewegung der Blockfreien Staaten. Mit seinem neuen Buch „The Poorer Nations“ (Die Ärmeren Nationen), schließt Prashad da an, wo „The Darker Nations“ aufhört. Er lässt den Aufstieg der neuen internationalen Wirtschaftsordnung in den frühen 1970er Jahren hinter sich und untersucht das Versagen des Neoliberalismus und die Entstehung der BRICS-Länder, des Weltsozialforums sowie themenbasierter Bewegungen wie „Via Campesina“ und das revolutionäre Wiedererwachen in Lateinamerika – Bemühungen um die Entwicklung von Alternativen zum neoliberalen Projekt, welches militärisch durch die USA und wirtschaftlich durch den IWF, die Weltbank, die Welthandelsorganisation und andere institutionelle Werkzeuge der Mächtigen vorangetrieben wird.

Ebenso wie Prashad in „The Darker Nations“ behauptet, dass die Dritte Welt kein Ort war, sondern ein Projekt, so beschreibt er in „The Poorer Nations“ den globalen Süden als ein Begriff, der sich nicht auf einen geographischen Raum bezieht, sondern vielmehr auf eine Verkettung von Protesten gegen den Neoliberalismus.

Diese Veranstaltung ist eine Diskussion zwischen Vijay Prashad und Andrew Hsiao, seinem Redakteur bei „Verso Books“.

Vijay Prashad ist die Professor für die Geschichte Südasiens am Trinity College in Connecticut. Er ist der Autor zahlreicher Bücher, darunter „The Darker Nations: a People’s History of the Third World“ (Die Dunkleren Nationen: Eine Geschichte der Völker der Dritten Welt) und „Arab Spring, Libyan Winter“ (Arabischer Frühling, Libyscher Winter).

Andrew Hsiao ist leitender Redakteur bei „Verso Books“. Er war der Chefredakteur der „New Press“, Autor und Redakteur für „The Village Voice“ und ist Produzent der Sendung „Asia Pacific Forum“ des Radiosenders WBAI 99.5FM. Er hat für die „New York Times“, die „Washington Post“ und andere Blätter geschrieben und ist der Autor des Kartenspiels „Regime Change Begins at Home“ (Regimewandel beginnt zu Hause). Er hilft bei der Koordination von „CultureStrike“, einer landesweiten Kampagne von Schriftstellern und Künstlern, die mit künstlerischen und literarischen Projekten für die Rechte von Einwanderern kämpfen.

24. Juli 2013, 19.30 Uhr
Brecht Forum
451 West Street
New York, NY 10014
Anmeldung hier.

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here....
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

THE GREEN NEW DEAL(S) THE WORLD NEEDS NOW

Register here. ...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


THE POORER NATIONS: A POSSIBLE HISTORY OF THE GLOBAL SOUTH
Vijay Prashad and Andrew Hsiao - July 24 - Brecht Forum, NYC

Peace, Bread, and Justice: in the 1970’s, this was the banner under which the Global South united. The time seemed ripe for massive change in the global order, where the old superstructure would be turned upside down. Since the ’70s, however, the countries of the Global South have struggled to build a unified political movement.

Vijay Prashad’s landmark previous work, The Darker Nations (New Press) provided an intellectual history of the Third World and chronicled the rise and fall of the Non- Aligned movement. With The Poorer Nations, Prashad picks up where The Darker Nations left off. Past the heyday of the New International Economic Order of the early 1970s, Prashad analyzes the failures of neoliberalism, as well as the rise of the BRICS countries (the topic of his RLS-NYC report “Neoliberalism with Southern Characteristics“), the World Social Forum, issue-based movements like Via Campesina, and the Latin American revolutionary revival—efforts to create alternatives to the neoliberal project advanced militarily by the US and economically by the IMF, World Bank, World Trade Organization, and other instruments of the powerful.

Just as Prashad asserted in The Darker Nations that the Third World was a project, not a place, The Poorer Nations sees the Global South as a term that properly refers not to geographical space, but to a concatenation of protests against neoliberalism.

Prashad will be joined by Andy Hsiao, his editor at Verso Books.

Vijay Prashad is the George and Martha Kellner Professor of South Asian History at Trinity College, Connecticut. He is the author of a number of books, including The Darker Nations: a People’s History of the Third World and Arab Spring, Libyan Winter.

Andrew Hsiao is a senior editor at Verso Books. He was the executive editor of The New Press and a writer and editor for The Village Voice, and is a producer of Asia Pacific Forum on WBAI 99.5FM. He has written for The New York Times, the Washington Post, and other publications, and is the author of a deck of playing cards, Regime Change Begins at Home. He helps coordinate CultureStrike, a national campaign that enlists writers and artists in the immigrant rights movement.

Co-sponsored by Verso Books and the Brecht Forum.

July 24, 2013, 7.30pm
Brecht Forum
451 West Street
New York, NY 10014
RSVP

NEWS / EVENTS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE

Talking About Democratic Socialism 30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Fall 1989 was a moment of radical transformation for the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Already many GDR citizens had migrated to West Germany to escape state repression. On November 4, almost half a million other GDR citizens gathered at Alexanderplatz in Berlin for a peaceful protest,...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE

Talking About Democratic Socialism 30 Years After the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Fall 1989 was a moment of radical transformation for the former German Democratic Republic (GDR). Already many GDR citizens had migrated to West Germany to escape state repression. On November 4, almost half a million other GDR citizens gathered at Alexanderplatz in Berlin for a peaceful protest, calling for the democratization of the socialistic state. Organized by......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES