Navigation Menu

PUBLIKATIONEN

FRAUEN IN DER LANDWIRTSCHAFT
Eine Studie zu Nahrungsgerechtigkeit und Saatgut-Souveränität
Carolyn Sachs - Februar 2018

Flickr/icrisat.images (CC BY-NC 2.0)

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Soziale Bewegungen und Emanzipation"

MUNIZIPALISMUS IN SPANIEN
Vicente Rubio-Pueyo
Dezember 2017

RUSSISCHE REVOLUTION UND KPUSA
James R. Barrett
November 2017

ROSA REMIX
RLS–NYC
Juni 2017

Von Carolyn Sachs. Obwohl weltweit fast die Hälfte der Bauern Frauen sind, bleibt diesen der Zugang zu landwirtschaftlichen Ressourcen und Ackerland meist verwehrt. Entsprechend sind die Tätigkeiten von Frauen häufig auf ökologische Randzonen (wie Wildpflanzen- und Waldbestände oder Gärten) beschränkt. Da es sich außerdem bei einer Vielzahl der Aufgaben, die von Frauen übernommen werden, um unbezahlte Arbeit (wie die Lagerung, Vorbereitung oder das Servieren von Nahrung) handelt, neigen Wissenschaftler und Experten dazu, die Beiträge von Frauen in der Landwirtschaft zu übersehen.

Gerade in kleinen bäuerlichen Gemeinden hat jedoch die Feminisierung der Landwirtschaft einen positive Einfluss auf die wirtschaftliche und ökologische Nachhaltigkeit. Frauen und Mädchen bauen in der Regel eine größere Vielfalt an traditionellen Pflanzen an als Männer; solche Anbausorten sind oft besonders widerstandsfähig, was veränderte klimatische Bedingungen angeht. Frauen sind außerdem häufig in informelle Netzwerke eingebunden, über die Saatgut ausgetauscht wird, was ebenfalls zu Biodiversität beiträgt.

In Hinblick auf die zunehmende Abkehr von traditionellen landwirtschaftlichen Methoden zeigt die Studie von Carolyn Sachs auf, wie anhand informeller Strategien (einschließlich kommunaler Samenbanken) Saatgut bewahrt und die Artenvielfalt erhalten werden kann. Dafür sei es wichtig, Richtlinien zu entwerfen und institutionelle Mechanismen zu entwickeln, die über restriktive Maßnahmen gegen die Patentierung von Saatgut, das Züchten geschützter Sorten und die genetische Modifizierung von Pflanzen hinausgehen. Wie die Autorin aufzeigt müssen gesetzliche Regelungen vorhanden sein, die Bauern weitreichende Kontrollmöglichkeiten verschaffen.

Carolyn Sachs ist Professor Emeritus für Ländliche Soziologie an der Penn State University. In ihrer Forschungsarbeit zu Ernährungssouveränität setzt sie sich insbesondere mit Fragen zu Umweltverträglichkeit und Geschlechtergleichstellung in landwirtschaftlich geprägten Gemeinden im globalen Süden auseinander. In dieser Studie im Vorfeld der 62. Sitzung der Frauenrechtskommission der Vereinten Nationen (CSW62) legt Sachs dar, wie sich Bäuerinnen weltweit für den Erhalt der Artenvielfalt und Saatgut-Souveränität einsetzen. Gerade angesichts rasch fortschreitender Industrialisierung und Klimawandel deuten die progressiven Lösungen dieser Bäuerinnen an, dass die Zukunft der Landwirtschaft weiblich sein muss.

DOWNLOAD VOLLTEXT  (Englisch)


Weitere Texte in "Soziale Bewegungen und Emanzipation"

MUNIZIPALISMUS IN SPANIEN
Vicente Rubio-Pueyo
Dezember 2017

RUSSISCHE REVOLUTION UND KPUSA
James R. Barrett
November 2017

ROSA REMIX
RLS–NYC
Juni 2017

NEWS / EVENTS

American sprinters Tommie Smith and John Carlos raising their fists during the 1968 Olympics. (Photo: Angelo Cozzi)

SPORT UND POLITIK

RSVP here. PROGRAMM 9:30 Uhr Begrüßung 9:45-11:15 Uhr Ausbeutung -...
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

NEWS / EVENTS

American sprinters Tommie Smith and John Carlos raising their fists during the 1968 Olympics. (Photo: Angelo Cozzi)

SPORT UND POLITIK

RSVP here. PROGRAMM 9:30 Uhr Begrüßung 9:45-11:15 Uhr Ausbeutung – Verweigerung der Teilnahme: Afro-Amerikaner und der geplante Boykott der Olympischen Spiele, 1934-1935 Stanley Arnold, Assistenzprofessor, Institut für Geschichte, Universität Northern Illinois, DeKalb, Illinois – Reflexionen zu Boykotten im Sport: Schottland, Südafrika und die Commonwealth Games 1986 Fiona Skillen, Dozent für Sport und Event Management, Caledonian Universität Glasgow, Glasgow, Schottland Matt McDowell, Dozent für Sportpolitik, Management, und Internationale Entwicklung, Moray House School of Education, Universität Edinburgh, Edinburgh,......
WEITERLESEN

STAY UP TO DATE
Newsletter abonnieren

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

FOLLOW US
Sozialismus in Sozialen Netzwerken

GLOBALE MATCH UND WIDERSTAND DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT SOZIALE BEWEGUNGEN UND EMANZIPATION POLITISCHE ANALYSEN UND ALTERNATIVEN

Navigation Menu

PUBLICATIONS

THE FEMINIZATION OF AGRICULTURE
Preserving Biodiversity Through Farmer Control of Seeds
Carolyn Sachs - February 2018

Flickr/icrisat.images (CC BY-NC 2.0)

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Social Movements and Emancipation"

THE BATTLE FOR ANOTHER WORLD
John Feffer
December 2019

STRONG UNIONS AND COMMUNITIES
Katja Voigt and Aaron Eisenberg
November 2019

ROSA REMIX
RLS–NYC
2016

By Carolyn Sachs. While women make up close to half of the world’s farmers, their access to agricultural resources and land is often severely limited. As a result, women are relegated to marginal environments (such as wild plant areas, forests, or gardens) and tasked with unpaid food-related care work (like storing, preparing, and serving food), leading many researchers and policy experts to overlook women’s contributions to agriculture.

Especially in small, indigenous farming communities, the feminization of agriculture positively impacts sustainable agricultural practices. Women and girls usually tend to a much greater diversity of crops than men, and many of these crops are folk varieties or resilient landraces that adapt well to climate change. Women are also more likely than men to establish informal exchange networks to save and distribute seeds. Yet small-scale farmers, and women farmers in particular, have little protection that ensures their free access to agricultural knowledge and genetic crop diversity.

Considering the increasing shift away from traditional farming methods, this study demonstrates how informal seed saving strategies, including community seed banks, are of central importance to conserving agro-biodiversity. The author argues that we need to develop policies and institutional mechanisms that go beyond restrictive measures against the patenting, proprietary breeding, and genetic modification of seed. It is equally important to develop legal frameworks and regulations that assure broader farmer control.

Carolyn Sachs is Emeritus Professor of Rural Sociology at Penn State University. In her research on food sovereignty, she pays particular attention to environmental sustainability and gender equality in rural farming communities in the global South. In this lead-up study to the 62nd session of the UN Commission on the Status of Women (CSW62) Sachs demonstrates how small-scale women farmers across the world are fighting for the preservation of agro-biodiversity and seed sovereignty in the face of rapid industrialization and climate change. As the progressive solutions that women farmers come up with indicate: the future of agriculture must be female.

 

DOWNLOAD FULL TEXT  (English)


Other publications in "Social Movements and Emancipation"

THE BATTLE FOR ANOTHER WORLD
John Feffer
December 2019

STRONG UNIONS AND COMMUNITIES
Katja Voigt and Aaron Eisenberg
November 2019

ROSA REMIX
RLS–NYC
2016

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

As the US-China Trade War has accelerated, the left has lacked consensus on how to analyze and perceive this critical issue. In this timely publication, Tobita Chow and Jake Werner provide essential context and background for the trade war, showcase the effects of trade war in both countries, and offer a progressive internationalist alternative for the left to promote a solidaristic answer to the...
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

NEWS / EVENTS

Flickr s_volenszki (CC BY-NC 2.0)

THE US-CHINA TRADE WAR

As the US-China Trade War has accelerated, the left has lacked consensus on how to analyze and perceive this critical issue. In this timely publication, Tobita Chow and Jake Werner provide essential context and background for the trade war, showcase the effects of trade war in both countries, and offer a progressive internationalist alternative for the left to promote a solidaristic answer to the rising tensions in the US,......
READ MORE

STAY UP TO DATE
Sign Up for our Newsletter

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

FOLLOW US
Socialism in Social Networks

GLOBAL POWER AND RESISTANCE THE FUTURE OF LABOR SOCIAL MOVEMENTS AND EMANCIPATION POLITICAL ANALYSIS AND ALTERNATIVES