Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


ALS DIE MAUER FIEL: JÜDISCHE IDENTITÄTEN IN DER DDR
12. November 2019 - New York City

"Berlin" by hannibal1107 (CC BY 2.0)

“Mehr Demokratie war die Hauptidee. Wir hatten nicht erwartet, dass die DDR aufhören würde zu existieren, und ein ‚vereintes Vaterland‘ war nicht unser Ziel. Wir hatten 1985 eine jüdische Gruppe gründeten, die sich unter anderem für jüdische und sozialistische Identitäten einsetzte. Wir-für-uns – Juden für Juden. Es war eine tolle Zeit! Nachdem die Mauer gefallen war, gründeten wir im Dezember 1989 den Jüdische Kulturverein Berlin (JKV) und forderten im Februar 1990 von der DDR-Regierung die Einreise sowjetischer Juden in die DDR. Ohne Erfolg. Die machtlose Regierung wurde inzwischen vom Zentralen Runden Tisch regiert und die Wahlen im März 1990 veränderten alles. Die neue Regierung öffnete im Mai die Grenze für die sowjetisch-jüdische Einwanderung und (Ost-)Berlin wurde wieder zu einem Ort für Juden“.

Irene Runge (*1942, New York), Mitbegründerin des Jüdischen Kulturverein Berlin, wird über die politischen Veränderungen und jüdische Identitäten in Ostberlin 1989 sprechen.

Dienstag, 12. November um 18 Uhr
Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—NYC Office
275 Madison Avenue, Suite 2114
New York, NY 10016
 
Einlass ist um 17:30 Uhr. Ein kleiner Empfang wird ausgerichtet. Der Eintritt ist frei, wir bitten jedoch hier um Anmeldung.

NEWS / EVENTS

Reinhold Möller

STECKT DIE ENERGIEWENDE IN SCHWIERIGKEITEN?

Dieses neue TUED-Arbeitspapier beschäftigt sich mit der Krise der europäischen Energieversorgung in Gemeinden, Nachbarschaften und Genossenschaften. Hier haben Initiativen für kommunale Energie die größten Fortschritte gemacht, doch stehen sie nun einer unsicheren Zukunft gegenüber. Die Autor*innen und Organisator*innen von TUED, Sean Sweeney, John Treat und Irene HongPing Shen,...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

Reinhold Möller

STECKT DIE ENERGIEWENDE IN SCHWIERIGKEITEN?

Dieses neue TUED-Arbeitspapier beschäftigt sich mit der Krise der europäischen Energieversorgung in Gemeinden, Nachbarschaften und Genossenschaften. Hier haben Initiativen für kommunale Energie die größten Fortschritte gemacht, doch stehen sie nun einer unsicheren Zukunft gegenüber. Die Autor*innen und Organisator*innen von TUED, Sean Sweeney, John Treat und Irene HongPing Shen, erklären, wie dies passieren konnte und warum. TUED (Trade Unions for Energy Democracy) ist eine Initiative mit mehreren Partnern, die vom in......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

NEWS / EVENTS


WHEN THE WALL CAME DOWN: JEWISH IDENTITIES IN THE GDR
November 12, 2019 - New York City

"Berlin" by hannibal1107 (CC BY 2.0)

“More democracy was the leading idea. We didn’t expect the GDR to end, and a ‘united German fatherland’ was not our issue. We had founded a Jewish Group in 1985, which argued, among other issues, for Jewish and socialist identities. Wir-für-uns (we for us)—Jews for Jews. It was a great time! After the wall had come down, we established the Jewish Cultural Association (Jüdischer Kulturverein / JKV) in December 1989 and, in February 1990, we demanded that the GDR government granted Soviet Jews immigration to the GDR. Without results. The powerless government was now controlled by the Central Round Table and elections in March 1990 changed everything. The new government opened the border for Soviet Jewish immigration in May and (East-)Berlin became a place for Jews again.”

Irene Runge (*1942, New York), co-founder of the Jewish Cultural Association, will talk about political changes and Jewish identities in the East Berlin of 1989.

Tuesday, November 12, at 6:00 pm
Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung—NYC Office
275 Madison Avenue, Suite 2114
New York, NY 10016

Doors open at 5:30 pm. A light dinner will be served. The admission is free, please RSVP here.

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

As the US-China Trade War has accelerated, the left has lacked consensus on how to analyze and perceive this critical issue. In this timely publication, Tobita Chow and Jake Werner provide essential context and background for the trade war, showcase the effects of trade war in both countries, and offer a progressive internationalist alternative for the left to promote a solidaristic answer to the...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

As the US-China Trade War has accelerated, the left has lacked consensus on how to analyze and perceive this critical issue. In this timely publication, Tobita Chow and Jake Werner provide essential context and background for the trade war, showcase the effects of trade war in both countries, and offer a progressive internationalist alternative for the left to promote a solidaristic answer to the rising tensions in the US,......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES